We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Xandari”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Xandari”
Reviewed 3 September 2008

This place is unreal! The rooms are spacious, modern, very clean, with large balcony overlooking the valley and san jose - I couldnt sleep at night because I kept waking to watch the dazzling view! Shower is huge and feels like one of those external rain showers! Complimentary water, soft drinks, juices, biscuits in the fridge (nice change!). Hotel restaurant is well priced with decent menu and amazing view. The resort has a its own rainforest with huge waterfall if you are up for a 1.5 hour hike. The spa is so relaxing and not overpriced (compared to Sydney prices). Each treatment is in a private hut with straw roof and rainforest view - I highly recommend the chocolate indulgence followed by a jacuzzi. We stayed here for 1 night and moved on to Arenal. Should have based ourselves here the whole time and done day trips!! If you are tossing up staying in San Jose, give it a miss and stay here instead.

  • Liked — View was amazing. Staff were very helpful. Umbrellas made available to guests. Spa was great. It was like an eco lodge - made their own shampoo, coffee etc.
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSusann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    148
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
214
418
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2008

Xandari is a real haven, within 20 minutes of the airport and yet with the feel of being at a country retreat. On our first stay, we stayed in a standard villa, which we found spacious and comfortable, with a terrace and panoramic view. On the second stay, we upgraded to the palm leaf roof villa (no.20). This is an amazing structure - almost feels like a cathedral inside its vast roof. The room is circular, with glass windows almost all the way round, and is great for watching the birdlife. First impressions were great, but in fact we slept extremely badly. Light sleepers should be aware that it faces towards the noisier side of the resort. An assortment of dogs were yapping and barking in chorus during the night, and kept us awake for many hours. In addition, the fact that there were no curtains or blinds to draw meant that you are sleeping in what feels like a goldfish bowl, with distracting security lights shining all around. The bed is placed in the centre, to benefit from the view, but there are no reading lights. Since the whole structure is only dimly lit, it is difficult to read. We wished we had stayed in the original villa!

However, apart from this unfortunate choice of villa, everything else went exceedingly well. The restaurant is not particularly speedy in service, but the food is fresh, imaginatively presented, and served in a discreet and highly professional way. And of course the view of the valley below is spectacular.

The grounds of Xandari are simply wonderful. Take time, after going on the waterfall trails, to wander through the sculpture gardens, with their fantastic display of colourful flowers and shrubs, which attract butterflies and humming birds.

We would definitely wish to return to Xandari on a future occasion, and perhaps spend longer just relaxing and walking those wonderfully appointed trails.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ridges012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, CA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We had never been to Costa Rica, and so relied on a family member for a recommendation. Xandari was a great call. The flights land in darkness, so having the Xandari driver, Jose, pick you up is a great call. I cannot imagine trying to find the resort in the dark the first time you visit!

The staff checked us in immediately, and we were driven to our villa by golf cart, so we didn't have to schlep our bags, nor did we have to pull the car around and unpack and repark. The villa we booked was their Prima Plus, which meant we got a stand alone villa with a big room, containing two large queen beds, a sofa that could easily sleep one, a desk, and a small kitchen area with a refrigerator, a sink, and counters. The room has huge glass windows and doors overlooking the view of the Central Valley (Valle Central), which was all lit up and gorgeous. There was also an enormous bathroom with two sinks and the longest counters you've ever seen, with a large shower open to the private garden behind the villa. The toilet itself was separate, so the room obstensibly could be used by the whole family.

The grounds are incredible. There's a fabulous garden with all kinds of tropical plants. There's a spa, which we didn't use, but looked to have all kinds of relaxing treatments at reasonable rates. The restaurant prepares a complimentary breakfast, a buffet if the guest count is sufficiently high, or brought to your table if there are relatively few guests, as happened once in our 6 night stay. They also have other items available if you don't want their buffet items. The restaurant also has terrific food for lunch and dinner and the waiters were terrific and attentive, especially to our children.

There are two pools, although one was being rebuilt when we were there. Since it was the "down" season, or green season as they call it, that was absolutely not a hardship. The open pool was wonderful and large, had plenty of seating and a hot tub. The view from the pool is fantastic.

The grounds also have a set of trails that take you to waterfalls. Some climbs are quite steep, but they have easier trails that you can choose. There's also a small farm, with lots of chickens, a couple of goats, and a greenhouse.

The location is central to a lot of things to explore, like the Poas volcano, the Doka coffee plantation, and La Paz waterfall gardens. The resort can arrange tours for you, or provides a parking area if you rent a vehicle. They will xerox maps to show you how to get to a place you want to go, and are incredibly gracious.

I wanted to consult with a doctor regarding a small wound my child had, and the staff called a doctor who paid a visit to the hotel for a $60 fee. Antibiotics were prescribed and delivered for a mere $12. Incredible. The staff really helped me turn a stressful situation around.

I loved this resort and would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sunbunny31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2008

Hotels should strive for the excellence that Xandari delivers. From the moment you step onto the property, you feel inspired and relaxed. They're committed to the environment, community and the animals all while providing an extraordinary experience. Be sure to take the time to walk the property and learn about the history of Xandari.

  • Liked — Committment to the environment
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garfield3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2008

Our family (mom, dad, 2 teenage girls) stayed here for one night before leaving for home upon the recommendation of a friend. It's close to the airport but feels a million miles away. We stayed in 5 places during our CR visit and this was the only resort-type place. We were upgraded (I think it was a Villa Plus) and our rooms were w. We didn't have much time here but did make it to one waterfall and just gorgeous with never-ending views of Alajuela. We had a wonderful lunch with fresh interesting food overlooking the viewere really struck by the careful planning of the lush and interesting gardens (and this is saying something in lush CR!). We were really looking forward to dinner after our lunch but were very disappointed by overcooked shrimp, dry and overcooked chicken, and coconut rice with everything, including my shrimp prepared with tomatos and garlic (horrible combo). What happened? Breakfast was OK but not particularily interesting unless you ordered off a menu (for extra cost). Nice pool and spa; both heated. We would consider coming back for an adult relaxation vacation.

  • Liked — Interesting, beautiful, private
  • Disliked — Terrible dinner
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Very litle new to add to previous reviews except to say that our experience was consistent with others. The grounds of the place are amazing, staff friendly and courteous, villas huge and positioned beautifully overlooking the city. You won't believe you are 20 minutes from the airport. A stay here combined with some days at their sister resort on the Pacific will give you the best of Costa Rica and a longing to return as soon as possible.

Both resorts were so much more than we expected that we ended up cutting tours short so that we could return to the hotel to soak up the atmosphere and relax.

bravo Xandari

  • Liked — grounds
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fbcscottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Gated, secure, well-planned, perfect for people with disabilities, great views of the central valley, clean, spacious, sense of privacy, good food, pleasant attentive staff, relaxing, exterior grounds that flow right into the interiors of the villas and right back out again. These are just a few of the reasons we liked Xandari. In the off-season, early June, we were able to walk in first thing in the morning (7:30am) and have a choice of Prima villas for later in the week. It’s one of several places in and around Alajuela that make for easy access to SJO at the start or the end of a trip to Costa Rica. It was also centrally situated for our jaunts to all the volcanoes, gardens, plantations and other sights in and around San José and the valley. Even Cartago and the Orosi valley loop was an easy drive away. Our large ceiling to floor windows opened onto a balcony that was bliss for morning coffee, for afternoon tropical downpours or for winding down and gazing at the glittering nighttime panorama of lights in the distance below. There were trails and waterfalls on the property, if we wanted to explore them; there were menus of spa treatments, if we wanted to indulge. We didn’t do either since we already had our list of things to do and see elsewhere. We still felt it was worth the stay. In the hills the days are warm and the nights cool—by the middle of the night I wanted to pull up a light blanket. Nice. We came to understand the meaning of the Costa Rican central valley ‘eternal spring.’

After a morning and early afternoon of touring our way up from Manuel Antonio, stopping for delicious ‘comidas tipicas’ in nearby La Garita, and getting settled into our villa, the skies absolutely opened up in late afternoon. The deluge went on for hours well into the night. The way the rain hit the roof of our villa, it produced a soft aural massage that made for one of the most relaxing evenings and best nights of sleeping in a long time. The entrance to the villa had the feel of entering our own home, like our own address. A locked gate opened into a patio area before the front door. Inside, the expansive room was before us and the shower/bathroom area to the left of the entry was sectioned off by a curving wall. The tall glass doors in the shower/bathroom opened wide (we chose to open them) right back into the patio area giving the feel of washing and showering outdoors. Since the patio walls were over ten feet high and the entry gate was angled away from any direct view in, complete privacy and discretion was still maintained. Pretty ingenious. Not bad for the lowest priced tier of accommodations they offered. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nypuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
6.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Property: Xandari Resort & Spa
Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. Long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh, continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing