We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, stunning artwork, gorgeous surroundings, beautiful breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique, stunning artwork, gorgeous surroundings, beautiful breakfast!”
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Wow, what a beautiful place with incredible landscaping and many walking areas. When we first checked in, I was in awe of a most unique and beautiful work of art and was even luckier to get to meet Charlene, the artist. We discovered she has created the beautiful and colorful paintings you see everywhere plus her many other creations using colorful tiles, etc. The room we stayed in was decorated using Costa Rican woods & decor and then mixed in was a bit of art deco. The room also had a fridge and coffeepot. The bathroom and shower area was unique, great towels and robes if you needed one. The deck had a marvelous view of San Jose. We had a late lunch which was very good and priced well, I expected it to cost more. The breakfast buffet had many delicious fresh choices. The staff was very attentive. Also, the rooms have a book that gives you lots of information and they even have many tours to choose from. I hope my pictures do Xandari justice but I doubt they will.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Stargazers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    151
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
221
424
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

My wife and I spent 9 days in Costa Rica with our last day at Xandari. Although the hotel is a little further from the airport the ride was more then worth the effort.

We were met by Douglas the hotel manager when we arrived. He could not have been nicer and even upgraded our room. This was a pleasant surprise, one of several during our brief stay. The gardens and orchid house were extraordinary and the hotel has its own trails.

We stayed in room #5. It was spectacular- one of the finest we have experienced. It was furnished beautifully and had a view of the central valley.

The food was excellent- both dinner and breakfast were memorable. We walked the trails and saw the waterfalls. The hotel is a self-contained resort including a spa where the treatments are reasonably priced.

I give the hotel 5 stars plus!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tesiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Well located next to San Jose and offering amazing views on the Alajuela valley (and the airport far far away) this is your best bet when it comes to finding a chic but eco place.
5 stars at least in my book.
Pool is something you can't miss, with its dark lining and the statues around it.
Our room (number 24) was simply breath-taking. It is not a room it is a small house with a huge terrace overlooking the valley.
The spa is top-notch
Staff is very friendly.
Restaurant is offering fresh and tasty local food. Don't expect crazy French cuisine. This is simple locale fare.
You can take short hikes right from your room and if you have young kids I bet they will love feeding the baby goats with the milk bottles. The farm next door has very friendly people who will let you play around with the animals (kids love it).
I would go back in a wink!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vorsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We spent the last three days of a four week journey in Costa Rica at the Xandari Resort. For the most part our trip in Costa Rica was "rustic" , outdoorsy but amazing.

We decided we wanted the last few days in Costa Rica to have Air Conditioning, no jungle creatures and alot of luxury. The Xandari fit the bill. The staff we friendly and always helpful. The gardens are amazing as are the two incredible swimming pools. The resort is only a 20 minute drive to the Airport , approximately a half hour to Poas Volcano and and hour to the artisan town of Sarchi.

The Xandari is in Alajuela a much more laid back city just outside San Jose, it is a much better alternative to staying in the City of San Jose at the beginning or end of your trip to Costa Rica.

We ate at the restaurant each day and all the meal choices on the menu were excellent

The location is amazing, it is an old coffee plantation that looks onto the mountains and city below. At night the lights of the city below and a passing lightening storm made for incredible views.

Highly recommended at the start or end of a trip to Cost Rica if you are flying into or out of San Jose International Airport

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niko1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Everything in Xandari is beautiful.
The rooms, the swimming pools, the grounds, the spa, the trails....
Just go there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Looking for handicap accessible hotel for myself, husband and wheelchair bound adult son.
We stayed night before leaving Costa Rica. Villa and view beautiful, however, ants and some worm creature in our bath area. Lights in living room so dim you could not read or play cards after dark. Lack of window coverings made it impossible to sleep after 5 am. Needed to get out flashlight in order to see lock on outside gate. Golf cart to take us to room was unsafe for handicapped person. No side to seat or seat belts. Had to hold onto our son to keep him from flying out. There was no bath bench to allow son to take shower. We would not have stayed another day there even if we had been booked there. Bed provided for my son was a section of sofa with sheets on it. Would not have booked here if we had been informed he would not have a bed.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aggiecat-24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2010

My new husband and I came to Costa Rica for our honeymoon in June of 2010. Our first stop was the Xandari resort in Alajuela. We had a private driver from the airport to the resort, which I highly recommend, as the airport is a little crazy with all the taxi drivers vying for your business. He was very kind and professional. Our private villa was amazing--so much bigger than even our apartment back in NJ! The view is top notch of the mountains (resort used to be a coffee plantation) and private terrace is lovely. We took full advantage of the amenites - we explored the several trails around the property, visited their spa a few times (and it's worth it to get a private jacuzzi add-on after your massage--it's open air and so relaxing). The food is great and even though there is only one restaurant, we didn't feel bored with the choices. The staff is very friendly and accomodating, and more than willing to help you with whatever whim you come up with. We felt that they genuinely cared and wanted our trip to be great. Even though our honeymoon was during the typical 'rainy season', it only rained a bit each day and we had lovely sun the rest of the time. Also, it is worth the price break to go during that time of year. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metravel7877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
680 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
665 reviews
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Property: Xandari Resort & Spa
Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. Long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh, continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing