We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE OF EST RESORTS IN CENTRAL AND OSUTH AMERICA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ONE OF EST RESORTS IN CENTRAL AND OSUTH AMERICA”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

terrific, quiet, elegant, creative, perfect service, large and varied property, only complaint is the internet was unpredictable and occasionally difficult,
not an Amnon but close. Food was good, but not varied enough day to day.
spent a delightful week.

Room Tip: all rooms spacious and bright with a small kitchen, great bath, desk and sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard w c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    151
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
224
425
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This turned out to be a high point of our trip to Costa Rica we really enjoyed the grounds and the environmentally from the actions that the managers have taken at the facility although the orchid garden is less than you might expect you see far more flowers bird and wildlife on the grounds then you expect to see the trails are easy to talk and are fun to fold have a great time exploring the city and main I have the opportunity to go anywhere else to see what you want to see of Costa Rica

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed three nights at the beginning and one night at the end of our CR trip. It was perfect in all points. At the frist part of our trip we stayed at Villa 24 which is close to the Spa. It was amazing. It was a bliss to relax at the terrace and watch the fantastic views. I used Spa two times. The small huts where they make the treatments and the treatments were great. My therapist was Jackie. She was so good that I booked her again on our return trip. The restaurant is small, but fine. The service was always good and fast. We had two times dinner at the hotel and both were delicious. Breakfast is also very good. Another highlight is the grounds. I made the trails at the hotel and the plantation & flowers are so beautiful, I quess I made more than 100 photos within Xandari`s grounds. The west trail takes more than an hour and the way is not always easy. The west pool has a fantastic views and it was absolutely a bliss to swim in it. Another highlight were the tours which hotel organized for us. We made Poas Volcanoe, La Paz Waterfalls, San Jose and transfer to and from Manuel Antonio. We had a great driver, Alejandro. We were so satisfied with him that we asked for him each time. At our return we stayed at Villa 18. It was also very nice. The whole stay was so good, after Xandari experience we were very disappointed in Manuel Antonio. I also would recommend to spend some days in Central Valley. There are so many things to do & to see. It is a pity that it is advised to skip San Jose or not to spend much time in Cnetral Valley. Xandari is much more than to spend just one transit night. If we visit Costa RIca again, we will for sure stay again in Xandari and we recommend it.

Room Tip: Villa 24 & Villa18 botha are very nice. We would still perefr villa 24 because it is on the west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aygen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I stopped here for a quick 1-night stay before departing from San Jose airport, but during our 12-hour visit, we were well taken care of! The staff was very friendly, even during check-out at 4:00am. The reception staff had a boxed breakfast and hot coffee ready for us at our departure and a friendly golf cart driver helped us with our luggage. We had some minor frustration regarding the restaurant; when we checked in, we asked if needed to make a reservation to dinner, to which we were told "no, you'll be just fine to walk in and sit down," however when we arrived for dinner, all of the tables were full. We had to wait about 30 minutes before a table was free, though the staff offered to serve us drinks while we waited. Once seated, the service was delightful and the food was delicious. We enjoyed a "Funky Monkey" for dessert, which was a scrumptious treat! Our villa was beautiful with a view that truly can't be beat, and we wished we could have had another day or two to enjoy the grounds and pools, which looked incredible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed one night after a 2 week Costa Rican vacation with my wife and 3 kids. Fabulous gardens throughout. The food was fantastic....some of the best flavors we tasted during the whole trip. The villa had a wonderful view to San Jose and they were very accommodating with our kids. Couples 90 minute massage was divine. Felt very safe and secure. Looking back, we wish we had booked this hotel for our first night in Costa Rica. After a long day of travel, the last thing you want to do with tired kids is hop in the car for a 3 hr ride. Next time, we'll stop here first and recharge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Set out driving with my boyfriend without any real destination. It started pouring. And I mean rain forest pouring. We suddenly saw a sign that said Xandari hotel and it was raining so much we could barely drive so we decided to look for the hotel and spend the night.
Never did we imagine finding such an amazing place in the middle of nowhere.
We didnt have a reservation but they were able to accommodate us in a very nice room. Room was spacious and decorations was incredible.
Bathroom was semi-open and just amazing.

Dinner was pretty good, and then we sat around the TV area in the main room with other guests for a while.

We had an early breakfast surprised by the amazing view and numerous birds that came close to us.
As trip was not planned I wasn't dressed for the occasion but the grounds seemed so pretty we went on several barefoot walks .

Afterwards we sat on the room terrace and relaxed for a while.

Only thing he missed (I did not to be honest) was an in-room TV.

We definitely plan to go back with proper shoes and clothes to go hiking and swimming.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RacheliuxC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just spent two wonderful nights at Xandari to wrap up a 10 day Costa Rica vacation. Xandari is a gem nestled in the mountains above San Jose, with beautiful grounds that contain an exceptional diversity of plant life. Its tranquil gardens, homemade food, and kind staff made our stay truly memorable. Hats off to Matilde, Diana, and Alexander, who are a joy in the main restaurant, as well as to Conrad who is a master of massage at the spa. Highly recommend Xandari for persons who enjoy a laid back, artsy, and personalized vibe without the superficial flashiness.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryeguy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
681 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 26 in Alajuela
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
667 reviews
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Property: Xandari Resort & Spa
Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. Long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh, continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing