We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful once again!”
Review of Hotel Villa Dolce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Dolce
Ranked #32 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful once again!”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This is our third trip to Costa Rica, our second in a row making Villa Dolce our first and last night in country. Randall is still great and on top of directions; the pizza is still our first and last night's dinner. We'll be booking again next year! Great place, great hosts and great location!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the main office have the best wi-fi coverage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    88
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
102
34
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport mininnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed here on our last night in Costa Rica. There was no A/C, I fell down the steps outside due to a burned out light. When I complained about it they said it was because it had rained out. Pretty flimsy excuse for a country that gets rain 6 months out of the year. No appology was extended. The unit was so noisy at night we missed the sleep we desperately needed for the long flight home. The living room furniture was on the dirty side and my feet immediately got filthy on the bottom from the the dirty floors. The towels were musty and we had no cold water in the morning to shower. The pizza and salad were good but the breakfast was not in the least bit desireable. I think the price was out of proportion for this property. This property is BARE-BONES to the max.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junglegirl700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed for one night before leaving Costa Rica. The staff spoke english and were helpful. Got a room a little walk from the reception. There were no light outside the room and a little struggle to walk the path and find the keyhole after dark.
Although they promise A/C we just got a ceiling fan and the wifi didn't reach our room. There were no hair dryer, alarm radio and it was kinda dirty inside.
We got a private taxi service but the staff offered cheap transportation to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleTravelingCrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We ended our 2 week vacation in Costa Rica at the Hotel Villa Dolce and enjoyed our stay.The rate was very reasonable. It is close to the highway , but did not notice the noise in the evening while in the room. The property is beautifully maintained and the rooms and common areas are very clean. Loved the pool. The staff was very professional and friendly. Beakfast was definitely adequate with scrambled eggs, fruit , toast , juice and coffee. A couple of things to note The dinner hour is just that, one hour. The only offering is pizza and salad. The pizza was just OK. The mushrooms were canned and the dough probably not from scratch. The owners, I presume, were sitting at a table next to us eating spaghetti which I thought was just a little presumptuous. There is no complimentary airport transportation, so expect to pay about $30 for taxi service. I would recommend this hotel and would use it again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marin County, CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I am a light sleeper and ear plugs were a must for me here. With ear plugs, it was fine. The hotel backs up to the Pan American highway – the main highway in Costa Rica. I stayed in room 4 which is about as far away from the highway as possible (@ 100 yds.). Large trucks and buses pass by at all hours. The newest units have to be even noisier as they back up to the sound wall separating the highway from the hotel.

The hotel is a run by an Italian / British husband and wife team. The rooms are very clean and simple with nice beds, cable TV and A/C. In the evening the sell decent pizza at US prices - pizza $12-14, sodas $2.50. Breakfast in the morning was average for my stay in Costa Rica.

The hotel is about 5kms from the San Jose airport in a mixed residential and commercial area a taxi should cost @ $10-12.

This hotel is best for people with a car. But it is possible to get around by bus. The local bus to downtown Alajuela stops almost in front of the hotel. The fare is 265 colones and takes @ 20 minutes with frequent stops. From the end of the line in Alajuela, it is possible to go most places in the area by bus. For example, to go to downtown San Jose, get off the local bus, walk forward to the street, and turn left, go up to the corner and then another 3rd of a block. Here you will find the bus station for buses to San Jose. Direct buses depart frequently, the take 30-40 min. and cost 535 colones.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabiBagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed at Hotel Villa Dolce twice during our January, 2013, Costa Rica vacation. Grounds are lovely and well maintained, breakfast and pizza dinners with great, fresh salads are very, very good, staff is friendly and professional, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel's recommended taxi driver was ready to take us to the airport at 4 am as promised! A great hotel, in a great location close to the airport, perfect for your stay after arrival or before departure.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank beekpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Hotel Villa Dolce is very nice and convenient if you are flying in or out of San Jose. The staff was excellent and even opened the restaurant for dinner for us since we arrived on New Year's Day and most restaurants were closed. The rooms were huge and very comfortable for a family.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
302 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Vista Linda Montana
Vista Linda Montana
#4 of 58 in Alajuela
296 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn
0.7 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#1 of 2 in La Garita
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Dolce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Dolce

Property: Hotel Villa Dolce
Address: El Coyol de Alajuela, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Dolce 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Dolce is a "sweet villa" located at just 5 minutes from the San Jose Airport with direct connection to the new highway 27. The warm and friendly service we offer will make you feel right at home. Come and enjoy lovely rooms and villas with all comforts, a large pool, lush garden, and Italian pizzeria. At Villa Dolce you will find everything you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay in the Central Valley and when flying in and out of Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Dolce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Villa Dolce Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing