We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful but cold” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xandari Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful but cold”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Beautiful landscaped hotel.

Pros:
* We had our own private bungalow with terrace and pool right next door.
* The rooms are clean, the bedding allergen free.
* The restaurant is great. They make and grow their own food so can take allergies into account).
* The walk to the waterfalls is recommended.
* The views are beautiful.
* The staff is very helpful.

Take into account:
* We went early December and it gets cold. There is no heat (or AC) in the room and it got cold at night (50F). Make sure to take layers.
* The pool and hot tub were cold. Hot tub temperature was only 90F.
* The whole room was glass and there are no window treatments so we woke up very early with the sunrise.
* You will be far away from shopping and there is no store to buy snacks etc. The hotel room comes with free fruit, juice and water. There is beer and wine in the room (which cost a little more).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allergictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    146
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
205
410
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

My room was spacious and luxurious. The views of the central valley are unparalleled. The grounds are beautiful - the waterfalls are worth the hike. It's a very green hotel, they grow most of their own fruits, veggies, and have chickens for eggs. The decor is classic Latin american. love it!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I went here as part of a ladies retreat and it was perfect. I had a bad back and had a reflexology massage and it worked wonderfully. The food at the restaurant was great and the view was amazing. Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Whilst I had 6 hour layover, I decided to relax @ Xandari Spa. Everything was amazing there! From the nicely trimmed landscape to the beautiful restaurant over looking the countryside while beautiful butterflies & exotic birds fluttered around. However, the spa hut was the cream of the crop. I got my own private hut with a open jacuzzi which also overlooked the countryside. Although it was out in the open, I felt it was completely private and safe. The massage was just simply divine and not to mention the staff were just so accommodating and friendly. Thank you for giving me a great head start on my vacation! This is what I imagine what a paradise getaway should be!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tila-theTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delray beach, fl
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The prior reviewer stole a lot of my thunder thankfully, saving me from a lot of typing! I second every one of his positive comments and agree that Xandari is an absolute treasure that should be experienced first hand. I do, however, have a couple recommendations for those visiting this beautiful resort to hopefully maximize the experience.
1. Bring binoculars..... the view is fabulous from a far but just as intriguing through binoculars.
2. Bring a warm sweater or jacket, the breeze at night has a chill and the rooms don't have heat
3. Buy wine/spirits at the Duty Free shop in SJO airport, the patio is paradise with a glass of wine!
4. Don't miss the spa. My husband described his massage with Conrad as the most amazing massage of his life! (He went back 2 nights later and had another massage with Conrad!)
5. Bring bug spray, they're really not bad but you'll need it on the trails down to the waterfalls and on the patio at night.
6. Go with peace and relaxation in mind. Costa Rica is filled with kind, happy, soft spoken and peaceful people.
7. You will not need Colon while you're there.....the dollar is accepted EVERYWHERE!
8. If you can afford it, go for a higher grade room. We stayed in #5 and #16. Room #5 had a slightly wider view than 16 and was a stand alone. The balcony was bigger on #5 and it had a radio/CD player which we thoroughly enjoyed.
9. Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper. The rain banging on the roof kept my husband awake and the country has tons of noisy scooters that seemed to only come out when we were trying to go to sleep. (Only reason sleep quality was only a 4-star)
I'd also like to speak to a couple of the negative comments posted by previous reviews that initially gave me pause when planning this trip. (So, so, so lucky I trusted the majority of reviewers!)
1. The artwork around the property and in the rooms can only be described as happy and fits perfectly with it's glorious surroundings.
2. The complimentary continental breakfast is more than adequate and if you require a "hot meal" treat yourself to the eggs or pancakes which are beyond reasonably priced.
3. Not worth the price- Where else can you get an 600+ sq/ft villa with hypnotic views and endless up close and personal interaction with nature for this price????
4. Food: You're in Costa Rica..... not Texas.... Take advantage of the fresh fish and heavenly fruits. The SO FRESH Xandari salad with the citrus vinaigrette dressing was sublime!
5. If you were bored on this property it would simply mean one of the following; the inability to totally relax, laziness or incurable boredom!
In summary Xandari is an immaculate property both inside and out that can't be described. Don't think twice about treating yourself to this slice of heaven. The staff and owners obviously put a lot of thought into the details and thrive on making the guests happy. (By the way, I would have given the rooms 5-stars but I thought the inside seating, especially the couch was very uncomfortable) If you're expecting the plushness and amenities of a 5-star Ritz Carlton, don't come to Xandari because you'll totally miss the point.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms down by the spa are far from reception/restaurant, some may prefer that but we lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveladdictjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I visited Costa Rica for the first time and stayed at Xandari Resort in October 2013, primarily based on previous TA reviews. I was not disappointed at all, and if anything, Xandari exceeded my already high expectations. I stayed at Xandari for 8 nights at the beginning of my trip (villa #16), and then another 4 nights at the end of my trip (villa #7)...pure heaven both stays! The views of the Central Valley (Alajuela and volcanoes in the distance) from the private patios were amazing, and I could have happily spent my entire vacation just sitting out there.

However, there were so many activities and places to see in the area, that most days were spent exploring, both on foot and by car. The hiking in the hills right at Xandari was incredible, and the waterfalls on the property were definitely worth the hikes I did each day. By car, I visited the Zoo Ave in nearby Alajuela, did the coffee plantation tour at Doka Estates, experienced the zip line canopy tour near Volcan Poas, visited the actual Volcan Poas and hiked the trails there, and went to the very large farmer's market on Saturday in Alajuela. All of the activities above I consider to be a must-see!

The transportation provider for Xandari (William) was excellent, and became my primary mode of transportation even when staying elsewhere in Costa Rica on my trip - I highly recommend, as William was dependable and an excellent guide as well. The restaurant at Xandari was fantastic, with great whole foods, many of which were grown right on the property. And last but not least, the staff was amazing, from Alex, Juan, Christian, Carol, and others (hope I spelled all names correctly!), they made both of my stays memorable ones, and made me feel so at home at Xandari. When I return to Costa Rica, Xandari will hold a permanent place on my itinerary!!

Room Tip: I have only stayed in villas #16 and #7 so far, but both were excellent and unique in their own ways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
541 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a gem of a property not too far from the airport. Lots of time has been spent landscaping and creating walking trails around the property. The view from my room was spectacular. I liked the architectural style of the rooms, which are all situated in a private manner. The only reason I did not give it a "5" is that it is outrageously expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heyjudithz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
8.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
3.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Property: Xandari Resort & Spa
Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. Long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh, continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing