We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great way to begin and end your travel in Costa Rica....and”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
220 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“A great way to begin and end your travel in Costa Rica....and”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

actually staying here a few days would be great too. This is our second visit to Xandari and both times we stayed 2 nights prior to leaving for other destinations in Costa Rica and one night prior to returning home. The villas are beautiful, private and all have excellent views. Comforts are all there and service from the staff very helpful. Restaurant very good...breakfast buffet with many selections and such a setting looking over the city of San Jose in the distance. Dinners were great too. Spa setting wonderful but they rent the jacuzzis by the hour and the noise from that palapa sort of ruined my massage...get a palapa not near the jacuzzi. Three pools and for a person that loves to swim they are quiet and temp just right. Don't miss the new one with a view that is unbelievable. It is out near about 3/4 new villas. You have your choice of totally private free standing villas or side by side and either way you really have all the privacy you could want. They pick you up at the airport and take you back. Apart from enjoying the pools there are hiking trails leading to waterfalls, exotic flowers everywhere and just being on the property is so relaxing. I highly recommend Xandari just outside of San Jose to anyone seeking an unforgettable experience. They also arrange any trips that you want from there.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    147
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
210
414
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY and PR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2010

I stayed here as a solo traveler within a bike tour and was blown away by the views, trails, and vegetation. The rooms were huge and the artwork magnificient. I walked all of the well-maintained trails and was delighted by the waterfalls. The setting is remote and up a "mountain" but the hotel is well-run by an eager to please staff and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Wireless internet was only in the main building, not the individual rooms, which would have been nice. The views from all of the rooms was of the mountains and the city beyond.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

especially wanted to comment on William and Jose as the recommended drivers for the resort. they were great. in Costa Rica it is all about transportation. you are often in the car for 3+ hours getting from one site to the the next. white water rafting, San Jose to the Pacifica, etc. so this is a essential service. be sure to ask the hotel about the airport transfer and how to best use these drivers

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west orange nj
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

My husband and I travel very often and love 5* hotels that are luxurious unique and gorgeous. This hotel is my very favorite. The villas are so large, homey, elegant,artistic and perfectly situated in every way. We could not get over the grounds with their paths for walking and hiking, nature, waterfalls, pools etc. The restaurant was fantastic for breakfast lunch and dinner, healthy delicious and well priced. I 100% recommend this destination hotel if you go to Costa Rica for 1 night or your whole vacation.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vivianWestOrangeNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2009

First time being at the Xandari for my fiance and I. We read some of the reviews before hand and were not sure if it would be exactly the same.

Some new improvements from other guests remarks:
- the beds are not hard anymore they have mattress padding and are quite nice
-almost all the windows have drapes to block out the sun, they also provide night masks at reception
-there are 3 pools now, the 3rd is at the far end and right against the cliff overlooking San Jose and a second jacuzzi is there too. It's an amazing view.

Loved:
The spaciousness and cleanliness of the room
Friendly staff
Beautiful gardens and property
The waterfalls and hiking trails on-site
Beautiful spa rooms and a great massage!! Highly reccommended
The view of San Jose
Great resort drivers
It wasn't very busy with guests and we had lots of space to ourselves

Not So Great:
Getting lost in Alajuela trying to get to the hotel, reception giving generic directions and not from the road we came in on, after 12 phone calls and much frustration they sent a cab to lead us up to the impossible to find resort way in the hills of Alajuela.

The vegetarian food is not that great, luke warm or cold and for the price the portion sizes are ridiculously small. Having to order 3 appetizers and 3 entrees for 1 couple to get enough to eat and extra rice is a little excessive (and we're a thin couple) Suggest not serving such small portions of rice and gallo pinto, it comes out cold in the small mold. Red cabbage and lettuce are not ingredients for a stir fry. Pita chips were cold and rock hard and barely edible. The "baked" potato ENTREE was 2 boiled white baby potatoes... ?? The pizza could be cooked more and came out luke warm. When asking for salsa we got ketchup. We decided to pay for the expensive cab ride to downtown San Jose to get vegetarian food there instead, if you're going to pay $50 US for dinner in Costa Rica you might as well enjoy it and get enough to eat. Otherwise the restaurant is very nice, the staff are helpful and courteous. Just was not thrilled by the food when others rave it's a gourmet restaurant.

There could be better lighting around the jacuzzi and pool lights would be nice. Sun sets around 5:30 and it's super dark there.

The fruit drinks here pale in comparison to the ones offered at The Xandari By The Pacific

I would definitely visit the Xandari again, we brought some fruit with us, next time we will bring more and eat elsewhere and enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tropicaltravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

We spent the last night of our trip here so that we could get to the airport quickly. We had a villa with fabulous views of the valley. Our children shared the villa but had twin cots in the same living space. The bathroom is separated by a wall but does not have any doors so we had to be sure to be mindful of each other's privacy. No TV either which my kids were looking for. On the plus side, the grounds were beautiful, spa was okay and the food in the restaurant was delicious. I would return with my husband but minus the kids.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Home
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

This resort is absolutely amazing. They bent over backwards helping us out. They personally tailored our spa treatments. My wife and I were able to enjoy hours in the Jacuzzi overlooking the city with fresh cheeses and juice. We loved the hotel...intimate, great food, and enough property to spend a couple days walking around. Great surrounding area, very isolated. The villas are amazingly large and very beautiful. Architecture was amazing. Definitely recommend this place, the customer service was magnificent as well. October was the rainy season...recommend another time of year.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNKassebaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
6.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Property: Xandari Resort & Spa
Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. Long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh, continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing