We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing wrong with it, but boring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nothing wrong with it, but boring”
Reviewed 4 March 2008

A perfectly fine hotel of its type, but it could be any airport hotel anywhere. We stayed there our first night because I didn't want to deal with the hassle of getting to a down town hotel. Next time we'll know better. We stayed at a perfectly charming (and much cheaper) hotel downtown for our return trip and had no more problem getting to the airport than if we'd been at the Hampton. Just took about 30 minutes longer.

  • Liked — Proximity to airport
  • Disliked — Lack of individuality
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    450
    111
    17
    27
See reviews for
420
478
109
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

This is not a five-star hotel, but I give it a five for delivering exactly what one wants in an airport hotel, and for exceeding expectations. I would not hesitate to recommend it for a first and/or last nite in Costa Rica. Not for sightseers, though.

My family of 5 arrived by easy 5 minute shuttle at 11 PM on Christmas Nite. Check-in was pleasant and efficient.

Our room was clean and quiet. 2 nice double beds. The portable cot was already in the room and made-up. Can't think of that happening any other time and that was a really nice surprise.

We enjoyed the included continental breakfast, with the usual fare.

We had till about 2:00 pm to wait for our extended family and there was no problem with late checkout. We went to the pool for a couple of hours. It is small and lots of planes go by! That was to be expected and we were just happy to let the kids in the water while we waited. There were no pool towels-we just dried in the sun. Perhaps the front desk had some.

The hotel is secure, and you need your key to get back in from the pool, or any other door but the front.

  • Liked — clean, airport location, quiet
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NancyJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

Let me start off by saying that Costa Rica is a very expensive place to vacation.They have a 13% tax they add to every bill plus a 10% service charge added to eating establishment's.You also have a $26.00pp airport tax that you have to buy before you leave the country.This is not included in any airline ticket's.You can go ahead and buy your departure tax at a stand they have set up near the immigration checkpoint's when you first arrive in Costa Rica.I suggest you do this.You do not know how long this line might be when you are trying to leave the country and you have to have this form(already filled out)before you get to the ticket counter for your departing flight.
Now about the hotel.The room's are a nice size with all of the amenities you might need.The room's are very clean with a nice comfy bed.They offer free internet in the room or you can use their computer's they have set up in a room next to the gift shop.They also offer a complimentary breakfast or you can grab one of the to go bag's they have available when you check out for people in a hurry.There is a casino with a nice restaurant located across the street from the hotel.Also there is a Denny's and a RostiPollo(chicken) next to the casino.There is also a complimentary shuttle that run's between the hotel and airport 24/7.The airport is only about 5 minutes away.I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Costa Rica.Great location and a great hotel.

  • Liked — Close to airport
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ParadiseOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

We flew in on 10pm flight, and stayed overnight. It was nice since the hotel shuttle pick us up, and the hotel is 5min away. You know what you are getting. I would not stay there if I was going to spend anytime in the area since there is nothing near the hotel except for Denny's for food.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jtooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2007

Very convienent location. Reliable and timely airport shuttle to and from the hotel. No surprises. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast is fine. There are number of car rentals just across the hotel- Thrifty,Toyota etc. There are two eating places close by- Dennys and a chicken fast food. Overall,a good choice to start and end your vacation.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2007

Easy pickup at 1:00am by hotel shuttle, safely dropping us at Hampton. Checkin was smooth & painless - room was clean, comfortable, quiet. Chek-out was again quick & easy and the continental breakfast was wonderful.

This is a perfect business hotel in SJ or a perfect place to grab shut-eye before moving on to another location in Costa Rica. Staff are friendly, polite, helpful and english-speaking. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Cleanliness & Proximity to Airport / Conveinance
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was perfect for one night before moving on....
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ktri29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2007

This hotel offers, included in the room price, great complimentary breakfast, free internet access and airport shuttle. Rooms are big, very comfortable bed. Big bathroom with all you need. Clean. Professional staff. My husband reckons that they make the best Gallo pinto (rice & bean) of Costa Rica! shame the noise of the planes overnite!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank annina1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 20107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing