We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This Hotel was picked for us as a single night stay before heading back to TX via SJO.
Wish we could have stayed longer. awesome hotel, great food. gorgeous grounds. We hiked to the waterfalls and swam in the pool. we managed to squeeze 3 meals out before we left.
I'm not sure we would have found this place on our own but I am glad Desafio Adventure Company put us here.

The staff was awesome, The rooms were very well outfitted and amazingly big. The bathroom was almost half the size of the villa. It was great. Would highly recommend. It is a drive of about 20 minutes to the front door of SJO but they make it regularly and had us at the airport in plenty of time to make our flight.

To call it a room is misleading. this are all independent villas. with private garden inside a walled/gated enclosure.

Free wifi in the front office/restaurant area. No TV in room (who cares) but big TV room at the front.

Would def stay again if given he chance.

Room Tip: We had room 23 see pics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasShawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

Arriving at the San Jose airport in order to make a trip through Costa Rica we asked our travel agency to book us a quality hotel not too far away from the airport to sleep the first night.
And a good hotel it was.
Reception: friendly and not at all giving us the feeling we only stayed there overnight.
Facilities: the grounds are great. We made an early walk to the several falls they have on site. Just fabulous.
The swiming pools are great.
The rooms could not be better including fabulous bathrooms.
The view from the rooms is superb with a view of Alajuela town as one huge lightcarpet. The only negative to some people might be the lack of curtains. But when in Costa Rica one should be awake when it's light so this did not bother us too much.
Breakfast:
All that you want. A la carte and well prepared and served. Seated on the covered terras with similar views to the ones from the rooms one can't grumble.

A must for anyone that comes to Costa Rica and doesn't mind spending a bit more on quality.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Fourth time at this excellent hotel in the coffee growing hills above Alajuela. I usually dump the rental car the day after checking in and just relax, hike, bird watch, swim, and enjoy before heading back home. The new western pool is great, and the farm/gardens have grown since last here so its even more verdant. Restaurant, service, spa are all excellent. Villas are very comfortable, private. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruperto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We decided to stay here based on the Tripadvisor reviews. The hotel grounds are amazing: lots of art everywhere and well-manicured vegetation. The free included breakfast was great. Lunch was very healthy and tasty... The casado plate with fish was amazing. The rooms all have a view over the city and it looks amazing at night. Diana was the sweetest server we had at the restaurant. The pool is gorgeous and the jacuzzi was great after a hike down to their own waterfalls (well worth the hike). All in all, this was a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 11, which is close to the maid area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We spent four nights here in April and it was just so refreshing to stay in a bespoke resort hotel that really cared about its surroundings. The location was a bit remote but then there's not much to do in Costa Rica anyway...The rooms were beautiful and soft drinks and biscuits were free and topped up daily. The restaurant was good, but the menu probably a little too healthy. And the gardens were spectacular, far better than any botanical gardens I've ever been too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathalieBAltrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Xandari has spectacular views, fabulous rooms/villas, great food, wonderful wildlife, and helpful and knowledgeable staff. It is truly a fantastic find - get away from it all place to stay. Eveything about it is stunning including the beautiful walk to the waterfalls, seeing (and hearing) amazing birds and other wildlife. Don't miss out on the trip to the coffee plantation either - a place unchanged by time with that truly amazing smell of freshly roasted coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotsoflazydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

This was such a happy way to end our trip to Costa Rica and I am so glad I decided on 2 days here. This place is gorgeous-don't miss the hike to the waterfalls and be sure to go on a garden, farm and plant tour with Jose-he is a certified naturalist and knows everything about the plants etc., but the birds are his passion-he could make the sounds of every bird and they answered him back! The rooms are huge here, no air conditioning but you don't need any, the pools, jacuzzi areas(3) are lovely, quiet and cool with great views. There is also a awesome view of Alajuela from the balconies of most of the rooms and especially the restaurant. And speaking of the restaurant, the food is wholesome, fresh and delicious. Almost everything they serve, including the eggs are from the garden and farm. Lots of fresh herbs, everything even the bread is homemade. The staff is incredible, so very friendly and helpful. Late in the afternoon on our last day when the sun just refused to shine, I decided to see if I could get a spa appointment for a facial and foot reflexology. I called the spa and they called in an esthetician, and I spent a wonderful hour and a half being pampered before returning to reality. We really hated to leave this wonderful, friendly place-do not cheat yourself here, spend an extra night-such a happy place to be.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LATaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
696 reviews
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
367 reviews
3.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £108 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari Resort & Spa offers the quintessential Costa Rica experience. The property’s forest reserve, with five waterfalls and miles of trails for bird-watching, provides the nature guests expect from a visit to Costa Rica. The landscaped gardens, the orchid house, and the farm all provide an additional abundance of tropical goodness. The Spa provides ample opportunity to unwind, to relax, to absorb the surrounding nature. All 24 villas, each uniquely designed and set within lush foliage, have spectacular views. And three times a day, our restaurant demonstrates the role of local cuisine in giving visitors an authentic sense of place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing