We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, Maine
2 reviews
“Outstanding service”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This is a wonderful hotel about 30 minutes from the San Jose airport. Our second visit to this luxury hotel. It has every amenity, but we go for the hiking trails and the wonderful food and close proximity to Poas Volcano and Waterfall Garden. Restaurant has a panoramic open air view of San Jose with birds of every kind and color flying by and feeding near. Rooms are spacious and our particular room was a large circle of windows looking into the forest. Simply beautiful, have never stayed in such a unique room. Shilenne greeted us on arrival, was all smiles, and made us feel very welcome. She also spent time with us to sort out any questions about the area, spent a long time helping us with the map. We had our own car and traveled a bit during the day. Another visit, I would spend more time at the resort as it has beautiful grounds, an orchid house, butterflies and gardens all over. Blue morpho butterflies are fairly common here. Beautiful sunsets from the west side jacuzzi. Twice we had the jacuzzi to ourselves. Non alcohol drinks and bottled water are daily stocked in rooms and free. What a gem of a hotel. Very reasonable restaurant prices. Restaurant servers the best ever. Matilda, Diana, and another waiter who's name I didn't get were cheerful all day long and attending our every need. We had a flight problem and could only stay 3 nights instead of 4. We were given credit for the lost night and were allowed to use the money for any hotel service including restaurant, gift shop, or spa. Xandari was the only hotel that gave us full credit for the time we lost. I am not sure they do this for everyone, but I felt they were most empathetic and understanding to our travel trouble. For a luxury hotel, such a personal feel. If I ever get the chance, I will go back, and if I am lucky, will get the same staff.

Room Tip: I think most rooms here are good. Most have unique outdoor showers. Our villa number 20 was a roun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    148
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
216
420
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Spent our 1st three nights of our 12 night trip to CR at this resort. There are many places to choose from in this area, and I booked this mainly because of a good deal through Luxury Link. Xandari is as good a resort as any Rock, Rosewood or Orient Express resort we have ever stayed at. All it's missing is beach. The views are stunning at night. The property, landscaping, trails and pools are beautiful. Our room was a separate building, the space was large and comfortable. Soft drinks and water are provided everyday, breakfast was not over the top but very nice and included.
We ate dinner there all 3 nights, food was good and reasonably priced, and their house bottle of wine for $20. was excellent. The staff is charming, nice and really kind. What really struck us is how luxurious it is, without being pretentious. No wifi in room but worked well in restaurant and lounge.
If you want to take day trips around the Central Valley, the location is a good jumping off place.
We plan to go back.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you might want to ask for a room away from employee parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UpperWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We only stayed for one night as we had to catch an early flight the next day, but we really enjoyed our stay here.

Room - our room was large and beautifully appointed. The balcony was also large and boasted a fantastic view. The decor might not be to everyone's taste, but the quality of the finish is very high indeed.

Service - the service we received was ok. Though to be honest, we were unable to test the quality of the concierge due to our limited time there.

Food - we had dinner at the hotel restaurant. The food was fantastic and the view of the city was stunning.

We will definitely come back to enjoy the other facilities the hotel had to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iskoolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We arrived here needing some R&R before our journey home, we had tried (but failed!) to see Costa Rica in 17 days! The villas at Xandari are perfect - light, spacious and fantastically decorated with beautiful artwork. Every one has a balcony overlooking the fantastic view (and sunset!) and a little kitchen fully fitted out to make real coffe and have a snack. The pools are fantastic, the West pool is the best, again overlooking the view and a lovely,warm 82 degrees. The restaurant serves really good food, the complimentary breakfast will keep you going for ages. However what really sticks in the mind are the beautiful, fantastical rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My husband and I have been living in Escazu,Costa RIca for a few months.We decided we needed to get away from the city,so we went for 4 days to this wonderful resort/spa.The grounds are absolutlely beautiful.We stayed in villa 22(ultra plus villa).The view is breathtaking.Breakfast is included,and we ate all our meals here.Food was good too.The spa is really pretty,again with views.We talk nature walks,and hikes.There are 3 pools.The one by our villa-the sunset pool was overlooking the valley, and has a hot tub.The people that work here are so nice,and helpful.The owners are artists,and it shows in the beautiful artwork and decorations in each villa.We had our dog with us,(they allow small dogs)and he loved exploring too.Free mini bar(non alcoholic drinks)I know we will come back again,its definitly a place to enjoy and remember.

Room Tip: Try the ultra plus villas.We had villa 22.It has a bedroom,huge living are,and big private porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmmBocaRaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

It is the perfect place in which to start or finish your visit to Costa Rica. It is only 20 mins from the airport but it feels you are in the middle of the jungle. The decor is extremely creative and well-succeeded, the rooms are wonderful and well appointed, food is great, views over the valley are breadth taking and you have wonderful trails in the lodge itself (which you can do on your own or with a guide) where you can see birds, waterfalls and the first class garden that the head gardener has created over the years. Do not miss the chance to talk to him as he is a most extraordinary man who has won a bewildering amount of international prizes for his orchids and yet is extremely modest and prepared to spend time with you showing you his garden.
Don't miss the spa either, particularly the sundown jacuzzi experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I can't rate this hotel highly enough. If you have an early flight, it is only 15 minutes from the airport (20-25 mins during the day), yet the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in a gorgeous mountain setting. Stunning artistic rooms with thoughtful touches like cutlery/plates, free minibar (non-alcoholic) and boxed breakfast for those with an early start. 2-3 hours' worth of attractive hiking trails through jungle & orchards on the premises (though be prepared for quite a few steps!). Excellent food and cocktails. Wonderful pool. Equally perfect for honeymooners and families, and a wonderful place to end (or start) a Costa Rican trip. Easily the nicest hotel we stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABRM05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
674 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
658 reviews
6.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,327 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Property: Xandari Resort & Spa
Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. Long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh, continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing