We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rican Charm near the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Reviewed 14 September 2011

If you are stuck near the airport in San Jose Costa Rica for a night or two, try the Hotel Aeropuerto. The best aspect about this hotel is that you get to forget that you are in a city, because the hotel is surrounded by local plants, trees, and even birds. It is like being in your own personal oasis, and you can pretend that you are in a jungle environment rather than in an antiseptic American hotel. They offer free shuttle service (be sure to ask for a taxi if you need airport transfer; the hotel will pay for the taxi when you arrive at the hotel). They offer a free authentic Costa Rican breakfast, the lounge is very cozy, and the bartenders are a blast! The rooms are simple, but good for the price, and they offer the basic amenties and are clean.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

This cute hotel is just 5 minutes from the airport, which makes it incredibly convenient for the overnight stop-overs so frequently required when traveling to other parts of Costa Rica by bus or regional air carrier (e.g., Sansa, Nature Air).

The hotel is surrounded by beautiful small gardens, and the architecture and layout of the hotel is very appealing featuring a completely open air layout for the main lobby area. The food is very good and affordable at dinner - they have amazing local specialities like picadillo de fiesta (a sort of chopped potato dish with a hint of eastern spices), local grilled meats, amazing refried bean dip and fragrantl succulent salsa. Breakfast is acceptable. The rooms are very clean.

The owner lives on premises, which gives you a sense that there is a lot of care that goes into the place. In the morning, she puts her parrot out on her patio which has an impressive vocabulary of Spanish words and chuckles, and can talk non-stop sometimes (its far enough from the rooms that you don't notice it when you're inside).

Overall the place does have a very B&B feel - homey, maybe a bit musty, but very clean and in order. You do not feel like you're staying at a major hotel chain, which can be a plus or minus depending on what you're looking for. For $90/night, which includes free transfer to and from the airport as well as breakfast, its an amazing deal that can't be beat in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EndlessBlue85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The location was perfct and there were loads of things to do. The prices were reasonable and the food in their restaurant on site was very delicious. I cannot wait for our return trip there.
great pool!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dima p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Nice hotel for staying near the airport. Good value for the price and location near the airport. Stayed one night and everything was taken care of. Good quality interconintal breakfast. Lots of fruit, juices, cereal, rice, beans, etc.

Obviously it's not staying at the beach, but a nice place for the night before heading home. Far enough away from San Jose that it is very safe.

Room Tip: Go during low season.
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cinco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We arrived after getting lost in San Jose and around the airport, but were met with a smiling and very helpful desk manager. The hotel does not show it's age, and has been very well kept up. It's a nice simple but elegant place with grounds that are spaciously and beautifully landscaped.

The room was good, the beds were restful, and the bath was clean. The shower had amazing pressure. My wife loved it, and it had a huge soaking tub built in.

The dining room menu was large, reasonably priced, and the food was well prepared. The breakfast buffet was typical.

We can't say enough about the desk staff's help, they were as good as we've experienced, both night and day staff.

It was quiet and peaceful even tho close to a highway. The free taxi to and from the airport is a nice bonus.

Worth using either as a way stop in and out of San Jose, or a base for exploring the city and surrounding areas.

We didn't use the pool but it was a beautiful setting and clean.

The restaurant gets a ding as the waiter was more interested in the soccer game and didn't want to 'open' the bar. Breakfast staff was also inattentive.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, can't get a bad one
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our one night stay in this hotel. It was clean and quiet. Room was decently sized. Dinner was good. Staff was excellent. Great place to stay for an early morning flight.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aimdbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The front desk staff was helpful and professional; they went above and beyond to answer questions and help with arrangements. The restaurant was amazing with professional servers and wonderful food. I was impressed with your willingness to let my daughter check in before me and my credit card arrived! While making reservations, the correspondence was prompt and efficient. Perfect accomodations if leaving/arriving from/to SJO.

Denise Lundein

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NinnyBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
308 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
307 reviews
4.0 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica

Address: West From Sjo International Airport 4km | On the Interamerican Highway, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Aeropuerto San Jose Airport Costa Rica)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £45 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring free transportation from and to SJO International airport, this comfortable hotel is an ideal base for your trip (3 stars). Those traveling long distances will particularly appreciate the proximity of the hotel to the motorway. The hotel is located in direct proximity to the airport (4.0 km). The reception desk, which is manned 24 hours, also has a hotel safe. The hotel provides free WI-FI in your room or via a wireless connection in public areas. Feel free to enjoy room service or the wake-up facility when staying at the hotel. The hotel operates a suite of business facilities. The friendly team at reception will provide you with more information on the hotel's own car rental offer. Don't worry about finding a parking space, the hotel offers free parking for guests. The rooms benefit from cable television and telephones. All bathrooms are naturally equipped with a hairdryer. Do you want to book a non-smoking room? Are you traveling with your family and do you need a cot? We will gladly cater for your wishes - please indicate them when booking your room. Your room also has a safe. Air-conditioning ensures that the room temperature is always comfortable. Whether you just want to play around or you take your training seriously, the hotel swimming pool is there for you! Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy a relaxing massage. Treat yourself to a meal in the restaurant, with outdoor seating, where diabetics and vegetarians can find tasty dishes too. In the evening we will welcome you to the hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aeropuerto Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing