We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A very colorful resort surrounded by a beautiful gardens. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The spa experience was wonderful. There are several private jalapas where you can get a massage and sit in hot tubs that are exposed to the outside views of the mountains and the city below.
The rooms were nice but our stay was at the beginning of the rainy season so there were a lot of bugs. My room smelled a little of bug spray in some areas. But I wasn't in the room that often anyway and the overall experience was really nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Surrounded by a coffee plantation far above the hustle and bustle of San Jose, this idyllic, architecturally designed hideout is perfect for relaxing and enjoying fine food. We were picked up at airport and had a rental car delivered to Xandari the following day. A couple's massage under the hatched roof parlor became hypnotic as the afternoon rain beat a lullaby. The peace and tranquility is almost "tent and tree-like" with convenience of "plumbing and power". Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We only stayed in one room and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxtrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I have been privileged to visit the Xandari on three different trips to Costa Rica. I have stayed in a different type of villa each trip. In my two most recent trips, I had the opportunity to stay in the Star Villa (when traveling as part of a group of 4) and the round Jalapa when traveling alone. In short, the Xandari is the perfect destination when you need beauty, peace or a break. The rooms are lovely, the walking paths and hikes are inspiring and the spa is a delight. The good at the restaurant is healthy, delicious and varied. Are all of these delights why I return to the Xandari? No! I return due to all of the above plus the friendly, authentic and caring staff. It's like coming home.

Highly recommended for families, couples and solo travel.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank eakcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Beautiful boutique hotel located in the mountains above Alajuela (15 minutes from the airport).
The place has spectacular views of the Central Valley and the mountains. Nice gardens. Very nice Spa . Take the trails to the waterfalls, they are worth the trip. Three swimming pools one of then allows you to watch sunset. The design of the bungalows is very nice, they are always cool even without A/C. The place is ideal to relax, recharge your mind and body and enjoy the views.

Room Tip: The villas in the north side have a more expansive view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever seen. It was like nothing I had ever seen before. The villa where we stayed (23) was decorated and designed like something out of a magazine. We were in awe the entire time we visited. The staff was excellent, the food was excellent, the guided hike was excellent. There are no words to describe how wonderful this place was. Very eco friendly as well. WE LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: villa 23 was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philaexperiment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed one night. The windows in our unit were left open with no screens. We came home from dinner to fly beetles and others on the floor and bed.

The staff was great.

Bad way to finish a wonderful trip to Costa Rica.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Carp_on_Sandyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Xandari and had a great time. We loved the sunset pool that overlooks the city. The tree planting was a special touch- a must for families! A very good variety of birds on the many trails on this beautiful property. Very close to the airport which was helpful when our flight was delayed. A superb choice for you first night in Costa Rica. Can be a bit noisy at night with mopeds and birds in the early morning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaborFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
709 reviews
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
710 reviews
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £104 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari Resort & Spa offers the quintessential Costa Rica experience. The property’s forest reserve, with five waterfalls and miles of trails for bird-watching, provides the nature guests expect from a visit to Costa Rica. The landscaped gardens, the orchid house, and the farm all provide an additional abundance of tropical goodness. The Spa provides ample opportunity to unwind, to relax, to absorb the surrounding nature. All 24 villas, each uniquely designed and set within lush foliage, have spectacular views. And three times a day, our restaurant demonstrates the role of local cuisine in giving visitors an authentic sense of place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing