We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and authentic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Reviewed 20 February 2008

Stay here the night you arrive in Costa Rica in a plane, or the night before you leave. It is minutes from the airport, and it is a locally run spot, not a chain. The atmosphere and folks here are real Ticos, so you'll start your trip out adjusting right away. Breakfast is included...it's simple, Tico fair... gallo pinto, maduros, cafe, pan, fruta, etc. The staff seemed to know some English, but not in depth. Luckily I am bilingual, so we just stuck with Spanish. The rooms are very simple, but if you are just spending the night, that's all you need. Not luxury, but suitable for the purpose. Easy to get taxi's to and from.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank puravidachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2007

Only reason we stayed here was we changed our itinerary the day prior and the hotel we wanted to stay at doesn't have any room. So, we randomly searched the internet, and found this hotel based on nothing more than its price and availability. The place felt deserted, with a front desk that was more interested in the soaps they were watching rather than checking us in. They even had a pool but was covered in leaves. The room was down dimly lit hallways with rooms that have the bare minimum. It didn't help that later that night, we watched The Ring on tv.

Only bright side was the breakfast was decent and the chef was a very friendly woman.

  • Stayed: November 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flyboyarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAeropuerto, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2011

I would like to say this review is 3 years old, the hotel has changed a lot in the last year, our focus is the guest and 100% guest satisfaction is our goal.
All the personal is changed and our new staff is trained to be at the guest service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2007

My wife and I arrived in Costa Rica and our luggage didn't! We realized we wouldn't be able to travel to our planned hotel... so we went to the nearest hotel. We were pleasantly suprised when we arrived at Hotel Aeropuerto. The staff is very friendly, the security is tight, and the rooms were clean. The food (breakfast was included) and service in the restuarant is excellent! We enjoyed our stay so much that we returned later in the week to catch our early morning flight. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SPerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2006

This is a nice, convenient alternative to the chains that are near the airport. We were a family group gathering from several locations, so it made sense to start near the airport before setting off to visit Costa Rica.

The Aeropuerto is located a few miles from the airport, with free transportation to and from.

Food was good, well prepared local Costa Rican cuisine. The included breakfast was hearty, eggs, bacon, rice and beans, fresh fruits and juices and coffee. We had dinner, too, typical Central American fare of good quality.

The rooms were decent, the beds firm ("hard" said a member of our party, but I like firm mattresses). Wake up calls were on time. We'll come here again if conditions dictate.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rodish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2006

I travel 3 or 4 times a year (for the last eight years) to Costa Rica for business and to visit aging parents who have retired there. I have stayed at a wide range of hotels in Costa Rica, in San Jose and surrounding areas. My opinions:
Pros: If you need a clean bedroom and bathroom with steady running hot and cold water, friendly staff, business services like free Internet, and fax and copy services, plus good food, immediate access to highway and airport, then Hotel Aeropuerto is for you.
Rates are very reasonable - a good deal for the money. The grounds are protected by a gate guard, and security staff is always visible and vigilant. One feels safe inside.

Having read an earlier review, I had stayed away in the past. This time, I reserved tentatively for two nights, and stayed seven. I will definitely go back again. I loved the coffee maker in the room.

My only con, after the above pros, is that the highway is under construction, and the entrance is quite muddy. Also, the rooms could use a security chain, not just a bolt lock. And a privacy sign to hang outside the door would be a great plus.

H. Marin -- Los Angeles, CA

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Ticoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2006

I've stayed at the Hotel Aeropuerto many times, and I've always been happy. It is clean, has nice firm mattresses, reliable hot water (not always a certainty anywhere in CR), reasonable rates, free WiFi and a couple free public internet terminals, and good working AC.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank scotty23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2006

This is a dirty hotel. There are bugs EVERYWHERE. We could barely make it out our room or to the taxi without walking through about 300 flying beetles that were about 2.5 inches long. The room had a pungent smell. I would have paid double to be in a clean decent room. Staff is basic at best with English.

Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gator2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAeropuerto, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2011

I would like to say this review is 5 years old, the hotel has changed a lot in the last year, our focus is the guest and 100% guest satisfaction is our goal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
693 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.6 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
274 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#19 of 27 in Alajuela
93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica

Address: West From Sjo International Airport 4km | On the Interamerican Highway, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Aeropuerto San Jose Airport Costa Rica)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £54 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring free transportation from and to SJO International airport, this comfortable hotel is an ideal base for your trip (3 stars). Those traveling long distances will particularly appreciate the proximity of the hotel to the motorway. The hotel is located in direct proximity to the airport (4.0 km). The reception desk, which is manned 24 hours, also has a hotel safe. The hotel provides free WI-FI in your room or via a wireless connection in public areas. Feel free to enjoy room service or the wake-up facility when staying at the hotel. The hotel operates a suite of business facilities. The friendly team at reception will provide you with more information on the hotel's own car rental offer. Don't worry about finding a parking space, the hotel offers free parking for guests. The rooms benefit from cable television and telephones. All bathrooms are naturally equipped with a hairdryer. Do you want to book a non-smoking room? Are you traveling with your family and do you need a cot? We will gladly cater for your wishes - please indicate them when booking your room. Your room also has a safe. Air-conditioning ensures that the room temperature is always comfortable. Whether you just want to play around or you take your training seriously, the hotel swimming pool is there for you! Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy a relaxing massage. Treat yourself to a meal in the restaurant, with outdoor seating, where diabetics and vegetarians can find tasty dishes too. In the evening we will welcome you to the hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aeropuerto Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing