We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to end a Costa Rica Trip......feels like home:)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Great staff.....we are repeat visitors......the staff all greeted us and we recognized many of them from previous visits........Always so kind and caring........we travel with two boys ages 8 and 11 and they are very attentive to them.......Christian brought them blankets on a cool afternoon at dinner......We did a hike with Jose and it was wonderful....so patient with boys and knowledgeable and made it an interesting hike.......The villa #25 was fabulous, clean and comfortable.......great beds.......Visited the spa and not disappointed......Thanks for a great stay and so close to the airport........great way to end a trip in Costa Rica.....Beautiful place, Beautiful people......Pura Vida Exemplified!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I spent an amazing week at Xandari with 20 other people visiting Costa Rica for a wedding. From pre-arrival assistance with excursion selection to welcome impromptu property tours; from soulful spa experiences to fresh and delicious meals every single day, my time at Xandari was memorable in every way. The employees provided service that was consistently five star: Jose, Alex, Alejandro, Konrad, Lucy and their colleagues are truly committed to making guests feel like their needs are priority and delivering above expectations every single time. The bride and groom were also very pleased with everything from beginning to end. The guest book in the lobby includes reviews from guests who have been returning to Xandari for as long as 16 years. After my experience, I completely understand why. I do plan to visit Xandari again and I am very much looking forward to it. Xandari and the wonderful team there can make your travel desires possible. I confidently recommend this resort and spa.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarzetaBodden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The first two nights of our Costa Rican holiday started at this lovely Hotel and what a place to start. set in the hills above San Jose. Very friendly staff, delicious food served in a dining area with open views to the surrounding countryside beautiful at night.. Lovely comfortable villas set in beautiful grounds. A lovely Spa area and several pools set in different areas so that no one is too far from one. Lovely walks to a waterfall through orange groves and landscaped gardens........We spent our last night here too a great way to end our wonderful tour of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jumierah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Xandari and it was glorious. The villas are stunning, the food lovely, the staff fantastic,the swimming pool fabulous and the grounds amazing!! The view overlooking the central region was so beautiful and we hope one day to return. After our stay there, we headed south to the Manuel Antonio area and although our hotel was fine, it didn't compare AT ALL to Xandari and we kept comparing everything.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view and apparently each one is a little different. We had #26 and liked that it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sr328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Like many hotels in Costa Rica, you arrive through a security gate. They should call the guard St. Peter because this hotel is heavenly. It is situated on a hill with acres of landscaped tropical grounds with trails throughout. There are 3 swimming pools, one called the sunset pool where you can sit and watch the sun set. There are also 3 km of walking trails.
You get 2 keys to your room. One key is for the gate into the gardens outside your room and the other to the room itself. The reason why the garden area is private is because the wall of the shower is glass and you can see the garden right from your shower. The toilet is in a separate smaller room. The room has a small sink and mini fridge. The soft drinks and the small snacks in it are free. You pay for any alcohol that you drink from the fridge.
The sleeping area has a king sized bed, built in bookshelves and a sofa and chairs. The far side of the room opens to a large balcony with a table and chairs and two lounge chairs. The view from the balcony is of the valley below. In the distance you can see Alejuela and the planes landing in SJO airport.
There is a small restaurant with good food in the lobby which also looks out over the valley. There is a conference room on the property in another small art studio. The decor throughout is modern.
We were part of a tour group that stayed for 2 nights in Xandari. We were all in awe of our accommodations. You have got to see it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WintersR4beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We arrived somewhat frazzled in the dark after a 15 hour journey and a 20 minute drive from the airport and were taken to a villa with a vast room with attached bath shower and toilet area, huge bed and lots of lounging space. Bright Californian style decor, works of art by one of the owners Picture window overlooking the central valley, lit up at night, with total privacy. Natural air flow which needed investigation of adjustment to cut out draughts. We were too tired to go to the restaurant so had room service which was brought to us by an extremely kind and motherly waitress, just what we needed.
The following morning we called a golf buggy to take us some distance uphill through the beautiful botanical garden to the main building. Very good breakfast choice with same caring waitress with a view over the valley. Very helpful front desk staff who directed us to a walk through the grounds to a waterfall and back to our room. we had an excellent lunch and a walk through the artists studio with more attractive pictures by the owner then a siesta followed by a massage in the spa,whiich we had been charmingly sold by the delightful and amusing receptionist. After an excellent dinner an early night
The following morning early I was taken for a birdwatching walk by Jose from the front desk. we saw clearly nearly 30 species in about an hour.
We left shortly after breakfast.
It was the perfect start to a wonderful Costa Rica holiday and we would have happily stayed a couple of more days at Xandari

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zachariah15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Hard to explain how superb this place is. It was our second visit and was even better than the first, which we found hard to believe. Our villa (23) was paradise. The courtyard, the balcony, the view down to the lights of San Jose, the colorful interior, well, just everything, was perfection. The gardens on the property are just exquisite and the waterfalls hike was thrilling. Lucy, at the front desk, was so friendly and helpful. It was one of the highlights of our entire trip. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: The stand alone prima plus villas are heavenly in all ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmgMatthewsNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.3 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,881 reviews
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £102 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari Resort & Spa offers the quintessential Costa Rica experience. The property’s forest reserve, with five waterfalls and miles of trails for bird-watching, provides the nature guests expect from a visit to Costa Rica. The landscaped gardens, the orchid house, and the farm all provide an additional abundance of tropical goodness. The Spa provides ample opportunity to unwind, to relax, to absorb the surrounding nature. All 24 villas, each uniquely designed and set within lush foliage, have spectacular views. And three times a day, our restaurant demonstrates the role of local cuisine in giving visitors an authentic sense of place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing