We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xandari Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2008

This resort exceeded all of our expectations. We couldn't turn down a cheap flight to Costa Rica, even if it meant we only had four days to spend there. Because of our time constraints, we decided to stay in the Central Valley. Xandari was the perfect choice for our needs.

William (we love you!) picked us up at the airport, so we didn't have to worry about getting a taxi or finding our way to the Xandari on our own. Upon arriving at the resort, we were upgraded to a beautiful Ultra Villa. The architecture is astounding! The room was open and airy. There were four of us in our villa, and we had more than enough room to relax and spread out. The complimentary water and sodas was perfect for our needs.

We booked two tours through the hotel, and it couldn't have been any easier to do so. We decided to go to Poas and do the zipline tour; both are well worth it.

My husband and I also hiked the trails on the resort property; this experience was probably the most memorable of our trip to Costa Rica. We felt like we were in the middle of the jungle; we saw more watefalls than people on the trails. We loved it so much that we hiked the trails twice. Remember to take a walking stick with you!

Food at Xandari is affordable and delicious. There is an herb garden on the property that, I assume, is used to help create the freshness in all the dishes we ate. Among the four of us, we pretty much covered the entire menu, and I can't think of anything that wasn't exceptional. A dinner will cost you about $10 per plate. Meals that stood out include: the tower of health (free for breakfast) and the sea bass.

Lastly, I want to thank the entire Xandari staff for being so accommodating when one our group members was injured. She actually broke her ankle, which can be a scary thing to happen to a person in a foreign country, but the Xandari staff was welcoming and helpful as can be.

  • Liked — Food, location, view, convenience
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Shellshocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    146
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
205
411
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2008

Put simply, Xandari is a wonderful resort which is very individual and is tranquility itself.

We stayed here on two separate nights, and were simply blown away with the quality of the room in particular, which was beautifully designed with a high, sweeping ceiling, with panoramic views over San Jose. The hotel is also set in substantial gardens which are well landscaped and make for a lovely pre-breakfast stroll.

The one thing that we really liked about this resort is that there isn't the blatant profiteering that we encountered on some of our other resorts in Costa Rica. Bottled water came free of charge in our room, and the restaurant meals were reasonable in value and excellent in quality.

And by the way, the complimentary coffee in the room is not to be missed and was the best of all the hotels we stayed at. You can buy it bigger packs in the hotel lobby.

  • Liked — Design and location of the resort
  • Disliked — We can't find fault.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank davyjcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2008

Xandari in Alajuela is convenient to the International Airport. We stayed one night on our way to the Osa Peninsula, and it was fabulous. Our Prima Plus villa was spectacular, and I cannot imagine needing anything nicer, or more private. There is a lush garden between units and the villa opens to a terrace with a private view of the gorgeous valley. Other favorites were the barrel ceiling and open bath/shower with private gardens. The detail in design was truly amazing. There is a small frig/kitchen with complimentary soda

We were able to explore the gardens in the afternoon, but there is much more to see. It was rainy season, and a downpour limited our time outdoors. Fortunately, the clouds & rain cleared, and we had a night time view of the valley to die for.

We hope to return and spend 2-3 nights. I would suggest you book some Spa treatments ahead. We hoped to visit the Spa that afternoon, and they were completely booked.

One more thing: Xandari provided free transport from SJO to the resort! Much appreciated.

  • Liked — The terrace/view.
  • Disliked — Inability to get some kind of spa treatment on short notice.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank suzygd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

this was the best property on our trip. Everything is first class, especially the friendly staff. Some great day trips near by and the on site hiking trail is a great hike to several waterfalls. The restaurant and spa prices were very reasonable compared to the other locations, it is close to the airport yet a world away.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2008

this place is fabulous for a couple of nights. we stayed 2 nights on arrival in costa rica for or honeymoon. the room blew us away with beautiful original art, immense ceilings, fantastic bathroom and amazing views from the terrace over the central valley. the waterfall trail we took in the early morning and didn't see another soul, aside from butterflies and lizards. the gardens are truely beautiful and a great introduction to what flora costa rica has to offer. we found the service be impecable and the 'tower of health' for breakfast unmissable. we would return.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2008

We decided to go to Xandari while we were already in San Jose, stuck at a lousy hotel in the city proper for two nights before our homebound flight. It was the best decision we made the entire trip, and I loved every minute of my stay at Xandari.

The only downside? It's location. I can't wait to visit the new Xandari on the Pacific coast!

  • Liked — So much space, such great service, so well designed and decorated!
  • Disliked — Besides hotel-organized outings, not much to do--San Jose is bleak.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caribegil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north of Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2008

We were very lucky to be able to get a room at Xandari for our last night in Costa Rica. We had been travelling about and wanted to be close to the airport. I had checked the website and really liked what I saw.

First off it is a little hard to find. We had almost given up when we finally saw it. But, from the secure entry to the resort until we left the next morning, we were well taken care of. We only wished that we could have spent more time there.

I definately felt that the staff here, all of them are well trained and understand how to treat a guest. From the gentleman at the front desk who checked us in and escorted us to our room, to the wait staff who served an absolutely fabulous meal at dinner, the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The food was amazing, by far our best meal in Costa Rica.

The room - well what can I say? Stunning, and every little thing has been thought of. An umbrella at the door, waiting for you in case it rains, a beautiful outdoor style shower (but indoors), comfortable beds, a collection of great novels, wonderful spa-type amenities. Note - there is no air-conditioning, and normally this would be an issue for us - but here in the hills of Alajuela it is cool in the evening, and the villas are designed to allow a cross breeze through. IT was actually chilly in the middle of the night and I was glad there was extra comfy blankets in the armoire. Loved all the original art. Loved the beautiful gardens.

Can't wait to go back someday and use the spa.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tripdesigner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
8.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
3.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Property: Xandari Resort & Spa
Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. Long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh, continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing