We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring earplugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Bring earplugs”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Staff were good. Room was fine. Bathroom was good. The room overall was probably better than expected. But, we could hear noise coming from hallways, upstairs, etc. The bed was extra bouncy too. My husband would barely move and it felt like the movements were magnified. Also, we couldn't get the Wifi to work. I was able to get internet when i plugged my computer directly into the ethernet, but we couldn't get Wifi on our mobile devices to work

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rosita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear RositaM, thank you so much for posting your comments.

We are a hotel whose main goal is to provide our guests with all the comfort and satisfaction that we can possibly provide them, always making our commitment to their rest and comfort a true garantee. We are pleased to learn that you really liked our very attentive staff and our spacious and clean room , which as you mentioned were above your expectations.

We are happy to inform you that our hotel was built with special materials that isolate any incoming sound, even more so being so close to the airport for our guests' convenience, so we are very surprised to learn that you could hear noise coming from the hallway and we do apologize for it. It also makes us very happy to know that after plugging in your computer directly, the internet started to work. We are very sorry for the mishap that you experience and can assure you that it will never happen again.

Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure having you and your husband with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    450
    111
    17
    27
See reviews for
420
478
109
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We were flying out of San Jose in the morning and came down from the Volcano Park the evening before. Everyone at this hotel was so helpful, it was very clean and the breakfast was great. For what it is - a place to gather your selves before or after the trip - it is a great choice.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PamTravelerBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear PamTraveler, thank you so much for writing such an awesome review.

We really want all ouf our guests to have a very pleasant and very comfortable rest wether it is before departing back home or when coming in from a long and tiring. We want them to feel all the comfort and warmth they can by welcoming them as much as we can, making them feel as if they were right at home, surrounded by complying friends who would do almost anything to comply with their needs and request so they can be as comfortable and happy as they can.

Thank you so much for writing that we are an excellent choice because that is what we strive to achieve, our guests complete comfort and satisfaction.

It was great having you with us, we will look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Hampton Inn is a good place to stay for a night if coming into Costa Rica or leaving the next day. It is very convenient to the airport being only minutes away. The free shuttle is timely and makes getting to the airport or hotel easy and stress free. The rooms were clean, front desk very nice and the morning breakfast well done. There is also a Rostipollos next to the Hampton Inn and it is good for lunch and dinner. It is very similar to Boston Market. I did have one issue where I had an extra charge on my credit card for a small amount. It took me two phone calls to 1-800-Hampton to get it resolved. Still confused by the extra charge but they admitted the mistake and did credit my credit card.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Nick M. we really appreciate you sharing your comments.

Our goal as a hotel is to be able to provide our guests with the highest quality of accommodations and the best and most convenient services for their total and complete satisfaction. We want our guest to know that they can count on us for everything concerning their comfort and well being in order for them to experience a wonderful and restful hotel stay, either coming from a flight or before departing back home.

Eventhough we have some restaurants within walking distance from the hotel, our shuttle can take our guests free of any carge to a mall nearby (less than five minutes away) which offers a wide variety of restaurants to choose from. As you can see. we really do strive to comply with everything that our guests might need so that they can see that we do keep our promises of complete satisfaction for our guests.

It was wonderful having you stay with us, thank you so much for choosing us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Yeah, I know the airlines are in cahoots with this country. Get into San Jose too late to go anywhere until the next day. And all flights leave so early in the morning you need to stay somewhere close to the airport to leave....But that isn't Hampton Inn's fault. What bothers me is they charge USD prices for Costa Rican services. $150.00 a night??? No hot water on the day I was there. Old dumpy rooms. Do your self a favor and stay at the Courtyard Marriott. Nice and new and places to eat across the stree. Hampton you got Denny's and Rio Pollo. 10 dollar hamburgers and chicken dinners. They do have a free shuttle to and from the airport. Only decent thing about it.

Room Tip: Stay at the Courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueski99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear sueski99, thank you for sharing your comments, they are very important for us because they provide us with invaluable feedback of what our guests think about the hotel, its services and the attention from its personnel and what we can do to improve them for their complete satisfaction.

We are very sorry for the quality of service you received during your recent stay. Thank you for your feedback regarding our water heaters. We know how important a hot shower is and your comments will help us to improve the situation. Your feedback regarding our guest rooms will help us to continue to improve them as we are always looking to guests for feedback in these areas. We hope you will consider staying with us at again in the future and experience our true Hamptonality.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Very clean rooms, great service, free shuttle to airport, and the best free hotel breakfast I've ever had. The beds were very comfortable. Both check-in and check-out were very easy and fast. The people at the front desk were very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Kevin H, thank you for sharing your delightful comments.

We are very proud to find out that our breakfast is the best complimentary hotel breakfast you have ever had. It pleases us so much to be able to satisfy our guests and to provide them with the highest quality of services and accommodations so they can always be certain that we do indeed deliver all of our promises and that they can rest assure and leave it to us to make of their stay a great and relaxing hotel experience.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, we hope to see you back very soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

we stay at Hampton Inns with HHonor awards. This was our last hotel out of 8 in our month-long trip to Costa Rica. Manager Daniel, concierge Manuel and others were just great. They made us feel like we were already home (although I didn't want to leave their beautiful country)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Linda W, thank you for posting such a wonderful review.

You just made our day letting us know that when you stay at our hotel you feel right at home because it means that our goal has been achieved. We want our guests to feel relaxed, comfortable and very satisfied with everything we offer and provide, but we also want them to feel and know that we are here for them, that we want their complete trust regarding their well being and satisfaction. We want them to embrace us as if we are their home away from home and luckily we always do it.

It was a pleasure for each member of our personnel to be of your service and the entire team looks forward to your next stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very close to SJO airport with an easy shuttle back and forth. This isn't really a destination, but more of a 1 night place to stay if you arrive late or leave early through SJO airport. The WiFi is fast enough, breakfast was OK (but free so what can you really expect). All of the TV stations were in Spanish (but once again what do you expect in a Spanish speaking country?).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Jake L, thank you for posting your comments.

We are very glad to see how convenient you found the location of our hotel and was able to experience our very comfortable accommodations and great complimentary services. We really do thrive on our guests happiness and satisfaction that is why we do everything we can to comply with all they request and need so they can have a more than successful stay with us.

We are happy to inform you that we do offer cable t.v. with english speaking chanels as well as french, italian and even chinese. Usually there is a chanel guide right on top of the bed side table. If it was not in your room we apologize for it and we would happily send you one if you had let us know. Once again, please accept our apology.

Thank you so much for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 20107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing