We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Dream”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

If you love:
-Artistic, airy rooms with bright colors and unique designs
-High-quality food at a reasonable price (the chocolate terrine and the filet of steak are magnificent)
-Private, thatched-roof spas with views of the central valley
-Friendly, helpful staff
-Clean swimming pools, outdoor showers, lovely walks and waterfalls right outside your door...

...then you will love Xandari.

They manage to blend the outdoor and the indoor perfectly - making you safe and cozy but letting you feel like you are always with nature. A job very well done. I keep going back... and I never get tired of it. Amazing that you can find something this lovely so close to the airport. A really relaxing spot that just feels good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OsoGata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    151
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
222
424
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The Xandari resort and spa was the first stop on our honeymoon and was lovely. The setting is beautiful, with great views from the room balconies and from the restaurant (especially looking down on the city at night). Our room was big and tasteful, and we had a lovely outdoor area. The gardens are stunning and there are great trails onsite - we saw lots of birds. The food was lovely, particularly breakfast and lunch (try the "tower of health" for breakfast). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeymoon_traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia, pa, usa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Xandari Resort & Spa, Alajuela, Costa Rica

Xandari is a true tropical paradise consisting of 23 individually designed villas on 45 acres overlooking the central valley of Costa Rica. The resort is conveniently located around 20 minutes from San Jose International airport and around a 10 minute ride to the colonial city of Alajuela (Costa Rica's 2nd largest city).

The resort features trails with 5 beautiful waterfalls, fantastic gardens, 3 pools and jacuzzis, a working farm and orchards. At an elevation of around 3900 feet, the temperatures are delightful - it was around 70 - 80F during our stay and cool in the evening. Individual villas, original artworks and the unique architectural design make Xandari a wonderful experience.

Our package was for 3 nights in a Prima Villa (there are also Premium Plus and Ultra villas, a unique round villa and a larger villa for a large group or family). The package included breakfast each morning - many choices of breads, bagels, fruit, muffins, yogurt, smoothies. You could add eggs or more substantial fare for an additional cost but we did not need to since the complimentary breakfast was more than adequate and very good. Also included was 1 tour you could pick from 4 choices - we did not avail ourselves of this since we did all 4 of the options self guided. All 4 tours were on the property grounds and included an early morning bird tour, farm and gardens tour, trails and waterfalls and medicinal plant tour. There are around 85 species of birds and it was wonderful to wake up to the delightful birdsongs each morning. The trails and waterfalls are great and we did all the trails which took us around 2 hours round trip. The farm has chickens, turkeys, goats (Sparkle & Twinkle), and ducks. There is quite an extensive orchard with various fruit trees. Most of the salads at mealtimes come straight from the garden to the table!

Our Prima Villa was very spacious with colorful artwork, great design, 2 queen beds (you could also ask for a villa with 1 king bed), a generous seating area, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea, a refrigerator with complimentary water and fruit juices. The bathroom was very nice with bathrobes, a generous closet, a huge shower with full windows overlooking our private garden - what a nice way to take a shower! Our patio was very spacious with 2 lounge chairs and a table with 2 chairs overlooking the valley - the view was amazing as was the stargazing at night. We even had our own hummingbird who lived in the banana tree next to our patio. Every villa has its own private entrance and you never hear your neighbors and the patios are all private (if you like to air dry after your shower - no one will see you ;-)

The dining room was an indoor/outdoor combination - again with the great central valley views. The menu features an extensive variety of healthy and not so healthy choices - from Costa Rican dishes to filet mignon, chicken and pasta dishes. There are also creative vegetarian dishes and salads. Everything we had was very good and reasonably priced.

The common areas are very nice, reception was very friendly and efficient, there is a small shop featuring local crafts (we purchased a nice locally made blanket) and of course coffee! There is a computer and printer setup for guests to use and WiFi in the common areas. No TV in the rooms but there is a TV room in the common area with DVDs, etc. for guests to use - but who wants to or needs to when you are in this place with all there is to do. The pool and jacuzzi areas (there are 3) are nicely landscaped with plenty of lounge chairs and tables and chairs to use and big, fluffy towels and again with the amazing views of the valley. The only complaint we had was that the jacuzzi could have been a bit hotter.

I did partake of some of the spa treatments and Konrad, the spa manager & Carla, my therapist, were great. The spa itself is very nicely designed with 5 individual treatment palapas with jacuzzis and great views. There is even a resident spa cat, Pancha, who greets the guests (she likes to have her belly rubbed and her ears scratched). Prices are competitive and it was well worth it. I was so relaxed, I availed myself of the chauffer driven eco friendly golf cart to take me back to my villa.

Xandari has a pretty comprehensive program of sustainable tourism - solar power, irrigation system, etc. When the owners purchased the land it was a coffee plantation and everything had been cleared for coffee plants. They have planted hundreds of native trees & plants in an effort to restore the area to its native diversity and they succeeded -- this is now a wonderful habitat for birds, butterflies and other wildlife. Guests can participate in the reforestation effort by planting a tree. The owners, Californian architect, Sherrill Boudy & his wife Charlene, who created much of the artwork, have done a fantastic job in creating this wonderful oasis.

Thanks to Lucy Alfaro, the reservation manager, for helping us plan our Xandari stay around our Costa Rica Expeditions tour to Tortuga Lodge and Monteverde Lodge and Gardens and for arranging our airport transportation. All the staff at the resort were great! HIghly recommend this place - perfect for before and after explorations of other areas in Costa Rica since it is close to the airport but far enough away to be tranquil and peaceful.

Pictures coming soon - our villa, the grounds, dining room and menus, pool area, etc. We took so many pictures this trip that we have to get them organized before posting the link. Also stay tuned for my story (still writing it) of the Costa Rica Expeditions portion of our trip to Tortuga Lodge and Monteverde Lodge & Gardens.

We had not been back to Costa Rica for about 5-6 years and this trip was well worth it and very enjoyable. .

Room Tip: any room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dannerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My biggest regret is we only spent 2 days there. Beautiful setting with views of the capital region perched on the hillside of a former coffee plantation. Well done l rooms and terrific staff. Great hikes on property as well as numerous excursions nearby Gardens are amazing

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petermv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, NE
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

A very special place.
Made sure you visit pool #3, at night, for an unbelievable view of the cities below. Even more spactacular then the views from the room balconys.
Staff went above and beyond to help us find a room for the next leg of our trip.
An unbelievable place. If you can afford to stay here, DO IT!

Room Tip: Just know ours was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldWonderer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Everything was fabulous. The photos on the website and the presented details about the resort were so accurate, and the attention and courtesy of the staff was amazing . My two gal pals and I loved every minute of our stay, and we would go back at our first opportunity. Marco makes the best mojito ever ! All of us loved Costa Rica and Xandari embodied the essence of the country in a warm relaxed elegance.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper . The surrounding area is semi-rural and forested so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dondebetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The first thing that hits you about Xandari as you drive up to the reception area is the unique architecture of the resort and beautifully-maintained gardens. We have never stayed in such a place before.

On arrival we were greeted and taken to reception where the receptionist (I think her name was Eloise) talked about the property & showed us to our bungalow. She obviously took great pride in her surroundings and having stayed there for only one night it is easy to understand why.

I got the impression that most guests tend to use it for only one night as a stopover as it is close to the airport. This is such a shame as the resort has such a lot to offer.
Early morning we took a walk to the waterfalls and it is well worth the hike to the 70ft waterfall. It is nearly all downhill to get there and we feared the trek back up to the resort but in the end it wasn't too bad.

The bungalow was very roomy, a magnificent view from our balcony, a mini-bar including free drinks, great food in the restaurant, the orchid house is also worth a visit. It is said that there is not much to do there but trips to Poas and Lapaz waterfalls are easily achievable during the day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveanddore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
680 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
666 reviews
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Property: Xandari Resort & Spa
Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. Long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh, continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing