We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good safe place to stay to start our holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Dolce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Dolce
Ranked #32 of 60 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Costa rica
2 reviews
“A good safe place to stay to start our holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

When we fly into or out of San Jose , we make our stop at the Hotel Villa Dolce. For last 10 years we always look forward to seeing Franco, Maria and Jessica. The rooms are always very clean and we feel safe . To start the holiday off right, we start with breakfast which is included and a wonderful cup or two of coffee.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbyBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    88
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
102
34
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver,canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

After 5 hrs drive from the coast,we arrived hot,tired and with no concrete plans for our 2 day stay at the end of our holiday. It was recommended by travellers as convenient to the airport for early departures. We got more than that. Within 30 minutes, Jessica the manager organised the rest of our afternoon suggesting a trip to the zoo before it closed and a superb restaurant Martinos. Next day she arranged a driver to take us to Poas Volcano,coffee plantation and butterfly garden. We never could have arranged this in such short notice. That nice she and her mother created a party atmosphere with all the guests and we ordered in pizzas. What a bonus! Thanks Jessica for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

We couldn't have picked a better place to stay in Alejuela, Costa Rica! The owners, Jessica and Marie were amazing people and they know how to treat their guests! The rooms and villas were so clean, comfortable, and cozy. You feel like you're at home and a very nice place to unwind and relax. All the staff were so friendly and courteous too. Oh, the food they served there, was amazingly delicious!! I know when we decide to go back to that area again, we are definitely staying at Villa Dolce. This place is also very safe and secure. We are from Kansas and highly recommend this little paradise!
Jeff A. and Mary L.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miamor12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marin County
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

I really enjoyed my stay there. I found the Owner extremely helpful from the time I started emailing questions from the US until I left. Breakfast was great and everyone was friendly, even the dogs!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2009

this hotel is very close to san jose airport and yet you would never know it. it is also about half an hour from san jose depending on traffic congestion, it is a small hotel with
a lovely garden and a swimming pool. the rooms are spotlessly clean and are a cozy haven away from home. the staff is super friendly. it is run by an english lady and an italian gentleman with their adult daughter, jessica, who are very helpful and bend over backwards for their clientele. this hotel has a resdtaurant that is way above average. the food is very very good and quite varied. breakfast is included and the prices for dinner are very reasonable. the hotel rate at approx. us75.00 is also very reasonable.we recommend this hotel highly

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swerent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

My daughter booked it for us and she had checked the hotel. We love the people very loveable and the service is excellent.

We will return for out next stay. Jessica is great she makes sure you are satisfied with everything and makes sure the clients are very happy with the services she gives to everyone.
Jessica and her Family makes you fell part of them.

Yes I highly recommend to stay at Villa Dolce, save,clean, and family oriented.
Thank you Jessica

Quesada Family, Florida

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casmarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basalt, colo
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

I have stayed here fairly often for 15 years, does that tell you a lot. why search when this one gives such advantages like close to airport, transfer, great food in family restaurant. several languages spoken. etc, etc

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mongoose96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#8 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
2.8 mi away
Vista Linda Montana
Vista Linda Montana
#4 of 60 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Dolce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Dolce

Property: Hotel Villa Dolce
Address: El Coyol de Alajuela, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Dolce 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Dolce is a "sweet villa" located at just 5 minutes from the San Jose Airport with direct connection to the new highway 27. The warm and friendly service we offer will make you feel right at home. Come and enjoy lovely rooms and villas with all comforts, a large pool, lush garden, and Italian pizzeria. At Villa Dolce you will find everything you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay in the Central Valley and when flying in and out of Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Dolce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Villa Dolce Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing