We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Xandari Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$166
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Rosa de America(Alajuela)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$65
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$78
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mi Tierra(Alajuela)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveller rating
724
172
33
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
724
172
33
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking trailscentral valleyinfinity poolorchid housesan joseprivate jacuzzicosta ricaoverlooking the valleybright colorscoffee plantationour honeymoontwinkling lightsbeautiful groundsrooms are hugebefore flying homepoas volcanolonger stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
413 - 418 of 943 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stopped here for our last night in Costa Rica on our way back to the airport in San Juan. Facility was outstanding and the spa was incredible! The architecture was wonderful, even IN the rooms, and the grounds are amazing. Treatments we received at the spa were first class luxury in private little cabana style huts open to the view in front with a Jacuzzi in each one. Staff all spoke excellent English. Mabel and Gary in spa were awesome. I would have spent more nights here had we known what we know now. They were very helpful with airport transportation, too. Thanks!! My sister and I amazed at the property.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffMcMillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

So this year would be the third time we have begun and ended our Costa Rica vacation at Xandari. It is that perfect. I always phone reservations and speak with Lucy who handles the booking so efficiently and emails the confirmation. Seems like each time we get a different type of villa but honestly they are all private and the newer ones out by the sunset pool (21-27) are a bit of a walk from the restaurant but it is really nice out there. They all have extraordinary views. Highlights are the restaurant with very good food and service for all meals, the spa which has to be experienced to understand how good the therapists are and the beautiful open air huts( I highly recommend Vera and Mabel) . Xandari has been booking tours in the area and transfers within the country with Ruta Verde for many years. Both William and his father Don Jose are professional and love to share stories about their country with their passengers. I would recommend that if you need any transporation within Costa Rica you ask Xandari to book it with Ruta Verde. We hope to stay longer next time at Xandari and explore the area around the hotel with some of their tours . Alajuela has some of the nicest weather in the country. If you like to swim you will enjoy their pools which are just the right temperature and there are three of them. Even if the hotel is fully booked it feels like your own private paradise. I recommend taking some time to walk to the waterfalls...so peaceful and inspiring. I highly recommend a stay at this hotel...you won't want to leave. I tend to like to try new hotels and not just repeat the same ones but Xandari is the exception. There is sometime about this place that lures one back.

Room Tip: villas 21-27 are near to the spa and really private.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This resort and spa located within a half hour of San Juan airport and is a great way to start or end a trip to Costa Rica. We ended our trip to the Osa Peninsula with three relaxing days at Xandari. We enjoyed hiking to the waterfalls on the beautifully, manicured grounds. The gardens captured the diversity of flora in Costa Rica. The staff at the spa facility was friendly and the atmosphere very relaxing. We enjoyed all our meals at the restaurant. The complimentary breakfast provided lots of variety and we especially enjoyed the fresh squeezed juices and delicious fruit. Our room was very spacious and comfortable ant the view of the city was amazing. The staff arranged for drivers for our excursions and they were knowledgeable and courteous. It was a great way to end our journey in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Luxury and beauty located high in the hills overlooking the central valley where San Jose lies. About 2500 feet above the city. The views are great during the day, spectacular at night with the city lights. Units Units 21 through 27 are newer and better. Loyal staff, some there for the entire 14 years this place has been open. The grounds remind the visitor of being in a botanical garden. In addition, they have their own orchards and vegetable gardens for their restaurant. The breakfast buffet is one of the best, plus offers a la carte items. The orange juice, made from fruit from their orchards, is fantastic. Dinner at the restaurant was very good. There is a hiking trail down the hill to some waterfalls. Waterfall #4 is the one to see, 70 feet high and even acoustically interesting as the water strikes the cliff at an angle rather than directly into the pool of water, making a deep pulsating tone. However, this is a bit of a hike, with over 400 steps to get down, and then of course 400 to get back up. Worth it for the fit hiker.

Room Tip: Recommend units 21 through 27.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked this for 2 nights on arrival, to recover from the long flight before our 14 day 6 centre trip around Costa Rica - it was perfect. Close to the airport but in the hills with relaxing surroundings.

It takes just 20 mins from the airport - ideal as our flight arrived late at night. [It is also on the way to Poas Volcano].

We had a deluxe cottage which was stunning. Lots of room, two Queen beds, great views. Coffee maker and fridge provided. Large walk in shower (no bath).

Breakfast and food great, catering well for vegetarians. Note that breakfast starts at 7am but if you have an early start they will do you a breakfast box (fruit, muffin).

The grounds are lovely - we saw lots of birds. There are several walks including 5 waterfalls - we hiked to the furthest one which is quite a climb back up, but good exercise.

There is also a lovely spa - we both had 1.5 hour treatments which were lovely. Each spa room has its own Jacuzzi that you can book as well - there is even a couples room.

Its worth noting that as this property is in the hills, it can get chilly at night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerbilsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews