We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for overnight for a late evening flight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Great for overnight for a late evening flight”
Reviewed 3 January 2008

We flew in on 10pm flight, and stayed overnight. It was nice since the hotel shuttle pick us up, and the hotel is 5min away. You know what you are getting. I would not stay there if I was going to spend anytime in the area since there is nothing near the hotel except for Denny's for food.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jtooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    460
    116
    18
    27
See reviews for
438
484
111
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2007

Very convienent location. Reliable and timely airport shuttle to and from the hotel. No surprises. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast is fine. There are number of car rentals just across the hotel- Thrifty,Toyota etc. There are two eating places close by- Dennys and a chicken fast food. Overall,a good choice to start and end your vacation.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2007

Easy pickup at 1:00am by hotel shuttle, safely dropping us at Hampton. Checkin was smooth & painless - room was clean, comfortable, quiet. Chek-out was again quick & easy and the continental breakfast was wonderful.

This is a perfect business hotel in SJ or a perfect place to grab shut-eye before moving on to another location in Costa Rica. Staff are friendly, polite, helpful and english-speaking. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Cleanliness & Proximity to Airport / Conveinance
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was perfect for one night before moving on....
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ktri29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2007

This hotel offers, included in the room price, great complimentary breakfast, free internet access and airport shuttle. Rooms are big, very comfortable bed. Big bathroom with all you need. Clean. Professional staff. My husband reckons that they make the best Gallo pinto (rice & bean) of Costa Rica! shame the noise of the planes overnite!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank annina1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Cumberland, PA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2007

We stayed at the hotel for one night before embarking on our trip. It was very convenient to the airport and, although we had a rental car, the hotel does provide a free shuttle. There is a complimentary breakfast, which saves time and money, and free Internet access in their business center. It doesn't have much ambience, but with all the other pluses, it's a good deal at $110. If you're looking for something classier, the Marriott is nearby with a nightly rate of $189. Pura vida!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2007

We loved the Hampton Inn. Yes, it is an American style chain hotel, but at the end of our stay in Costa Rica, it was great to arrive here. Friendly staff, great buffet breakfast, three minute complimentary van ride to the airport, and very comfortable beds. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again if I'm back in San Jose.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location and comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SugarCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

The front desk staff is extremely helpful & friendly. It felt like we were being treated like VIP members. The room itself is nothing special (the suite is much nicer), the windows don't open, and the view is of construction & highway, but the staff almost make up for it all with their kindness & wealth of info (except the tour-desk staff, he was not very nice OR helpful and barely ever around). The front desk even drew us maps to help us navigate by car.

The hotel is located close enough to drive from downtown in about 5-8 minutes, and is close to alot of the main roads that we needed to get us to sites such as Poas Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls, and Irazu Volcano. Each of those spots are 1hr or less away from this hotel and were excellent day trips.

Breakfast was a standard continental buffet, but with delicious fresh fruit.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — windows didn't open
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpleasures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
4.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 26 in Alajuela
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,746 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 26 in Alajuela
664 reviews
3.6 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 20107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing