We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Xandari Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$137
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Rosa de America(Alajuela)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Robledal(Alajuela)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (945)
Filter reviews
945 results
Traveller rating
725
173
33
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
725
173
33
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking trailscentral valleyinfinity poolorchid housesan joseprivate jacuzzicosta ricaoverlooking the valleybright colorscoffee plantationour honeymoontwinkling lightsbeautiful groundsrooms are hugebefore flying homepoas volcanolonger stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
699 - 704 of 945 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Staying here was a fabulous experience. The room was big, beautiful, had an amazing view and was extremely comfortable. The grounds were also beautiful and filled with fruits and flowers. It was magical to sit in the jacuzzi and watch the sun set. The food at the restaurant was YUM, YUM and very fresh - as were the drinks. I recommend the strawberry daquiri. We stayed here by accident, on our last night in the country, after we couldn't find the hotel we were planning on staying at. It's close to the airport, although you would never know it because it's very quiet and peaceful.

When we stayed there in late April, Xandari wasn't very crowded and they were open to negotiation on the room rate, as this was a little outside of our budget.

It was a wonderful experience and a great way to cap off our visit to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooklyn32Alli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We decided to splurge a little on our first night in Costa Rica. We chose Xandari based on past reviews and were not disappointed! The hotel offers a free hotel pick up, which was great. You would not want to drive here at night! The hotel staff had contacted us by email because we were arriving late at night, to pre order some dinner, which we did. Turned out, we were a little early, so we ate in their lovely restaurant. Food at Xandari is all fresh (much grown on their beautiful property), and absolutely delicious! My teens said breakfast there was the best meal in Costa Rica! We loved our room (beautifully decorated, flowers, mosaics), the art and colors are a feast for the eyes. The staff could not have been more wonderful. They drove us to and from our room and the pool at night in a golf cart, so accomodating. The views are amazing, the property is amazing--there are waterfalls to hike to. You could easily stay for several nights here and do many day trips. I think the room I booked was one of the less expensive categories, and it was beautiful! I would return in a heartbeat! We also stayed at the sister property, Xandari by the Sea, and loved it just as much. I am very fussy about hotels, and both Xandaris are top notch! We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanfran58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Xandari was truly amazing!
Went for 3 nights for my honeymoon, and was thrilled with this choice. The views of San Jose are fantastic and it is in the perfect location to use as a base to see Poas volcano, coffee plantations and San Jose.
The room was very large, with king size bed, sitting dining area, large shower room and large balcony with view of San Jose valley.
The restaurant was very nice, if a little draughty in the evening, and staff there were fantastic (especially one of the waitresses Matilde who greeted you every morning with a cheerful Buenos Dias).
Lots of trails into the gorgeous grounds where you will see waterfalls along with all the spectacular flora and fauna that Costa Rica is blessed with!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireNewcastle_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

We stayed at Xandari on our final afternoon/night before heading to the airport the next day for a series of long flights home. The grounds are beautiful, though a bit treacherous to get around at night if your room is far from the restaurant.

My teens and I had a nice hike the next morning to the various falls, and played in the rocks at the bottom. Bring your camera and some bug spray. And we had a great time playing cards after dinner on the beautiful restaurant balcony.

But we were glad we were staying there only one night as the ultra plus unit had no ceiling fan so that we needed to keep our windows open. This was a problem as dogs in the town were barking all night long, waking us every hour. The beautiful but loud birds wake up at 4:30 so our morning started much earlier then expected. And the boys' room had a floor to ceiling window (very cool view) with no curtain so the brightness had them up by 5:45 as well. Given that we had a long day of flying ahead of us, we weren't ecstatic about the lack of sleep.

The decor and construction is very sleek and contemporary, but not the most comfortable for a family in need of slumber.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeannemag2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

We spent two nights at Xandari Resort & Spa. Aside from a bit of a rocky start (after checking in, we were told our bags would be delivered to our room, but they were just left on a trolley outside the reception area and we eventually had to retrieve them ourselves), we found the hotel, the property and the people to be delightful. Location was especially attractive for us because our flight to San Jose arrived at noon and the hotel is so close to the airport that we were able to get there and settle in for a half day of real vacation. Despite its proximity to the airport, the grounds are such that the feeling is very much one of being away from it all. We stayed in Prima Plus room 15, which was large comfortable, quiet and offered a great view. The grounds were wonderful -- beautiful landscaping near the rooms and, further out, great hiking trails of differing degrees of difficulty (a prior reviewer felt that the trails were "showing signs of wear", but these are wilderness trails and by comparison with others I have hiked, they were very well maintained). The waterfall views (especially the highest one, which is on the most challenging trail), were lovely. If you are a bird-watcher, you will love this property. The food was good, not great, but plentiful and reasonably priced. We did not take any of the day trips because we were only staying for two days . We felt that this was an adequate amount of time to enjoy the hotel and the grounds and to get acclimatized to Costa Rica. Having signed up for the combined Xandari package -- Resort and Spa and then Pacific, the hotel arranged a shuttle drive between the two (with a very charming and accommodating driver who knew where the best birding sites were along the way and stopped to allow us to check them out). All in all, we very much enjoyed both Xandari properties and had an excellent vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adanacsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews