We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Hotel When Going Back Home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal Hotel When Going Back Home!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Suites when coming back from our Honeymoon. The hotel was clean, the staff was very friendly, walking distance to restaurants and entertainment. The bed was sooo cozy! We wanted to do some exploring but as soon as our bodies hit the bed, it was hard to get up! The room was large and very comfortable. Also included free international calls-big plus when you dont want to spend $$ calling from your cell phone. Would recommend to anyone wanting to be close to the airport. FREE AIRPORT SHUTTLE!!! Perfect for our 1 night stay :D

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoontobeMrsFuerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear. SoontobeMrsFuerte

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about your experience with us.

We are happy to know that our location was convenient for your trip and that you enjoyed our shuttle service and hot breakfast. Thank you very much for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - San Jose Airport for your Costa Rica stay.

We are looking forward to having you with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    454
    114
    17
    27
See reviews for
431
480
111
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn the night before we flew home from Costa Rica. The hotel is very close to the airport but still nice and quiet. It is a good choice for air travellers as it has a free shuttle to and from the airport and also has a desk downstairs where the airport departure fee can be paid, helping to save a lot of time at the airport. Hotel was very clean and staff friendly. Breakfast was a bit disappointing but still well in the realm of acceptable. We would stay again if we were flying in or out of the airport and would recommend it to others doing the same.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laughinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear. laughinglady

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about your experience with us.

We are happy to know that our location was convenient for your trip and that you enjoyed our shuttle service and hot breakfast. Thank you very much for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - San Jose Airport for your Costa Rica stay.

We are looking forward to having you with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Pleasant stay. Easy access to freeway. Clean. Friendly service. I have used this hotel on a variety of occasions for both business and leisure travel. It is one of my favorite places to stay in Salt Lake City area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Shawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear. TripAdvisor Member

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about your experience with us.

We are happy to know that our location was convenient for your trip and that you enjoyed our shuttle service and hot breakfast. Thank you very much for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - San Jose Airport for your Costa Rica stay.

We are looking forward to having you with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for one night at the end of september 2012.We went to a restaurant nearby and had to leave our luggage in their special luggage room.When we came back 460 Euros were stolen out of the luggage. We informed the hotel and also the german embassy,but they could not help us. Also we did not receive any apologize of the main office.My advice: Never again Hampton Inn and Suites. Birgit

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Birgit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear. Birgit R

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and for using our online survey. Our goal is to offer high value for your money by offering quality accommodations, friendly service and a clean and safe environment, on a consistent basis.

In our Trip Advisor survey you were not satisfied with our services. When this happens, we need the help from people like you to let us know where we are not meeting our objectives. If somehow you can give me little more information or specific details, be assured that we are going to take the necessary steps to improve them, so you can help us to be a better place to stay for all of our visitors.

We wish to thank you again for providing feedback and for choosing our hotel. We really apologize for any inconvenience that we may have caused you, and we hope that you give us a chance to serve you again in the future.



Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossyrock, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times entering and exiting Costa Rica. Each time they are friendly, efficient and all speak excellent English. I inadvertently made 2 night reservations and only needed 1 night, and even though it was "non-refundable" they let me out of it without charging me. The continental breakfast is excellent with tipico options as well as usual north American fare. Shuttle to the airport takes 5 minutes if that. Clean rooms, up to date linens etc etc, wifi is decent in the rooms, better in the lobby. Pool is clean and well kept. Spendy gift shop, like most hotels, but has the little things you might need.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmccurmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear. kmccurmd

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about your experience with us.

We are happy to know that our location was convenient for your trip and that you enjoyed our shuttle service and hot breakfast. Thank you very much for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - San Jose Airport for your Costa Rica stay.

We are looking forward to having you with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The staff was very nice, the hotel was clean, and the hot breakfast was great. We would stay here again, and recommend it to others. The hotel shuttle pickup was very helpful as well. They take US currency as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Mrs. Brendan H

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about your experience with us.

We are happy to know that our location was convenient for your trip and that you enjoyed our shuttle service and hot breakfast. Thank you very much for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - San Jose Airport for your Costa Rica stay.

We are looking forward to having you with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The Hampton is a good place to begin or end a trip to Costa Rica. We stayed at a different downtown hotel when we arrived and it was 45 mins from the airport (longer in heavy San Jose traffic). Our flight home was first thing in the morning so I canceled the downtown reservation and put us at the Hampton. Good move. The room is comfortable and looks much like every other Hampton you've ever seen. They include breakfast and offer a sack breakfast for people with early flights. The shuttle runs every 15 mins, which is very convenient. Only real downside is that the only available restaurant is Dennys, unless you are willing to get a cab and go somewhere else. After eating so much wonderful Costa Rican food, eating at Dennys was disappointing, but again it was no worse than American Dennys.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear. oxleygal

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton – San Jose Airport in Costa Rica and for the time you took to review our Trip Advisor profile. We are pleased to learn that you found our beds, rooms and staff friendliness satisfactory throughout your stay. In addition, we are really happy to know that you enjoyed our free shuttle to the International Airport. We are aware that every guest has a choice when traveling and we thank you for choosing our hotel.

Looking forward to your next stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
4.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,730 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,327 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 20107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing