We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We just returned from staying at Xandari on out last night in Costa Rica and I was completely impressed. Our taxi driver found the little oasis and we were warmly welcomed at check-in with the best fruit smoothie I've ever tasted...walked to our room (we had the mid-level priced villa of the three levels) which was just lovely, very private, full of color and interesting art pieces, well-appointed and very clean. The grounds are immaculate, beautifully landscaped and groomed...until you go on the waterfall hike, and then you get into some beautiful mini-jungle along a well-kept path that is cut into the hills (313 steps coming back up!). The swimming pools are so peaceful, the views gorgeous...great little gift shop with locally crafted pieces of which I purchased several...the restaurant has a killer view, day or night, of the city of Alajuela and a bit of San Jose. The menu is quite varied, very reasonably priced, they have a full bar, and the food was delicious. My 8-year-old son had stuffed mushrooms that he is still talking about, my boyfriend had super sea bass and I had a Costa Rican upscale taco plate with terrific homemade guacamole, open-faced homemade chicken tacos. The complimentary breakfast spread in the morning was also fabulous and fueled us for our hike, followed by a soak in the hot tub before we, unfortunately, had to hop into the complimentary car and get a ride to the airport. Our next visit to Costa Rica will be planned around another stay at Xandari.

  • Liked — Stunning, well-kept, great atmosphere, great dining
  • Disliked — We only had one night to stay there!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    148
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
214
418
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We visited both Xandari properties during our recent visit to Costa Rica. Although our experience in the Pacific hotel was excellent, I can not say the same for this location. I was disappointed with the quality of service in Alajuela, especially when compared to the level of service we enjoyed at the Pacific hotel. We found most of the personnel to be polite, yet not engaged. A significant lack of attention to detail was ever present when dealing with the staff.

The view from our room was excellent, and the room itself was large, nicely appointed and comfortable. I can see why some people can overlook some of the hotel deficiencies, just by focusing on the room view.

The food on the restaurant was very bad. Some of the dishes were offered at both hotels. Several food selections that were great in the Pacific location, were terrible in Alajuela. The complementary breakfast, other than the fruit, was inedible (tasteless breads, the most acidic OJ I have ever tasted).

The front desk staff seemed to be lost at times. We consulted the staff twice (to confirm a hotel tour, to confirm the New Year’s menu) and on both occasions we were given incorrect information.

The layout of the growing hotel is very spread out. Our room was over 300 meters away from the pool, the restaurant, and the reception area over a very steep hill. You can call for someone to pick you up in the hotel’s golf cart, but we opted to move our car. Please note that our room and those nearby (#21 thru #25) are close to the road leading to the hotel entrance and several local homes. If there is any noise from these neighbors you will hear it at these rooms. We stayed at the hotel during the New Year’s holiday, so we had to endure firecracker noise, smoke and loud music for 3 of the 4 nights. I would imagine this can be a problem mostly during the holiday season.

In summary, Xandari – Alajuela falls short of the premium boutique hotel it markets itself to be. They only need to look at their sister property near Jaco to see their shortcomings.

  • Liked — The view from our room was amazing!
  • Disliked — Lack of attention and coordination by the staff.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Troy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary AB
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We decided to spend our New Years Eve in the Central Valley to check out the fireworks that we knew would be going on. We couldn´t have chosen a better spot to splurge. For one night, this place is definitely worth it.

The view is beautiful from each of the rooms (we were in number 7) and you have a little patio, where we ate room service.. had chicken stirfrys and apple pie with ice cream for dessert. The food was pretty good but my friend´s chicken in his stirfry was burnt unfortunately. They provide sodas, juice, cookies and bottled water complementary in the little mini fridge and there are utensils, plates and cups available for guest use. Really awesome.

The rooms themselves are gorgeous, very modern and very beautiful. High ceilings and wonderfully decorated. The bathroom has a HUGE vanity area and the shower opens up to the outside courtyard with huge glass windows. Be forewarned, the bathroom (shower included, toilet not included) does not have a door to close so privacy is only more or less in these rooms. Not sure if they´re all the same.

The breakfast was really nice as well, you are able to order a la carte items for extra cost, but they have smoothies, yogurt, fruit, granola, muffins, egg casserole, toast and jam and the likes. You can order eggs and whatever else if you want them.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Inability to close the bathroom door
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank adrianacarmela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2008

A group of five friends celebrating a 40th birthday stayed at Xandari our last night in Costa Rica and WOW was it a wonderful experience.

This is NOT a Conrad or Intercontinental. This is a local, green, active lifestyle luxury accomodation. We were in Costa Rica to enjoy nature and stayed in Corcovado with no electricity in huts. You must walk a lot, maybe even uphill and with your own flashlight. This was staying in line with the overall theme of our green, nature-focused visit - but while also being able to order champagne in the room.

The views are spectacular, the rooms are huge and easily accomodate large parties. If you are wanting to "walk to town" or party with the locals, this is not a good match for you. If you want to hike, eat a delicious made-from-scratch local breakfast, do yoga, have a massage, swim, then sit on your balcony watching the sunset, this is the place to do it!

  • Liked — The view, the room, the food
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxTraveler1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

My husband and I stayed at Xandari for five days this month and had a mixed experience. Our stay was generally pleasant, but we were surprised at how poorly the hotel is run.

Arrival and Check-in: This was by far the low point of our stay and was handled so poorly that we seriously considered looking for other accomodations. After the driver delivered us safely to the hotel, there was no one at the hotel who spoke English. The front desk was not staffed after 10:00, so there was no one to contact when, five minutes after arriving in our room, the power went out and left us stumbling around in complete darkness until about 9:30 the next morning(assuming our phone had worked, which it did not). We were not even able to call family at home to let them know we landed safely. Later, we learned that the electricity had gone out earlier that day, so the hotel management knew about the problem and the possibility that the electricity may go out again. Given that the hotel has no generator to deal with such a contingency (which speaks to how badly the hotel is run and how little thought has been given to emergency contingencies and guest comfort), someone should have been there all night to monitor the situation and deal with the power outage when it occurred. Although the manager assured us that the owner would speak to us about our concerns and he did arrive during our stay, he did not talk to us or address the problem at all.

Tours: The tours were a high point of our stay even though the weather did not cooperate. William, the guide who works with the hotel, was incredibly knowledgable and helpful in planning our excursions. The excursions are a bit expensive but are much more reasonable when we were able to share them other couples, which we very much enjoyed. William is outstanding, and we highly recommend the excursions.

Grounds: The hotel grounds include some very nice hiking trails, but the pools are both pretty bad. Dirty and not at all comfortable. Also, the lighting is completely inadequate after dark. We needed to walk up the hill for dinner in nearly pitch black conditions, which did not feel safe at all. I know Xandari is a green hotel, but I am surprised their insurance even allows for such unsafe conditions. We had to resort to riding to dinner in a golf cart, which should not have been necessary and is certainly not green.

Staff: The staff was very pleasant and helpful, particularly Johanna at the front desk.

Room: Our room was lovely and had a beautiful view. Although there is no turn-down service, the room was kept quite clean and comfortable.

Food: The food is okay. We appreciated the vegetarian options and the reasonable prices. Restaurant service is also excellent.

Spa: The spa is really beautiful and unique and was a high point of our stay.

Overall, I would say that Xandari is a nice hotel. The owner/ management just needs to think more about guest safety and comfort.

  • Liked — Beautiful views and great staff.
  • Disliked — Uncoordinated management.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank curlyjoeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2008

Stayed at Xandari our first and last night in CR. Great room - spacious with views from everywhere. Staff were very accommodating. We arrived late. They knew that in advance and advised us to order dinner for our room. We arrived to three dishes, plus they give you a fresh fruit plate and some drinks for free.

Food was outstanding and menu prices were very reasonable.

Staff were extremely helpful.

Xandari has this awesome trail on the property, a tough hike down but you get to see some waterfalls including one that must be over 100 feet high. Hike back up is tough too.

Location is good and bad. It's on the way to the Poas volcano (which was also very nice), but if you're driving yourself, it can be tough to find your way here. Not the fault of Xandari - there is some bad signage in the city of Alajuela. If you're being driven or if they pick you up (which they will), then no problem.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — directions
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wredlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2008

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for one night to treat ourselves (this was outside our budget) and it was certainly worth it. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and come with huge balconies with spectacular views. It feels more like an apartment than a hotel room. The decor is quirky but very appealing. The restaurant again has great views at night and excellent food. The Spa was really great, and again you have to rub your eyes when your massage is over when you see the view. Our only regret was that it poured rain most of the time we were there which meant that we didn't get to walk the trails, see the plantation or visit Poas volcano.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Homesick_Alien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#3 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
6.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Property: Xandari Resort & Spa
Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. Long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh, continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing