We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and great views.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our holiday in Costa Rica. The location was perfect (only 20 minutes from the airport) but it couldn't have felt further from the city. The villas are huge, extremely comfortable with astonishing views. The hotel is set in hundreds of acres of beautiful gardens and trails that are great fun to explore. The property also has several pools to choose from. The food was simple but delicious. All fresh including many Costa Rican specialities. You definitely will not want to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloefox93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights before our flight back to the States last week. Gorgeous property and beautiful spa with great dining and nice staff. Rooms are like villas with amazing views and a choice of pools nearby. Many acres of naturally-landscaped hiking trails. You won't want to leave once you arrive, which is good because it's very secluded. Easy 5-10 minutes to airport the day you leave. Not best choice for any one with walking difficulties as you do have to walk up and down hills quite a bit to get to lobby/restaurant (the only place there is wifi, by the way).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here for one night in April 2012 on our way out of the country. I like to save staying at this hotel for the end of my trip so I have something to look forward to instead of being sad that it is time to go back home. The hotel is funky but upscale, the views are amazing, the rooms large, colorful and well appointed. The pools are amazing (I love to use the Sunset Pool down close to the spa) and the grounds are beautiful. The waterfalls are a pretty decent trek, but I also like to pay a visit to the two goats - Twinkle and Sparkle - while walking around the grounds. The evening view from the open air restaurant is really quite pretty. Finally, if you enjoy a good spa, the spa at Xandari is, hands down, my favorite spa in the world. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sptaylor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed just the one night prior to flying home, so don't have an extensive review of the grounds. From the start the service was very good, extremely polite and very good intro to the property and our room. Room had nice wacky designs, and was big and very spacious. Excellent facilities provided in the room, and spotless also. We had to check out the night before and take breakfast with us, so can't comment on the breakfast we would have had. The take away one was ok considering it had to be provided the day before departure. We tried one lap pool, which we felt was cold but was in fact 82 degrees (we were tired!). Jacuzzi excellent at 95 degrees :). Ate in the restaurant at lunch and dinner, service good, although you need to catch the waitresses eye if you are in a rush as it's lesiurely dining. Can't fault the food at all, very nice, and reasonable prices...but take note of the sales tax/gratuity which adds a fair chunk

Overall, not cheap but a great place to catch your breath before heading off home or to the depths of the rain forest

Room Tip: Get a room near the main building (8 thru 12 are good), as you aren't too close to the sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Built on an elevated ridge overlooking Alajuela and with stunning views of the central valley the Xandari was a spectacular place to stay on our first and last nights in Costa Rica. With beautiful gardens dropping away on both sides of the ridge the Xandari offered a lovely peaceful haven with some pretty walking trails through the gardens, a couple of pools, and an outdoor Jacuzzi. The thoughtfully designed rooms are very comfortable, particularly spacious and well furnished with a sunny (and shaded) balcony with views of the gardens and the valley below. The restaurant shared the same view of the valley, particularly spectacular at night, and served excellent breakfasts, tasty lunches and good dinners; all with excellent service. Only a short drive from the international airport the Xandari is the place to stay on arrival and departure from Costa Rica. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berdewelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Sometimes, a Hotel needs a review when you don't stay there. My wife and I have stayed at our favorite hotel, Xandari, quite a few times before and we were looking forward to ending our trip in Costa Rica with a quick stop over prior to our morning flight back home. Sadly, just one week prior to our booked and confirmed stay there, my dear Father in Law passed away. Obviously, all our plans changed immediately and we needed to end our trip to be with family. Even though our stay at Xandari had already been billed to my American Express account, the booking staff at Xandari refunded every penny of the confirmed reservation. I think that speaks volumes for the integrity of this four star resort. If you are planning a trip to Costa Rica, do yourself a favor. Do not miss Xandari. How could you ask for more? A great hotel with a heart.
So unusual in this day and age. Thank you, Xandari. We will most certainly be back.

Room Tip: Every room is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paulandsuenewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I can speak only to the restaurant and attendant staff, since I was staying at Tacacori Ecolodge just 600 meters up the road from the Xandari entrance gate. I made the walk down and up the hill twice and was most glad I did. To start with, the views of Alajuela and the Central Valley from the open-sided Xandari restaurant are fantastic. I really enjoyed the sunset and the lights of the cities below during dinner and the daylight views during lunch. My dinner entree was red snapper Xandari style; it was a generous serving, thoroughly cooked but not dry. The palmito salad and macademia cake were exquisite. The lunch was Taco Alemanda (I would have called it chicken fajitas), with the chicken accompanied by guacamole, black bean frijoles, fresh salsa and tortillas. Nicely presented and, most important, tasty. The service in both cases was very good. I was greeted and seated promptly by a courteous and friendly member of the wait staff who made sure that the dining experience exceeded my expectations. Definitely a place to visit again on future trips to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WYbirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
692 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
3.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £100 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari Resort & Spa offers the quintessential Costa Rica experience. The property’s forest reserve, with five waterfalls and miles of trails for bird-watching, provides the nature guests expect from a visit to Costa Rica. The landscaped gardens, the orchid house, and the farm all provide an additional abundance of tropical goodness. The Spa provides ample opportunity to unwind, to relax, to absorb the surrounding nature. All 24 villas, each uniquely designed and set within lush foliage, have spectacular views. And three times a day, our restaurant demonstrates the role of local cuisine in giving visitors an authentic sense of place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing