We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay at Hampton Inn by Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here twice during our trip to Costa Rica last week. We checked in for 2 nights then checked out to go to La Fortuna. Afterwards, we stayed two more nights before returning to Las Vegas, NV. I only have good things to say about this hotel. It is clean and the staff is always willing to help. I bought a bag of mangos on the side of the road and one of the breakfast staff offered to peel and cut them all for my family. Everyone is always smiling. Breakfast is delicious and with so much fruit. They have a lot of options. The free shuttle to the airport is a plus. I am so glad they are so close to the airport since we almost missed our flight.
Although the area outside is a bit scary, there is security within that hotel and the others around 24 hours a day. They keep checking the vehicles, which is awesome since we had a rental. At no point did I feel unsafe. The free WiFi is also a plus as I needed to stay in touch with my parents. We are hoping to go back next year and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear mfloressu, thank you so much for writing such a lovely review.

You really have made us feel extremely proud as a hotel that strives to satisfy our guests in every possible way so they can always trust us and be assured that their well being and comfort is the most important thing for us, so much that you are going to stay with us the next time you visit the country.

It is an honor to be able to call you a part of our extended family who always come back to us after experiencing such a successful and satisfying stay. We really thrive on our guests happiness and knowing that you feel so good and comfortable with us only makes us want to continue providing great accommodations and services with a very friendly and complying staff whose main concern is you well being and satisfaction.

Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, the entire team will look forward to your visit.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Nice, clean, and comfortable room located close to airport. Free wifi and complimentary full breakfast. Breakfast was good and included scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon, toast/breakfast rolls & fruit. Transportation (free) to airport runs every 15 minutes. Carolina at the front desk was very helpful with some printing I needed done from the computer.

Room Tip: The lower the room the better the wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingFamily20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear TravelingFamily20102, thanks for posting your wonderful comments.

There is nothing that makes us more happy here at the hotel, than reading comments like yours because your feedback makes us see that we are doing everything as we are supposed to and that our services and accommodations are always on the right track for providing our guests with total satisfaction and comfort. It makes us very happy to learn how much you liked our breakfast and how varied and satisfying you found all the choices it offers because we are always striving to cater to as many different tastes as we can.

We are very glad to have people like Carolina as part of our staff, because as our entire personnel, she is always going above and beyond to comply with our guests needs and requests and it makes us very proud to have them with us.

It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us, we will all look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We prepaid for $100 per night at the beginning and end of our trip to Costa Rica. Ideal access to the San Jose airport. Breakfasts were good. Pool looked good although we did not use it. Some of the car rental places are within walking distance (Hertz, Budget down the road & some smaller names share the same parking lot). Easy to get around. Denny's, RostiPollo and a casino are within walking distance for meals.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanColumbus_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear joanColumbus_OH,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. It makes us feel elated everytime ouur guests leave our hotel feeling so happy and satisfied, with a big and glowing smile because it shows us that we are doing exactly what we have to do, and it is more than a pleasure to do it. We want our guests to feel right at home, surrounded by warmth, comfort and friendlines so they can be sure that when they stay with us, tthey are going to get everything they expect, deserve and much more because there is nothing more important to us than our guests happiness and comfort.

We are very glad that you found our location so convenient (having the airport, several car rentals, a couple of restaurants and a casino so nearby) and our services so good (specially our delicious complimentary breakfast and our free wifi). We really hope that you continue making us your hotel of choiice everytime you visit the country.

Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure to have you with us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have a great stay here for our last night in Costa Rica. There is some noise from the airport, but it didn't bother us too much. The place was very clean, and the staff were friendly. I don't think there was a restaurant on site, but there are many restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank judys331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear judys331, thanks alot for sharing your comments.

It always makes our day to learn when our guests leave feeling so happy and satisfied about their experience with us. We are a hotel that thrives on our guests comfort and satisfaction so we are always a step ahead in making them feel right at home, not only by being very friendly and attentive but also by providing them with all they might need for their total comfort and rest. Yes, there are two restaurants right across from our parking lot and also our shuttle can take ur guests free of any charge to a mall nearby (less than 5 minutes away) which has several different types of restaurants such as mexican, japanese, argentinian, italian, ect. And afterwards, our shuttle can go back to the mall to pick our guests up and return them to the hotel.

Our hotel was built with special materials that isolate any incoming sounds (because of its location less than a mile away from the airport)so we can guarantee our guests that they will always have a peaceful and restful sleep because their well being is so important for us.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, thank you so much for choosing us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We chose to stay here on our last night in CR, close to the airport, airport shuttle, and just next door to the car rental drop off.

4 days prior to our arrival we decided to add another night. We called Hotels.com, who we originally made the reservation through. They added the extra night and then transferred us to the hotel's front desk to confirm our reservation of 2 rooms for 2 nights (a total of 4 nights). The person at the hotel seemed a bit confused, but did repeat what was requested and so we kept our fingers crossed and hoped for the best.

There was some confusion (as we anticipated) when we arrived, 5 people, 2 rooms but only 2 king beds vs one room with 2 queens. The rooms with king beds did have a sofa bed and the hotel offered to move 3 of us to a different room the next night with 2 queen beds. Great! We could work with this. We wrote down the names of the two people who's names the rooms were reserved under and then the rest of the people staying in rooms names. Passports were gathered from all 5 of us and passport numbers written on the back of our reservation sheet that the hotel keeps.

Rooms were nice, clean, beds comfortable. WiFi was only available in the hallway. When we were in our rooms, there was no reception. We adjusted: grabbed our chairs, a spot on the floor in the hallway, some snacks and pretended we were in the dorms hanging out in the hallway with our social media devices!

Upon checking out we discovered that we were charged 3 nights from the hotel, and 2 nights were already paid for via the Hotels.com reservation. Why were we being charged for a total of 5 nights????? The shuttle was waiting, 3 of us had eaten something bad and were having trouble keeping things down, we decided we would take care of this once back home.

Once home, we called the hotel, after being given the run around for a bit, we were told that WE did not "check in properly". Only ONE person checked in for both rooms vs one person for each room. So...we got 2 rooms even though only ONE person checked in, and therefore we are being charged for an extra night?

When we checked in we gave them the two names that the rooms were registered under, WROTE the two names down and then showed them our passports. When this was told to the person we were speaking to, the remark was "Oh yes, I see your names written down, but you didn't check in properly. The account is closed now, I can't do anything about it."

We asked to speak with a manager and we were told there was no manager there at the moment. If we wanted to, we should contact corporate headquarters and complain to them. We have obliged, and contacted "corporate" and are awaiting an answer.

Not the way to end an otherwise very wonderful time in CR.

Room Tip: Apparently if you want WiFi in your room, do not stay on the 4th floor. If you are placed on the 4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kali2010wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear kali2010wl

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and for using Tripadvisor. Our goal is to offer high value for your money by offering quality accommodations, friendly service and a clean and safe environment, on a consistent basis, that way, we can assure our guests´ complete satisfaction.

I will really appreciate if somehow you can give me little more information or specific details of your stay so we are going to contact you privately so you can tell me exactly what happened and under what name was the reservation and charge made. I want to assure you that we are going to take the necessary steps to improve prblems like this one eventhough they seldomly happen, I´ll be very thankful if you reply to our private message because I know that I need the help from people like you to let us know where we are not meeting our objectives.

I wish to thank you again for providing feedback and for choosing our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience that we may have caused you and we will do everything we can to make it up to you for this mishap, and I hope that you give us a chance to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

we have stayed in Hampton inn only for one night. it was not cheap but for the $155 we had an access to the hotel swimming pool, free hot drinks and fruit from reception area, wifi and a lovely and very comfortable room on 4th flool. staff welcomed us with smiles, they vere helpful and very genuine just like all the people in Costa rica. the stay in this hotel was our little luxury at the end of our 3 week back packing trip around the country. in the morning we vere able to have a morish breakfast, there was so much choice!
we had and issue with our rental car and staff at the reception were so kind and dealt with the insurance people, only thanks to Stephen at the reception we received our deposit for the car back. big big thank you and PURA VIDA!!! from Tina(Slovakia) and Matt (England)

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinulicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Tinulicek, thank you for such a lovely review.

Besides making us very happy by sharing your experience with us, you have made us very proud by letting us know what valuable personnel we have who always go the extra mile to ensure our guests´comfort and satisfaction. People like Stephen epitomize not only our staff´s profile but also the hotel itself, taking care of our guests, going to great lengths to solve any problem they might have not only involving things related to the hotel but also helping them with other things (such as with the car deposit).

We are delighted that you both enjoyed our complimentary breakfast so much because we are always putting in much thought to try to make it very varied and tasteful to appeal to as many tastes as we can.

Thank you for makng us your hotel of choice, the entire team looks forward to your next visit.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I was very impressed with the Hampton Inn - Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica. The hotel is very convenient to the airport. They have 24/7 shuttle service and they can provide pre-payment of the airport departure tax. I stay at Hamptons all of the country and I felt "right at home" in San Jose. The front desk folks were polite and engaging. Very nice property

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Randy W, we really thank you for your delightful comments because just knowing that you are part of our extended worldwide family makes us very proud.

It is always a pleasure to learn how our guests appreciate our great accommodations and very convenient services which are always going to make their stay with us much more comfortable and satisfying for a most pleasurable hotel experience ever. We are completely committed in complying with all of our guests´ needs and requests so that they can know that they can always count on us for their satisfaction. Thank you for making us your number one hotel of choice.

The entire staff looks forward to your next stay.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
7.3 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
689 reviews
4 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
890 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 20107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £82 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing