We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beyond amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This place is amazing. The views, the garden, the staff, the pool. everything was exceptional. Fursure, the most beautiful hotel i have ever stayed in. If you go you should def do the adopt a tree program. You get to plant a tree in the hotels garden and they send you pics every year . My boyfriend and i were in awe the whole time. They have fruits, veggies and herbs growing all over the resort. We even got to pick some veggies from there green house and made a salad in our room. def our favorite part of our costa rican trip. Well worth the $$$.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    147
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
210
414
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san antonio, texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Beautiful rooms with lots of artistic touches. Breakfast had quite a few touches, but several of the breads seemed stale. Enjoyed a massage at the spa--the price was fairly steep. Dinner was quite good. The grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamishmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at Xandari for 2 nights at the end of our honeymoon. Xandari far exceeded our expectations. The reception staff was warm, friendly and personable. The actual hotel is the most interesting and unique place I've ever stayed. I felt as though I was in a home- the inside and outside of the villas are so beautiful and interesting, and that is before you even take in the view. The view of the valley and the mountains is absolutely breathtaking. We loved the sunset pool. We each had a massage and it was awesome. The prices were very fair and the massage was in a private palapa overlooking the valley. We ate at the resort for all of our meals and thought the food was reasonably priced and the staff was very attentive. Xandari was an incredible experience. They manage to incorporate the beautiful plants, trees and flowers into the entire resort in a way I've never seen. Wifi in the main building was adequate and forced us to disconnect while in our villa. I highly recommend Xandari to anyone considering it- you will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We should have stayed one more day. Great views, good walk. Their vegetable garden is exceptional. Only problem is wifi. But it is good to have no wifi and TV in rooms. Kids had good time with pool and hike.

Room Tip: All their rooms have unique plan. wifi is very spoty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajendra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a very unique property that deserved a longer stay than the two nights we had allowed at the end of our trip. As you drive up from the city you may wonder if the GPS is correct; it does not seem plausible that such a resort could be waiting around the next bend. However, when you reach the manned gate and drive through, you have entered another world. The grounds are vast, heavily gardened, and have more botanical trails than we could get around to walking. Three pools and two hot tubs.

The view of San Jose from the restaurant is absolutely stunning, and to my surprise we had the same view from our villa (I think most of the villas do, though a few may be garden view according to other reviews I have read). The Prima Plus villa we stayed in was unexpectedly spacious and beautifully designed, lit, and decorated. Lots of private terrace space and whimsical curves throughout the architecture. It featured an undulating tongue and groove wood ceiling, curtains than can be closed to separate king bed area from the living area, a small dining table, desk, and wet bar. There was a large walk-in shower with brightly colored tile and a decent shower head and water pressure. A pair of guest robes was supplied as well as plenty of towels. There is no air conditioning but it wasn't needed at all, at least not in August. There are louvered glass transoms for cross ventilation or you can just open up entire walls without much concern for security since there is a lockable garden fence outside the villa.

The breakfast may be listed as "continental" in places like hotels.com, but trust me it is nothing like a Holiday Inn Express continental. Lots of fresh fruit that was grown on the premises, bagels, muffins, breads, cheeses, sliced luncheon meat, yogurt, cereal, coffee, juices, hard boiled eggs. Basically everything but hot eggs, hot breakfast meats, or hot pancakes (all of which are available via the extra cost menu, although to be honest I never even looked at it as I missed none of these things.).

Next time we will book time just to spend on the hotel property, and hit the spa for a massage.

Note: I always read the negative reviews first and often find it difficult to reconcile the poor,reviews with the overwhelming number of excellent reviews. In this case I think it boils down to two things: the price paid and the service received. We were in the green season and paid nowhere near the $400/night some negative reviews paid. We also had excellent service, and if we had not then my own review would be less glowing. I can comment that Internet in the villa,was fine, I had no desire or expectation for a TV in the villa, and they do NOT sit all guests at one big table in the restaurant as one reviewer complained mentioned was the case when they visited. I would agree that it is time to retire the tube TV in the common area though.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RareFloridaNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here for our last night in Costa Rica as a bit of a 'treat' and we were not disappointed. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly although the front desk was a little undermanned as we had to wait a while to checkout whilst the receptionist was discussing some tour arrangements with another guest. The pools and jacuzzis are clean and well looked after (one was a bit chilly for a softie like me). The views over San Jose from the infinity pool and restaurant are fantastic, particularly at night (there was a thunderstorm over the mountains in the distance which made for a spectacular backdrop). The restaurant is excellent with the buffet breakfast outstanding. So much locally grown tropical (and other) fruit to choose from! And the shop is suprisingly good value for gifts etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Of the three fine places we stayed in Costa Rica, Xandari was the most special. From the botanical trails, waterfalls, farmed foods, herbs, and even fresh eggs from their own chickens, to the stunningly beautiful rooms, and views, this place is truly extraordinary. The staff couldn't have been ore gracious, warm and helpful. We wished we had planned more nights at Xandari.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
6.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Property: Xandari Resort & Spa
Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. Long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh, continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing