We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Quepos, Costa Rica
2 reviews
“Great stay”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel offers an amazing comfortable bed and the size of the room is quite big. The bathroom had everything we needed. The breakfast was great with a lot of fresh fruits. The shuttle service is also very efficient.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 751alfonsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear 751alfonsos, thanks for sharing such an awesome review.

We are thrilled to find out how satisfied you were with your stay with us because we really want our guests to experience the best rest and comfort while they are with us. We strive to provide them with the highest quality of accommodations and services so they can always be certain that whenever they stay with us, they are going to get everything that they deserve and much more because their well being is our reason of existing.

Thank you so much for choosing us, it was a pleasure having you with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    454
    114
    17
    27
See reviews for
431
480
111
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Most tourists need to stay at airport the night before or after a flight. This is nice hotel, very easy check in and you can pay your departure tax here for a slightly higher fee $33 instead of $29 if you want to save time at airport. What we really liked is the coffee. Compared to other hotel coffee this is great and some of the best we had in CR. Especially the robust coffee they have. Free breakfast very nice, lots of selection and was a bit better than the Holiday inn breakfast just next door. Basically same food just tasted slightly better ie. eggs etc. Overall both Hampton and Holiday inn good choices, just next to each other and close to the rental car places. Free shuttle to airport. Free wifi. All good

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Glenn P, thank you for posting such a wonderful review, you have really made our day.

There is nothing more rewarding for us, than to know when our guests leave feeling so happy and satisfied about their stay and hotel choice. Our staff always goes above and beyond to provide to our guests whatever they need for their total comfort and rest. It makes us very glad to know how convenient you found our services specially that you can pay for the departure tax right in the hotel.

We are delighted to know how much you liked our com'plimentary coffee, because it is one of our specialities, and also, how tasty you found the breakfast, because as I told you before, what we want is to see all of our guests happy and satisfied during their stay.

It was a pleasure being of your service, we hope to see you back again soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Very clean, friendly staff - morning transfer to airport at 4am included. Free coffee anytime. Pool was cold. Typical aiport hotel location, nothing near to walk to. Breakfast was included, but I had to leave at 4am, so did not get to try it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Nancy W, thank you for taking the time for writing and sharing your review.

We are extremely happy that you found our staff so friendly and attentive, the hotel super clean and our services and location so convenient. This is a hotel whose main purpose is to provide its guests with all the comfort possible so they can have a peaceful and rewarding rest either before leaving the country or when they are coming in.

Being less than a mile away from the airport lets our guests have more time to rest before leaving and when arriving because being so nearby lets them have that extra time of sleep, also, our shuttles come to and from the airport the 24 hours of the day every 15 minutes, so the guests can rely on us for their ontime and no stress ride to the airport. Besides offering our guests coffee the 24 hours of the day, we also offer several types of Costarican teas and fruits. Within a walking distance, we are close by to a couple of restaurants, several car rentals and a casino that is just a parking lot away.

If our guests desire to go someplace during their stay, our shuttle will gladly take them to a mall less than five minutes away from the hotel and free of any charge and later pick them up. We are very concerned in giving our guests all the satisfaction they expect from a perfect hotel experience, so they can always be sure that they can trust.

Thank you for choosing us, it was a real pleasure to have you with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We initially chose this property because it was across the street from the airport and we had an early morning flight. After two months of staying in hostels, it mattered little to us if it was nice or not. When we arrived, we were so pleased with the amenities and the staff that we were glad we had made the choice to stay there. It is a beautiful hotel: the room was beautiful, the bed was so comfortable and the pool was lovely. Everything was spotless and all the electronics as well as the wifi worked without a hitch. We had run out of small items, such as a razor, and the staff quickly provided us with our needs. We got a perfect night's sleep and were whisked to the airport by a friendly driver in plenty of time for our flight. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank MamaVickiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear MamaVickiB, thank you for writing such a delightful review. It is very rewarding for us when guests see how commited we are on providing them with the best and most convenient services and the highest quality of accommodations possible so they can feel totally at home and completely satisfied.

Our entire staff is always going above and beyond to deliver our guests with everything they may need in order for them to have a very restful and pleasant stay. We are also very happy that you found our location so convenient being less than a mile away from the airport. making it easier for our guests to get much more rest wether before departing for their trip back home or after coming into the country, that way, we can guarantee a peaceful and restful stay with all the comforts you might need.

It was a real pleasure to be of your service and we hope to see you back again soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Staff were good. Room was fine. Bathroom was good. The room overall was probably better than expected. But, we could hear noise coming from hallways, upstairs, etc. The bed was extra bouncy too. My husband would barely move and it felt like the movements were magnified. Also, we couldn't get the Wifi to work. I was able to get internet when i plugged my computer directly into the ethernet, but we couldn't get Wifi on our mobile devices to work

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rosita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear RositaM, thank you so much for posting your comments.

We are a hotel whose main goal is to provide our guests with all the comfort and satisfaction that we can possibly provide them, always making our commitment to their rest and comfort a true garantee. We are pleased to learn that you really liked our very attentive staff and our spacious and clean room , which as you mentioned were above your expectations.

We are happy to inform you that our hotel was built with special materials that isolate any incoming sound, even more so being so close to the airport for our guests' convenience, so we are very surprised to learn that you could hear noise coming from the hallway and we do apologize for it. It also makes us very happy to know that after plugging in your computer directly, the internet started to work. We are very sorry for the mishap that you experience and can assure you that it will never happen again.

Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure having you and your husband with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We were flying out of San Jose in the morning and came down from the Volcano Park the evening before. Everyone at this hotel was so helpful, it was very clean and the breakfast was great. For what it is - a place to gather your selves before or after the trip - it is a great choice.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PamTravelerBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear PamTraveler, thank you so much for writing such an awesome review.

We really want all ouf our guests to have a very pleasant and very comfortable rest wether it is before departing back home or when coming in from a long and tiring. We want them to feel all the comfort and warmth they can by welcoming them as much as we can, making them feel as if they were right at home, surrounded by complying friends who would do almost anything to comply with their needs and request so they can be as comfortable and happy as they can.

Thank you so much for writing that we are an excellent choice because that is what we strive to achieve, our guests complete comfort and satisfaction.

It was great having you with us, we will look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Hampton Inn is a good place to stay for a night if coming into Costa Rica or leaving the next day. It is very convenient to the airport being only minutes away. The free shuttle is timely and makes getting to the airport or hotel easy and stress free. The rooms were clean, front desk very nice and the morning breakfast well done. There is also a Rostipollos next to the Hampton Inn and it is good for lunch and dinner. It is very similar to Boston Market. I did have one issue where I had an extra charge on my credit card for a small amount. It took me two phone calls to 1-800-Hampton to get it resolved. Still confused by the extra charge but they admitted the mistake and did credit my credit card.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Nick M. we really appreciate you sharing your comments.

Our goal as a hotel is to be able to provide our guests with the highest quality of accommodations and the best and most convenient services for their total and complete satisfaction. We want our guest to know that they can count on us for everything concerning their comfort and well being in order for them to experience a wonderful and restful hotel stay, either coming from a flight or before departing back home.

Eventhough we have some restaurants within walking distance from the hotel, our shuttle can take our guests free of any carge to a mall nearby (less than five minutes away) which offers a wide variety of restaurants to choose from. As you can see. we really do strive to comply with everything that our guests might need so that they can see that we do keep our promises of complete satisfaction for our guests.

It was wonderful having you stay with us, thank you so much for choosing us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
4.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,731 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,328 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 20107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing