We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, NC
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Awesome may be one of the most overused words in vocabulary today, but that is exactly what I was thinking as the gate to Xandiri swung open. The entrance to the resort ushers you from an ordinary, somewhat rundown area into a paradise of blooming flowers, plants and shrubs. Had there been water around I would have expected Tatoo to come running out shouting “le plane, le plane” (from the classic TV show Fantasy Island for those of you younger than 50). After traversing the scenic entranceway, you arrive at the main building that includes the check in area and an open air lobby, bar and restaurant with drop dead gorgeous views of the valley below and San Jose. A short walk from the main building takes you to the lodging area, which consists of lovely villas with courtyard entrances and private balconies than open onto the same breathtaking view. Interestingly, the hotel is located such that neither heat nor air conditioning in needed year around. Temperature control consists of opening and closing glass louvers located around the upper perimeter of the room. Outside the room you can hike trails that lead to swimming pools, waterfalls and other scenic destinations, all nestled in more tropical splendor.
A breakfast buffet was included in our package and it was fine. That was the only meal we ate at the hotel so I cannot comment on the quality of the food for lunch and dinner, but the beautiful setting of the restaurant almost guarantees an enjoyable dining experience.
Every hotel has some shortcomings, though, so let me touch on a few. Still thinking……OK, the exterior décor of the buildings was done in an art deco, bright colored design – think South Beach and Miami Vice – which seemed to me incongruous with the natural beauty of the plants and flowers. Also, I found the hotel to be surprisingly noisy. Depending on the direction of the wind, noise from San Jose Valley traffic or barking dogs in nearby towns wafted into the rooms, perhaps aided by the open air nature of the design.
These were small distractions, however, in an otherwise outstanding stay. As a bonus, the hotel is less than 30 minutes from the San Jose airport yet a world apart from the sprawl of the city. So this is an ideal spot for an overnight before flying out or as a base to explore other sights in the area. I’m sure Mr. Rourke and Tatoo would have loved it, and I did too!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trickydnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    151
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
222
425
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Set on a ridge overlooking the Central Valley allows one to avoid the hustle and bustle on entry or exit. The rooms are private, large and comfortable each with a great patio. The grounds and gardens are fantastic! Three pools to choose from. The orchid house is worth the trip on its own. The trails down to the 70' waterfall are a great walk. The restaurant has a spectacular view and the food is good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CostaCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

On 3 of 21 nights mw wife and me went to the restaurant of the hotel - we have not stayed there. The food and the service always was extraordinary. We are looking forward to our next trip to Costa Rica and to our next visit of the restaurant. The view from the terrace over Alajuela is just spectecular.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlBatzino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Absolutely lovely Eco-lodge with a beautiful view of San Jose. Excellent meals, comfortable, spacious, beautifully decorated villas. Very private. Beautiful grounds and views. Three fine pools and two hot tubs. Friendly, helpful staff. Delightful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We love Xandari and return each time we visit Costa Rica. Who wouldn't love it? The hotel, conceived as an homage to Costa Rica from an artistic viewpoint, is beautiful, very comfortable, and excellently managed.
The hotel is perched atop a hill overlooking a large valley where the San Jose Airport is located. At night, the lights from across the valley offer an evening's entertainment.
We have managed over time to stay in most of the types of villas available and find all of them to be wonderful. Just this past week, we returned and stayed in an "ultra" villa - pretty extraordinary!
The restaurant at the hotel offers a variety of dishes with many of the ingredients grown by the hotel's farm using organic methods. Delicious!
Staff members go out of their way to be helpful. Being recognized and greeted warmly by the staff helps us to feel connected.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Gorgeous artwork and color abound in the lush tropical gardens of this resort. The room itself is private, very spacious, and gorgeous with spectacular view of the valley and city lights at night. We fortunately canceled all of our excursions so we could enjoy the property itself. Good idea. We spent our time here walking through the beautiful foliage and enjoying the exotic flowers, the happy artwork everywhere, and getting some good exercise from the hills. The staff and service equalled the beauty of the surroundings. Restaurant was excellent as was the service. Restaurant atmosphere was so lovely, could have sat there all day. Loved every minute here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4travelingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We wished we could have spent longer in this fantastically sited hotel. The individual villa was superb with wonderful views and everything you needed for a comfortable stay. There was a significant uphill walk to the main building but a life was available on request. Good well-cooked food at reasonable prices: an interesting and quirky shop: well-tended gardens. A warm welcome and good service.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite a distance from the main building and down a significant hill which is an unwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
680 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
666 reviews
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Property: Xandari Resort & Spa
Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. Long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh, continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing