We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are back again...and each time we enjoy it more...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
220 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“We are back again...and each time we enjoy it more...”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

So this year would be the third time we have begun and ended our Costa Rica vacation at Xandari. It is that perfect. I always phone reservations and speak with Lucy who handles the booking so efficiently and emails the confirmation. Seems like each time we get a different type of villa but honestly they are all private and the newer ones out by the sunset pool (21-27) are a bit of a walk from the restaurant but it is really nice out there. They all have extraordinary views. Highlights are the restaurant with very good food and service for all meals, the spa which has to be experienced to understand how good the therapists are and the beautiful open air huts( I highly recommend Vera and Mabel) . Xandari has been booking tours in the area and transfers within the country with Ruta Verde for many years. Both William and his father Don Jose are professional and love to share stories about their country with their passengers. I would recommend that if you need any transporation within Costa Rica you ask Xandari to book it with Ruta Verde. We hope to stay longer next time at Xandari and explore the area around the hotel with some of their tours . Alajuela has some of the nicest weather in the country. If you like to swim you will enjoy their pools which are just the right temperature and there are three of them. Even if the hotel is fully booked it feels like your own private paradise. I recommend taking some time to walk to the waterfalls...so peaceful and inspiring. I highly recommend a stay at this hotel...you won't want to leave. I tend to like to try new hotels and not just repeat the same ones but Xandari is the exception. There is sometime about this place that lures one back.

Room Tip: villas 21-27 are near to the spa and really private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    148
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
214
418
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delaware
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This resort and spa located within a half hour of San Juan airport and is a great way to start or end a trip to Costa Rica. We ended our trip to the Osa Peninsula with three relaxing days at Xandari. We enjoyed hiking to the waterfalls on the beautifully, manicured grounds. The gardens captured the diversity of flora in Costa Rica. The staff at the spa facility was friendly and the atmosphere very relaxing. We enjoyed all our meals at the restaurant. The complimentary breakfast provided lots of variety and we especially enjoyed the fresh squeezed juices and delicious fruit. Our room was very spacious and comfortable ant the view of the city was amazing. The staff arranged for drivers for our excursions and they were knowledgeable and courteous. It was a great way to end our journey in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
225 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Luxury and beauty located high in the hills overlooking the central valley where San Jose lies. About 2500 feet above the city. The views are great during the day, spectacular at night with the city lights. Units Units 21 through 27 are newer and better. Loyal staff, some there for the entire 14 years this place has been open. The grounds remind the visitor of being in a botanical garden. In addition, they have their own orchards and vegetable gardens for their restaurant. The breakfast buffet is one of the best, plus offers a la carte items. The orange juice, made from fruit from their orchards, is fantastic. Dinner at the restaurant was very good. There is a hiking trail down the hill to some waterfalls. Waterfall #4 is the one to see, 70 feet high and even acoustically interesting as the water strikes the cliff at an angle rather than directly into the pool of water, making a deep pulsating tone. However, this is a bit of a hike, with over 400 steps to get down, and then of course 400 to get back up. Worth it for the fit hiker.

Room Tip: Recommend units 21 through 27.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked this for 2 nights on arrival, to recover from the long flight before our 14 day 6 centre trip around Costa Rica - it was perfect. Close to the airport but in the hills with relaxing surroundings.

It takes just 20 mins from the airport - ideal as our flight arrived late at night. [It is also on the way to Poas Volcano].

We had a deluxe cottage which was stunning. Lots of room, two Queen beds, great views. Coffee maker and fridge provided. Large walk in shower (no bath).

Breakfast and food great, catering well for vegetarians. Note that breakfast starts at 7am but if you have an early start they will do you a breakfast box (fruit, muffin).

The grounds are lovely - we saw lots of birds. There are several walks including 5 waterfalls - we hiked to the furthest one which is quite a climb back up, but good exercise.

There is also a lovely spa - we both had 1.5 hour treatments which were lovely. Each spa room has its own Jacuzzi that you can book as well - there is even a couples room.

Its worth noting that as this property is in the hills, it can get chilly at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerbilsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The cottage was very comfortable and beautiful. The staff was extremely helpful.
Our view was spectacular. It was great to spend the morning sipping coffee and enjoying the view of mountains, volcanoes, and San Jose.
The pool was definitely my favorite place! Swimming there you feel a bit like a celebrity on the hills of Hollywood ☺ The hikes were fun, relaxing but also provided some cardio. I would definitely recommend staying there for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martusia9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

As many others seemed to do, we booked this hotel for 1 night before our early flight out of San Jose. But this hotel deserves more than just 1 night. We which we could have stayed longer.

Rooms are massive. We had a basic room. But nothing was basic about it: spacious, big terrace with fantastic views, 2 sunloungers. Coffee maker, fridge with drinks. It was fantastic.

Staff: Carol at check in is wonderful. All waiting staff ar lovely.

Food: great, some of the best we had on our trip. Lovely house wine too.

The property: oh my!! We hiked down to the waterfalls. Gorgeous. I added 3 more species of birds to my list. Great views
3 pools!

Some of the reviewers think this place is expensive. I cannot think of a place in the US if that level for 300$. In the US, hotels like these hover around the 500$ mark. So I think 300$ is a fair price.

It is a 20 minute drive to the airport. I cannot think of a better space to stay near SJO.
Thanks so much Xandari!

This was the last hotel on our 15 night self drive tour. If you have any questions about our trip or the hotels, please do ask.

Room Tip: Ours , number 16, was a basic room and still fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A quick detour from a business trip which meant i could escape to Costa Rica for a couple of days for a rest...2 nights in a beautiful mountainside resort complex recommended by business colleague who booked everything for me through their local office.

Well-designed and somewhat garishly colourful (though unique) individual villas laid out with privacy and views over the city in mind. Design was 'interesting' though a lot of nice touches... owned and designed by the architect owner. Breakfast was superb...

It was a microcosm of still-ness up in the mountains.....spent one day just exploring the countryside and the trails. Had a great rest! Exceptionally comfortable bed meant i slept for hours... really comfortable quick stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ummar69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#3 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
6.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Property: Xandari Resort & Spa
Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. Long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh, continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing