We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a TREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Staying here was a fabulous experience. The room was big, beautiful, had an amazing view and was extremely comfortable. The grounds were also beautiful and filled with fruits and flowers. It was magical to sit in the jacuzzi and watch the sun set. The food at the restaurant was YUM, YUM and very fresh - as were the drinks. I recommend the strawberry daquiri. We stayed here by accident, on our last night in the country, after we couldn't find the hotel we were planning on staying at. It's close to the airport, although you would never know it because it's very quiet and peaceful.

When we stayed there in late April, Xandari wasn't very crowded and they were open to negotiation on the room rate, as this was a little outside of our budget.

It was a wonderful experience and a great way to cap off our visit to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooklyn32Alli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2009

We decided to splurge a little on our first night in Costa Rica. We chose Xandari based on past reviews and were not disappointed! The hotel offers a free hotel pick up, which was great. You would not want to drive here at night! The hotel staff had contacted us by email because we were arriving late at night, to pre order some dinner, which we did. Turned out, we were a little early, so we ate in their lovely restaurant. Food at Xandari is all fresh (much grown on their beautiful property), and absolutely delicious! My teens said breakfast there was the best meal in Costa Rica! We loved our room (beautifully decorated, flowers, mosaics), the art and colors are a feast for the eyes. The staff could not have been more wonderful. They drove us to and from our room and the pool at night in a golf cart, so accomodating. The views are amazing, the property is amazing--there are waterfalls to hike to. You could easily stay for several nights here and do many day trips. I think the room I booked was one of the less expensive categories, and it was beautiful! I would return in a heartbeat! We also stayed at the sister property, Xandari by the Sea, and loved it just as much. I am very fussy about hotels, and both Xandaris are top notch! We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanfran58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Xandari was truly amazing!
Went for 3 nights for my honeymoon, and was thrilled with this choice. The views of San Jose are fantastic and it is in the perfect location to use as a base to see Poas volcano, coffee plantations and San Jose.
The room was very large, with king size bed, sitting dining area, large shower room and large balcony with view of San Jose valley.
The restaurant was very nice, if a little draughty in the evening, and staff there were fantastic (especially one of the waitresses Matilde who greeted you every morning with a cheerful Buenos Dias).
Lots of trails into the gorgeous grounds where you will see waterfalls along with all the spectacular flora and fauna that Costa Rica is blessed with!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireNewcastle_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

We stayed at Xandari on our final afternoon/night before heading to the airport the next day for a series of long flights home. The grounds are beautiful, though a bit treacherous to get around at night if your room is far from the restaurant.

My teens and I had a nice hike the next morning to the various falls, and played in the rocks at the bottom. Bring your camera and some bug spray. And we had a great time playing cards after dinner on the beautiful restaurant balcony.

But we were glad we were staying there only one night as the ultra plus unit had no ceiling fan so that we needed to keep our windows open. This was a problem as dogs in the town were barking all night long, waking us every hour. The beautiful but loud birds wake up at 4:30 so our morning started much earlier then expected. And the boys' room had a floor to ceiling window (very cool view) with no curtain so the brightness had them up by 5:45 as well. Given that we had a long day of flying ahead of us, we weren't ecstatic about the lack of sleep.

The decor and construction is very sleek and contemporary, but not the most comfortable for a family in need of slumber.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeannemag2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

We spent two nights at Xandari Resort & Spa. Aside from a bit of a rocky start (after checking in, we were told our bags would be delivered to our room, but they were just left on a trolley outside the reception area and we eventually had to retrieve them ourselves), we found the hotel, the property and the people to be delightful. Location was especially attractive for us because our flight to San Jose arrived at noon and the hotel is so close to the airport that we were able to get there and settle in for a half day of real vacation. Despite its proximity to the airport, the grounds are such that the feeling is very much one of being away from it all. We stayed in Prima Plus room 15, which was large comfortable, quiet and offered a great view. The grounds were wonderful -- beautiful landscaping near the rooms and, further out, great hiking trails of differing degrees of difficulty (a prior reviewer felt that the trails were "showing signs of wear", but these are wilderness trails and by comparison with others I have hiked, they were very well maintained). The waterfall views (especially the highest one, which is on the most challenging trail), were lovely. If you are a bird-watcher, you will love this property. The food was good, not great, but plentiful and reasonably priced. We did not take any of the day trips because we were only staying for two days . We felt that this was an adequate amount of time to enjoy the hotel and the grounds and to get acclimatized to Costa Rica. Having signed up for the combined Xandari package -- Resort and Spa and then Pacific, the hotel arranged a shuttle drive between the two (with a very charming and accommodating driver who knew where the best birding sites were along the way and stopped to allow us to check them out). All in all, we very much enjoyed both Xandari properties and had an excellent vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adanacsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

It is nearly a year since we visited and I still read the reviews and remember our
wonderful stay there. As many guests have said it is a perfect arrival/departure hotel as the courtesy collection is a great bonus. It also also easy to visit nearby attractions such as Paos. You need to get there early to get a clear view of the volcano and Xandari can arrange this for you. Still remember the wonderful reception from the staff, whatever the time of arrival, w were greeted as old friends. Lovely experience.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

we spent our first 2 nights and our last night at Xandari, being less than 30min from the international airport, it's the perfect location. It's a very relaxing & quiet resort set amidst stunning botanical gardens, wild orchids and trails leading to waterfalls. The rooms are huge and nicely decorated. Complimentary soft drinks & cookies much appreciated. The ventilation 'au naturel' worked so well we actually had to close the small windows at night as it was a bit too chilly for us. The pool was lovely (no chlorine). The staff were very good and organised transfers for us without any glitch. The only downside for us was the 'musak' they played in the restaurant (the same CD over and over again) and the food should have been better for a hotel of this standard. But overall a lovely eco-friendly resort, perfect for starting/finishing your trip.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
709 reviews
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
710 reviews
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £104 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari Resort & Spa offers the quintessential Costa Rica experience. The property’s forest reserve, with five waterfalls and miles of trails for bird-watching, provides the nature guests expect from a visit to Costa Rica. The landscaped gardens, the orchid house, and the farm all provide an additional abundance of tropical goodness. The Spa provides ample opportunity to unwind, to relax, to absorb the surrounding nature. All 24 villas, each uniquely designed and set within lush foliage, have spectacular views. And three times a day, our restaurant demonstrates the role of local cuisine in giving visitors an authentic sense of place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing