We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Dolce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Dolce
Ranked #32 of 60 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Lubbock
1 review
“Very helpful owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Wife and I stayed here June 2011, on the way in and out of CR (hotel is a few miles to San Jose Airport). When we had a problem with our rental car, the owner called another company and got us a much lower rate than we would've paid elsewhere. Breakfast is typical, quality CR fare. Beds were a bit firm for our taste. Pool is nice. Everything secure and well appointed. Would definitely use this place again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monroe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    88
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
102
34
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chemainus, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed, with members of our senior soccer team, at Villa Dolce on our way home from CR. The facility was very convenient for the airport (shuttle was prompt and reasonably priced) and the owners and staff extremely accommodating. The home-made pizzas and desserts, as well as a good breakfast, were served with good humour and grace and we were all made to feel welcome, despite the hotel being fully booked and very busy. A great little oasis, clean and comfortable. We'll stay again!

Room Tip: It's worth paying a bit more for a newer unit (with air con) if you stay in the warmer seasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
québec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is a very good adress.. Its a small hotel with charm and Jessica and her staff are very helpful. Nice swimming pool. The italian owner makes some very tasteful pizzas in the evening with fresh dough. This is definitly the place we will stay in the future when we have to stay in San Jose

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calzonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansted
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

needed overnight/ meeting place for pickup to start paragliding trip. hotel arranged pickup at airport after hours(midnight). helpful driver waiting with name card. delivered me to hotel and got me to room safely.included breakfast was prepared and delivered to me in a nice veranda area. service was great rooms large and complete. i am sorry i did not have time to take advantage of the discount on the villa dolla dolce massage. flyboyusvi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyboyusvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at Villa Dolce our first and last night in Costa Rica. It was a lovely hotel, very close to the airport which was great for early morning flights. The rooms were not fancy but they were very clean and comfortable...homey rather than luxurious. We felt very at ease as the staff were welcoming and very friendly. We had AMAZING massages from Jessica who has created a little oasis spa. This was the perfect way to unwind after a long day of travelling and is definitely not to be missed. Breakfast (included) was lovely and the evening meal (extra) of homemade pizzas was fabulous! We would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to stay there again on our next visit to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thoseplommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
180 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We used this hotel as a stay-over for arrival and departure from Costa Rica, but it is a great location for visiting the San Jose area. A very nice breakfast is included. It is 6km from the airport, just down the highway. It's economical, very clean and the service is outstanding. There is a nice pool and beautiful garden area. When I asked for lime for my beer a fresh lime was picked from the tree! The restaurant has excellent pizza. When we left before the restaurant opened in the morning they gave us a boxed breakfast to take to the airport. Again, the service here is OUTSTANDING!.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kibbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at Hotel Villa Dolce in March 2012 when we landed at SJO and then again prior t taking an early a.m. Sansa flight. Randall was so helpful in getting us situated and getting transportation to a restaurant and the airport.The accomodations (2bd 2bath) for our family of 4 were clean, spacious and comfortable. The pool area is nice for relaxing. We had dinner at the hotel the first night and the pizza was really good. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 was that the traffic noise due to the hotel's proximity to the Pan-American highway was high. However I am a light sleeper and I fully acknowledge that this is not the hotel's fault in any way. I recommend staying here if you need something close to airport and because you will be well taken care of by Randall and rest of hotel staff who are so gracious and helpful.

Room Tip: rooms closer to reception and restaurant may be quieter since further away from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seal555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#8 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
2.8 mi away
Vista Linda Montana
Vista Linda Montana
#4 of 60 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Dolce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Dolce

Property: Hotel Villa Dolce
Address: El Coyol de Alajuela, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Dolce 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Dolce is a "sweet villa" located at just 5 minutes from the San Jose Airport with direct connection to the new highway 27. The warm and friendly service we offer will make you feel right at home. Come and enjoy lovely rooms and villas with all comforts, a large pool, lush garden, and Italian pizzeria. At Villa Dolce you will find everything you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay in the Central Valley and when flying in and out of Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Dolce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Villa Dolce Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing