We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot close to airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgewater, Canada
Level Contributor
598 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Great spot close to airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Very conveniently located close to the airport yet not too noisy. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the bathrooms were decent as well. The outdoor pool is small and a little cool for January. The are a couple restaurants located nearby for a quick meal but not much else. A short walk away was the RostiPollos, a very good Mexican restaurant. Good value for your money and can't beat the location if you have an early flight.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TDakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear TDakin, thanks for sharing your comments.

Yes, eventhough we are located less than a mile from the airport, our guests can´t hear any loud noises inside the hotel because it was built with special materials that completely isolates any incoming sounds no matter how loud they might be. This guarantees that our guests have a pleasant and noise free rest while staying with us.
We really do thrive on our guests comfort and satisfaction, that is why we have such comfortable accommodations and extremely good and convenient services, that way, we are sure that we can deliver all that we promise for a perfect hotel experience. If our guests would like a wider variety of restaurants to choose from, our shuttle can take them free of any charge to a nearby mall (less than 5 minutes away) that offers japanese, argentinian, italian, chinese and many other kind restaurants to choose from, so we can assure you that you are not going to get bored with the food.

Thank you so much for staying with us, we hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    433
    100
    16
    27
See reviews for
394
464
105
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

i stayed at this hotel for one night, the shuttle wait wasn't long at the airport. It was a short ride from the arrivals to the front door.

The reception staff were very welcoming and knew about the area.

Convenient business centre on the lobby level.
Even though this is a hotel located near the airport, i barely heard any planes landing or taking off.

The pool looked very nice as well, but i didn't take advantage of it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montrealmatt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear montrealmatt83, we really appreciate you writing such a nice review.

We are thrilled that you liked staying with us so much and found our hotel so conveniently located (less than 1 mile away from the airport, right across from two restaurants and just a parking lot away from several car rentals) and so comfortable. By providing our guests with the best and most convenient services and with the most attentive and friendliest staff we want them to feel right at home. We want them to know that they can count on us for their complete satisfaction and well being, that their comfort and rest are in the best of hands.

Yes, eventhough our hotel is just across the highway from the airport, you can´t hear the planes taking off and landing, you can´t even hear the cars on the highway because our hotel was built with special materials that isolates any incoming sound no matter how loud it might be, that way we can guarantee a very silent and pleasant sleep.

Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure to have you with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This property was EXTREMELY convenient (less than 5 minutes) to the San Jose international airport. We took the free shuttle to/from the airport (the same one as for the Hiltons) to the hotel. The front staff was very polite and helpful and there was security at the front of the hotel all night. Housekeeping quickly brought me a bunch of extra pillows, no questions asked. There is a Casino and Denny's next door so that is helpful if you fly in late (guaranteed food). The rooms were more than expected. There was a desk for those traveling for business and a pillow with a flat top to use in bed with a laptop. The room was very clean and there is a snack area in the front lobby. We did not have breakfast so I cannot review that part of the hotel. I would definitely stay here again when I fly into San Jose and want to stay near the airport for a regional flight the next day but I would stay farther in to the city for touring the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandaceAntonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Worldtraveler198, thank you for posting such great comments about your stay with us.

It is very rewarding for us to learn how our guests enjoy their stay with us and appreciates all the services and attentions we provide them. Our entire personnel thrives on our guests´ happiness and satisfaction so we go above and beyond to provide for them all their requests and needs to make their stay a pleasant and successful experience.
Eventhough one of our perks is our convenient location (less than a mile away from the airport, and situated right on one of the main Costarican highways) we are very proud of the services we provide and are very sorry that you were not able to taste our complimetary breakfast because we know that it is very good (we do offer a "to go" breakfast when the guests leave before 6.00 a.m. for their conveniency), so we really hope that the next time you visit us, you get to experience everything our hotel has to offer.

Thank you for choosing us, it was a pleasure being of your service.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed 1st & last night of vacation. Extremely comfortable bed! Breakfast had eggs, sausage & waffles. Little store with essentials and wine & beer. Only restaurants are Denny's and a chicken place. The local bar/restaurant down the road is REALLY LOUD! If you plan on talking during our meal, I suggest the chicken place. There is a shuttle in the evening to a restaurant that is more than a walk away. Thrifty Rental Cars is across the parking lot.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank ddquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear ddquist, thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments.

We are elated to learn how much you liked our hotel and enjoyed that you enjoyed so much staying with us. We are very pleased that you found our beds so comfortable and the services we offer so good and convenient.

Our staff is always going the extra mile to provide our guests with all they can need for having a more than staisfactory stay, we strive to make them have an unforgetable and extraordinary stay, one which they can always remember and which they can use as a parameter of comparison when they stay in other hotels. For those guests who will like to have more restaurant choices, our shuttle will gladly take them (free of any charge) to a mall nearby (which is less than 5 minutes away) which offer a wide variety of restaurant choices such as japanese, mexican, argentinian, seafood ect., and afterwards when you are finished, they will come back to take you to the hotel.

Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure to have you with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Close to the airport, helpful staff, delicious breakfast! We stayed here just overnight but it was a great choice for us. The shuttle picked us up within a few minutes of walking out of the terminal. Nice, clean rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KG006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear KG006, thank you for sharing such a candid review.

We are really thrilled to find out how much you like our hotel and all the features it offers such as the convenient location (less than one mile away from the airport, just across the parking lot from several car rentals, a casino and a couple of restaurants), great and convenient services and super comfortable accommodations.

We would really have liked if you could have stayed more than one night so you could experience everything we have to offer, but it makes us happy that you were able to enjoy your brief stay and was more than satisfied with it.

It was a pleasure being of your service and we hope to see you back again very soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubbards, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great location for catching early flights. Clean hotel with all amenities. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast included. Even offered bagged breakfast for early departure. Excellent shuttle service to airport. Air conditioning worked and was quiet and helped to block out noisy flights or traffic. Very comfortable bed. Good lighting in all rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank ACXSHEALTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear ACXSHEALTH, we really appreciate you writing such a thorough review.

As a hotel that always has maintain its high quality of accommodations, services and personnel it is always very rewarding to know when our guests leave our premises feeling so happy and satisfied because it shows us that we are doing everything we are supposed to do and that you did really appreciate it.
Our entire staff is always taking care of our guests the best way they can, complying with their requests, answering their questions, giving them advice regarding their vacation in the country ect. and always doing it with the outmost warmth and friendliness so they can see that our main concern is their complete satisfaction.
We are very happy to tell you that this hotel was built with special materials that isolate any incoming sounds no matter how loud they might be so you can rest assure that no noise is going to bother you.

Thank you so much for choosing us, it was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I agree with another reviewer that this hotel does seem very dated. For an airport hotel, it's fine. However, be aware that the desk in the hotel where you can pay the airport departure tax is only open until 4 PM, so if you arrive after that the night before your flight, I highly recommend you hop on the shuttle to the airport and pay the departure tax the night before, since there isn't a line then, and in the morning there will be a very long line.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThetaSigma99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear ThetaSigma, thank you very much for posting your comments.

It is very nice to hear that you had a pleasant rest during your stay in our hotel. We are always determined to do everything we can to help each and every guest get all the comfortable rest they need, either before or after a long trip. We try to achieve this by providing them with the best and most convenient services and the most comfortable accommodations, that way they are going to realy know that we do thrive in our guests´ contentment and satisfaction.

We are really sorry that you found our hotel dated since just a couple of years ago it was totally remodelled.

It was a pleasure to have here with us, we will look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 20107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing