We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Intro to Costa Rica”
Review of Hotel Villa Dolce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Dolce
Ranked #33 of 61 Alajuela B&B and Inns
St Johns
1 review
“Nice Intro to Costa Rica”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We booked Villa Dolce for our first night, to relax after the journey. We were not expecting all the fences and security around houses in Alajuela, but the hotel was an island of serenity. The managers and staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and clean, and the pizza is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    88
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
102
34
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Villa Dolce was only 10 or so minutes from the airport and very easy to find! Once through their gates, you forget you're so close to a busy area. The grounds are beautiful, the staff speaks english and spanish and was super friendly and very helpful. The rooms were extremely clean and very nice. The restaurant serves a wonderful breakfast and makes a great pizza for dinner! Randall was totally on top of driving directions, taxis, etc.... We will definately make this our first and last night stop every trip from now on.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Whether you're looking for an easy to get to first or last stop in Costa Rica or a base to explore the Alajuela area, Villa Dolce will offer you a comfortable, clean, safe and inexpensive option. It is conveniently located in a pretty garden setting less than 10 minutes from the airport and relatively easy to find. The staff are more than helpful and friendly, making you feel like one of the family.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We needed a nice hotel near the airport where we could relax, eat, and have a nice room. Hotel Villa Dolce met all of our search requirements. When we arrived, we discovered our expectations were going to be exceeded. The people were friendly; it was like walking into your cousins house. Everyone spoke multiple languages and made it simple to get additional information about the rest of our trip. When came back for our last night in Costa Rica, we enjoyed a nice dinner, well priced and well prepared. And, their free wireless Internet was a wonderful added touch. Hotel Villa Dolce has become our stay-at hotel for all of our Costa Rica trips!

Room Tip: "Standard" rooms are more than adequate in terms of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Hotel Villa Dolce is very near the San Jose airport, approx 5-10 min. The hotels cab service was very efficient even at 4:30 in the morning at a cost of approx $12 USD. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and arranged for our rental car to be picked up at the hotel which saved us the stress of returning it very early the next morning. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well maintained, as are the rooms. We booked our stay at Hotel Villa Dolce after reading reviews on tripadvisor and was very pleased with our choice. Would definately stay here on our next trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDolce, Owner at Hotel Villa Dolce, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you - muchas gracias! This is all I can say. Thanks a million for all the kind reviews. This is a blessing for our business, hence we greatly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Our stay at Villa Dolce was relaxing and peaceful-Jessica and Randall were so accommodating especially as we were delayed a day in to CR and they allowed us to move our stay back a night. We felt at home from the moment we arrived, the rooms are spotless and although the main highway is quite near we didn't have any problems with noise.

We decided to visit alajuela and Randall kindly provided us with the coins for the bus fare (in exact change, which was so cute) as we hadn't any change on us.

The restaurant wasn't serving dinner that evening so we ordered in pizza which was so huge we kept some for breakfast the next day.

I treated myself to a facial and reflexology with Jessica and it was a perfect way to relax after a 24 hr journey. The treatment room is beautiful with a running water feature and relaxing music. The treatment itself was very soothing yet firm enough to feel like I had a proper knead! I would definitely recommend the collagen facial as my skin was much fresher afterwards!

We left early in the morning so we didn't have breakfast but from what we saw of others it looked pretty good.

All in all a lovely place to stay if you are stopping over before or after a flight.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lambo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göttingen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2011

After being to Costa Rica for 5 times during the last years I can tell that Villa Dolce is our first choice as an airport hotel. We have tried several other places in Alajuela and Heredia, more or less the same price, but Villa dolce will continue to be our favourite.

The rooms as well as the whole property are spotless clean (I know what I´m telling about, I´m German), Jessica serves a real Italian Pizza and they have a good beer (you know what I´m telling about, I´m ….). Our room was very spacious and quiet, we didn´t hear a thing, although the property is located in a populated area. The pool is also very nice. We didn´t try the breakfast because we had to leave very early. Because of our early departure I was a little concerned getting a taxi right in time to this place but it was no problem; the cab was there 5 earlier.
You should expect the trip to the airport to take 15 minutes, especially during rush hour like we did.
Villadolce is not situate as convenient to the car rentals as other hotels, but this is no problem also. The car rentals know where it is located so they will drop you after returning the car and I´m sure they can pick you up for renting as well. At least Europe Car does.
After we stayed at Villadolce we recommended this place to a Costa Rican friend who took off from Juan Santamaria and she liked it as well. And we´ve just made arrangements with Jessica for our next stay in march next year.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillGoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDolce, Owner at Hotel Villa Dolce, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Thank you so much for all the kind words. Thank you for taking the time to write such a complete review. I am immensely grateful. See you in March.

I take this opportunity to wish you all a Merry Christmas and all the very best for 2012.

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
2.8 mi away
Vista Linda Montana
Vista Linda Montana
#2 of 61 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Dolce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Dolce

Property: Hotel Villa Dolce
Address: El Coyol de Alajuela, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Dolce 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Dolce is a "sweet villa" located at just 5 minutes from the San Jose Airport with direct connection to the new highway 27. The warm and friendly service we offer will make you feel right at home. Come and enjoy lovely rooms and villas with all comforts, a large pool, lush garden, and Italian pizzeria. At Villa Dolce you will find everything you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay in the Central Valley and when flying in and out of Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Villa Dolce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Villa Dolce Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing