We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Recently started out our Costa Rica vacation at the Hampton Inn. The shuttle was super easy and fast ... it took about 5 minutes to get from the airport to the hotel. The breakfast buffet was great, the room was super clean and the bed comfortable.

The only negative was that there was not a restaurant or bar. There are restaurants within walking distance though.

Room Tip: The room was clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etmjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

We only stayed here for 6 hours in total, after our flight from the UK. As an overnight stop it was perfect. The hotel shuttle bus picked us up and took us on the 10 minute ride to the hotel. Check in was easy and the rooms more than adequate for our needs. Very clean and well appointed. Super comfortable huge bed. Bathroom had everything you required including towels, hair dryer, soap, shampoo etc. If (like us) you had an early morning pick up, you can order a breakfast bag from reception. Would definetly recommend this hotel as a stop over point.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potbellypig26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The hotel is very convenient to the airport (with a free shuttle although we rented a car). Since our objective was to see a few things near San Jose after flying into its airport (e.g. Poas Volcano) staying outside of the city was preferable. The Hampton is not Costa Rica, but we just wanted a comfortable place to sleep for a couple of nights before moving on and it filled the bill excellently. It's "on the way" from down town to the Poas volcano National Park - a place it is better to get to early in the day before clouds move in - so it was doubly convenient. In the afternoon we drove to downtown San Jose to take a look around. There are numerous parking lots at reasonable prices (about $1.50/hour typically) so staying near the airport was a much better choice that staying in town in our view. The main downside is that there are few interesting restaurants near the hotel, but since our focus at this stage in our trip was sightseeing, this was not too much of a problem. As others have pointed out, Denny's is nearby, but almost as close is a local chain, Rosti Pollo, which we ate at both nights. The Hampton Inn will give you a coupon good for a 10% discount, and both nights we had fairly tasy meals, with a bottle of OK wine, for about $40 for the two of us.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Wasn't impressed. Although they were training at the front desk it seem to be very unorganized. The room (217) we got was okay, nothing exceptional for being "by Hilton". Would have been just as happy if we stayed at the Holiday Inn next door for probably half the price. Close by were restaurants and the airport. Wasn't interested in the pool, quite cool and windy. Our air conditioner didn't work properly and made a lot of noise, if we could have opened a window we would have. The television was on the loudest it could go and still couldn't hear it over the a/c. The sleep we got was very poor and we were quite irritable for the trip back home. The beds weren't comfortable either. Nothing was said when we left and let them know about the a/c. Not 100% satisfaction or your money back is their motto - they're obviously not 100% on that issue. Good thing this overnight was just an overnight, we were beyond wanting to complain, just wanted to get home which is sad when in such a beautiful country.

Room Tip: Uncomfortable beds, a/c didn't work go to the Holiday Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The Hampton Inn in San Jose, Costa Rica looks just like the Hampton Inn in Bakersfield, CA. If that's what you want when you trave to a foreign culture you will like it here. There is even a Denny's right across the street from here. And a Holiday Inn next door.
There is not much else around here if you want to get a drink or something to eat.
I feel that the price for a night's sleep is very high. The next time I will stay at a local place for 1/3rd of the price.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelprofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This hotel was the place to stay if you have an early flight out of San Jose. They offer a shuttle to the airport every 15 minutes, and after 5:30 they will give you a sack with breakfast. Coffee is available 24 hours a day, and when I arrived there were fresh chocolate chip cookies at the check in desk. The hotel gives you free WiFi and free long distance calls to the United States. I found the room clean, quiet, and comfortable. It is close to Denny's, a casino and the Costa Rican version of a KFC restaurant. It is a bit pricey for what you get

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzieintheoldpueblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This was an unplanned stay when we booked our trip to Costa Rica. However the airline we were using changed our departure time to an earlier flight. We needed to be closer to the airport that morning and this was a perfect choice for us. The rooms were roomy, clean and surprisingly quiet being so close to the airport. Loved the big flat screen tv. Their shuttle drivers were helpful and friendly as was the staff at check-in and check-out. The young man in the gift shop was very accomodating as well. We didn't have a chance to try their breakfast so I can't tell you what that was like. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan_Sea777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#20 of 27 in Alajuela
94 reviews
9 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 20107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £87 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing