We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 1 night stop on our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for our first night of our trip so we could drive to La Fortuna the next morning.

Hotel was great, especially for the price. We got the suite which had a little extra space that we enjoyed.

They brought us champagne and some assorted candy once they found out we were on our honeymoon, that was a great surprise! Everyone working the front desk was very nice and helpful.

Room was very clean, air conditioning worked great. Did not notice any noise, TV was great. The mini bar with separate sink and fridge was really great. We ordered pizza hut to our room and the fridge and microwave was great for the leftovers.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the suite compared to regular room. The price is small and youll get a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Machater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Machater, thanks for writing such awesome comments.

First of all, let us congratulate you and your wife on your marriage. We wish you the best and hope that every year on your aniversary you wil be able to stay with us to conmemorate such an important date.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the champagne and candies we sent you on such a special occasion, there is nothing we want more than to please our guests and show them how important they are for us. We are a hotel that always takes care of every single detail regarding our guests comfort and satisfaction, starting from when they make the reservations, providing them with the most comfortable accommodations and convenient services, to having the most attentive and friendliest staff ever to do everything they can to make them feel more than welcome. We go out of our way to make our guests have the greatest hotel experience, even when they take our free shuttle back to the airport to take their returning flight home.

Thank you again for letting us be a part of your memories on such an important part of your lives, it was a pleasure being of your service and as we wrote before, we hope to see you every year on this important date.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 1,472 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellent location, near airport but quiet, superb beds, very clean, attentive and pleasant staff, effective, quick shuttle service. I have stayed at two other airport hotels in Costa Rica; the Hampton is by far the best.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Alan D, thank you for sharing your review.

It is very rewarding for everyone in the hotel when we learn how much our guests like and enjoy our accommodations and services besides being so satisfied with the attention from our personnel and the convenience of our location ( besides being less than 1 mile away from the airport, we are just across our parking lot from a couple of restaurants, several car rentals and a casino).

Our outmost desire is for our guests to get all the rest they need and deserve and also to provide them with the best and most convenient services for their benefit.

It was a pleasure having you with us, thank you for choosing us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family and I have traveled to Costa Rica many times. Before we used to venture out to different hotels to spend the first night before heading out to our vacation spot. However, we finally decided that closer to the airport would be best for our purposes and so we found this hotel. This is perfect for that first night (or more) because it is close to the airport, they have a shuttle that picks you up and takes you to the hotel, the accommodations are excellent and the breakfast is just what you need! Sometimes you don't want to start your adventure the very first night...predictability when you are tired from the flight seems to work best for us and it might for you as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vania O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Vania O, thank you for sharing such nice review about your stay in our hotel.

Learning how our guests rave about getting all the peaceful rest they need and deserve in our hotel makes us feel elated because that is exactly what we want. We want each and every one of our guests to have all the comfort and rest they need either after arriving from a long flight or driving from one of our incredible beaches, or before embarking on their journey back home, that way, they are going to be able to start that long day ahead as fresh and well rested as only a very comfortable and clean room can make them.

The services we offer are specially thought to provide our guests with all the conveniences they need to make their stay as hassle free and perfect as possible, because the more comforts and less things to worry about you have, the more rest and satisfaction you are going to experience and that is our main goal.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, we hope to see you back again soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

After a week of travel all over Costa Rica, we spent last night before returning home at this Hampton Inn. Especially coming from Tortuguero where we spent 2 nights at a bed and breakfast, our room looked huge. Everything you expect from Hampton Inn was there and more clean, light large rooms, friendly staff, wide and comfortable beds, and great breakfast with some traditional Costa Rican and north American selections. Coffee, tea, and fruits were always in the lobby. We didn't have a chance to use the pool. There is a free shuttle to the airport (5 minutes ride). You could take the shuttle to the airport and then take a bus to San Jose from there. We took a taxi to San Jose to visit museums and then took a bus to the airport and a dispatcher at the stop called the hotel to pick us up. Big tourist type buses were going every 10-15 minutes 501 colones per person from San Jose. Loved that place. We booked with the AAA discount so the price was comparable with other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear jboro, thanks for posting such delightful comments.

It makes us very happy to learn that we were the final stop of a wonderful vacation. Having guests like yourselves and making you comfortable and well rested is our priority and to achieve those things we have the highest quality of accommodations and services which we are sure arfe going to accomplish everything we strive for in order to provide you with the perfect stay.

Our staff is always one step ahead in providing our guests with everything they need, either it is something material or is advice or directions for getting somewhere they want to go, always in a friendly and cordial manner so our guests can know that it is our pleasure to be of their assistance and that they can always count on us.

We are very glad that you really enjoyed our complimentary breakfast because alot of thought and effort is put into it so we can make it as diverse and delicious and be able to comply with all the different tastes and palates of our guests.

It was an honor to have you stay here with us, thank you so much for choosing us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for less then 7 hours but i needed a place to rest while i wanted for my friends to get in. Overall this was a nice place to stay. The staff was helpful, they had free wifi, and a business center. I didn't get to eat the free breakfast due to the fact that i left prior to them serving it. My only knock is that because i booked it on expedia the lady said i wasn't eligible for Honers points. We'll see what we can do to get them points. I recommend if you need a place to hang you head for the day or two.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaycunnings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Jaycunnings, thank you for writing such nice comments.

Eventhough you stayed with us for so little time you were able to get all the comfortable rest you were expecting while waiting for your friends and that makes us very happy, because we strive to provide all of our guests with everything they need to make their stay as satisfying as it can be. With our great accommodations, excellent services and a very convenient location (we are not only less than a mile away from the airport, but we are also just across our parking lot from a couple of restaurants, several car rentals and a casino) we want our guests to see firsthand that we always provide them with everything they expect from us as a hotel and much more.

We are sorry that you didn´t get to try our complimentary breakfast which we asure you is very good so we hope that the next time you visit us, you are going to be able to stay with us longer so you can experience everything we have to offer.

It was a pleasure being of your service, thank you for staying with us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel itself is what you'd expect from an airport hotel. Clean, functional, WiFi, nothing remarkable, but nothing unremarkable.
We stayed 3 non-consecutive nights and left our luggage with their facility at the end of the last stay for a couple of days before returning home. When we collected our luggage and requested to use the hotels transport to the airport the receptionist was incredibly rude and treated us as if we were unreasonably abusing this transfer facility (its less than a 5 min drive to the airport!)
This treatment really soured my experience with Hampton hotel, which had otherwise been adequate, and as such I certainly would not wish to provide the company with any further business. We had clearly been paying customers to leave our luggage, but were treated as though we had somehow snuck through the system to abuse their free airport transfer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear rosie m, thank you so much for posting your comments.

First of all, please accept our most sincere apology for the mishap you experience. We are a hotel whose main concern is to provide its guests with everything they need and request for their total satisfaction and by learning about what happened to you, it really makes us feel very ashamed. We would really appreciate if you can contact the hotel directly so you can tell us exactly what day and at what time this happened so our brand´s standards team can look into it immediately and take the necessary actions to ensure that similar situations can be avoided because we have to aintain the highest standards of service to all our guests.

On the other hand, we are very glad that you found your room so clean and functional because the comfort of our guests is always our priority. Once again, we are very sorry about the situation you experienced and we will take care of the situation as soon as you contact us.

Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure being of your service.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I said briefly at this hotel for a business meeting. After visiting I realised how well equipped the hotel was. It had a wonderful breakfast, pool. All the furnishings of a great resort. I will definitely come back with my family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Gabriela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Gabriela B, we really appreciate your delightful review.

Whenever we learn that our guests are planning on returning (and bringing their family with them) makes us feel very proud, because it makes us see how much our guests appreciate everything we do in providing them all the comfort and satisfaction that they expect and deserve, if not much more.

We want our guests to know for certain that during their stay, they are going to have the most comfortable accommodations and best services to ensure that they get al the rest and tranquility they need and that our staff will always go above and beyond to provide them with all their requests and needs.

It was wonderful having you stay with us, we will be expecting you on your next visit with your entire family.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
7.3 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
689 reviews
4 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
890 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 20107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £82 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing