We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access for tired travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Vacaville, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Easy access for tired travelers”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed here at the end of a long day of traveling. It was great to be able to just grab a cab, not have to haggle for the price, just sit back and be delivered to the hotel. It was close to the airport so it wasn't a long ride. The neighbor would not be good for walking around though. We arrived around 8pm and were still able to get a nice dinner at the restaurant, the fresh Ceviche was delicious. I was craving something refreshing and they made me fresh lemonade! Breakfast was very nice the next morning. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our original flight had been cancelled so we arrived 2 days later than our first reservation. When I emailed and ask to change the date, I got a response within an hour and they were very obliging. There was wi-fi as advertised, although sometimes you needed to go to the lobby to get good reception. Although the rooms are older and the decor from the 70's, the room was clean and the air conditioner was welcome. Our only complaint was the beds were quite hard compared to what we are used to, but we have noticed this throughout travels in Central AMerica. We would definitely stay here again. The small pool would be fun for families traveling with kids. The pictures on the hotel website are very accurate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranchcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    163
    57
    20
    22
See reviews for
87
144
42
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

very nice staff but overall this hotel was sketchy. worth paying a little more to stay in a chain hotel closer to the airport.

Hotel was very hard to find. Room was not as nice as the photos on the website; ugly, dirty, old red carpet; bathroom smelled of mildew; found someone else's lingerie in the nightstand.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbles0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed in Costa Rica for 12 nights and had a wonderful trip. We stayed at this hotel on our last night. This was a subpar hotel and the website was very misleading. This hotel should have 1/2 star. It was dirty, outdated, rust on everything, tub was so dirty you need to wear shoes . We could not believe this was the same place that is on the website. They offer internet service but unfortunately it does not work unless you are in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etosoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here overnight when we arrived at San Jose, and were very happy with our choice. They paid for our transport from the airport, have beautiful grounds with gorgeous flowers and trees. Nice pool and yummy breakfast. Not luxurious but great for crashing on arrival...Pura vida!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocky mountain house, alberta
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We only had a brief stop at this hotel before catching an early flight. But, it met our needs. The exit to the hotel is a little tricky to find but once you get there the rooms are fairly nice. Cleanliness and comfort is average. We didn't find the restaurant food that great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tofino, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We chose this Hotel because it was close to the airport and we wanted to avoid the city and the chaos. We were surprised with how great the staff was and how great the service was.
Breakfast, shuttle, internet, computers with Skype and international phone calls free, nice garden with pool..accept credit cards, nice restaurant with very good food etc..
We would definitely go back and recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyeMarco23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

There were a few high points for our stay at the Hotel Aeropuerto. The proximity to the airport was ideal. The service was very pleasant and professional. The shuttle to the airport was beyond ideal. The semi-open air lobby was lovely.

Unfortunately the experience of the room was sub-par. I'm an easy guest. I don't need much in a place to give it a good review, if the basics are covered. As I said, all of the people were excellent, however, the place needs a LOT of work. After a long day, we both took showers in the awkwardly painted bathtub. We joked about how since the water didn't really drained, your feet get to take a bath as you shower. End of the trip, big deal, not worth complaining. Two very large beds—nice. Remote controlled air conditioner—alright! Except....it's right over the bed. Then at about 3:00 in the morning, the thing shuts off, and starts to drip. Not just a little drip, like a faucet in a distant bathroom dripping every few minutes. It drips like a toddler tipping over a glass of water. The drip is right onto the nightstand by our heads, and each drip splashes onto my face. You know what else sits on nightstands at a hotel? Cell phones. So, I'm leaping out of bed, startled and upset, clearing away the valuables, and finding a towel to absorb the flood and buffer the sound of the drip so that I might eek out a few more hours of sleep before a long travel day.
In fairness, I didn't complain to the desk to give them the chance to remedy the situation or to make an adjustment to the bill to compensate for the Noah's Ark Air Conditioner. Considering the attentiveness of the staff, Im sure they would have done something. However, if we had it do all over again, we would spend the extra $20 for one of the hotels right at the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMatthias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
668 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.6 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
4.0 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica

Property: Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Address: West From Sjo International Airport 4km | On the Interamerican Highway, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Aeropuerto San Jose Airport Costa Rica)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring free transportation from and to SJO International airport, this comfortable hotel is an ideal base for your trip (3 stars). Those traveling long distances will particularly appreciate the proximity of the hotel to the motorway. The hotel is located in direct proximity to the airport (4.0 km). The reception desk, which is manned 24 hours, also has a hotel safe. The hotel provides free WI-FI in your room or via a wireless connection in public areas. Feel free to enjoy room service or the wake-up facility when staying at the hotel. The hotel operates a suite of business facilities. The friendly team at reception will provide you with more information on the hotel's own car rental offer. Don't worry about finding a parking space, the hotel offers free parking for guests. The rooms benefit from cable television and telephones. All bathrooms are naturally equipped with a hairdryer. Do you want to book a non-smoking room? Are you traveling with your family and do you need a cot? We will gladly cater for your wishes - please indicate them when booking your room. Your room also has a safe. Air-conditioning ensures that the room temperature is always comfortable. Whether you just want to play around or you take your training seriously, the hotel swimming pool is there for you! Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy a relaxing massage. Treat yourself to a meal in the restaurant, with outdoor seating, where diabetics and vegetarians can find tasty dishes too. In the evening we will welcome you to the hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aeropuerto Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing