We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yuck” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“yuck”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

In order to avoid being a complete Negative Nancy let me try to think of a couple of positives....they offer free transport to the airport, very close, and the grounds are nice. The restaurant is also decent. Otherwise, yuck. The rooms are rundown, dingy and the smell like mildew. Everything just feels dirty from the little ant type bugs in my bed to the dirty bowls at the breakfast buffet and everything in between. This hotel sorely needs to be renovated and management needs to tighten its standards a bit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebekah_Carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    157
    56
    20
    21
See reviews for
85
141
40
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel was surprisingly nice for the price, and the restaurant also surprisingly good (best cheescake I had the whole 2 weeks in Costa Rica). I tried to pull up directions to this place well in advance, both on maps and from their website, but despite having those in hand, and seeing the Billboard on the highway that said "2 Km ahead", it is very easy to blow right by if you don't know how the exits work on this road. Driving west from the direction of the airport, there is a sort of "frontage road" shortly after the Billlboard that you must somehow get onto before you see the hotel. There is no other sign for the hotel at any turnoff after that billboard. Do not expect a typical exit ramp or a sign saying "exit here"... If you go 2km past the billboard, you missed the turn, and good luck doubling back!

Once we actually found the place it was a nice oasis for the area it's in. Very friendly and helpful staff, good food. They even called Alamo to pick up our rental car there the night before our early AM flight. Was a bit afraid our 3:30 AM taxi/shuttle driver wouldn't show, but he was only a few minutes late.

Room Tip: If you are counting on Wifi, make sure to ask which room has wifi working in it.... when we were the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very close to the airport. Great for late arrivals or early departures. Nothing around it, but they have a nice pool and restaurant. Great for arriving or departing San Jose. Very nice grounds around the pool.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Our van rental fell thru and they were very helpful in getting us a van and driver to our destination.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozark78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
712 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I've stayed at this hotel 3 different times. I love that they pay for your transportation to and from the airport. Plus it is so close to the airport. On my most recent visit I had some logistical challenges that I was managing. The front desk staff was so helpful. The room are large and clean. I also enjoyed several meals in the hotel restaurant. If you need a place close to the airport this is your place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We just wanted to stay close to the airport to catch our flight early morning and did not want to spend a fortune for such "one night stand".
The Hotel is about 20 years old but well kept. Beautiful gardens with lots of huge old trees and a great variation of tropical plants and flowers. The pool is small, but clean and not exposed to everybody else. Check in, was taking two minutes only, and staff is very friendly and helpful. The room (#139) was clean and the beds comfortable. AC and TV working great. The free wireless internet is steady but a little slow (85KB/s down- and 105KB/s upload speed)....well, what else shall we expect for free ?
Big surprise was dinner at "Las Planchas Restaurante & Grill":
The Restaurant is quiet basic..... or in other words, not fancy at all, but staff is very friendly, attending fast and acting professionally. We ordered 12oz beef tenderloins from the grill, green pepper sauce, fries & veggies, for about $22 each. The result was surprisingly good. For 18 years now, I'm a chef and restaurant owner myself and would give them 9 out of 10 points for this meal !
We will come back :)
Simon + Jeannette, Jacó, Costa Rica

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonTheSaint666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The area around the hotel looks dangerous. The hotel room's door had a lot of movement in it and did not look very secure. The windows did not have locks on them. The wireless internet was not password protected and the outside area was darker than I would prefer. The sheets on the beds appeared to have been sleep in before so I was not convinced the sheets were clean. The pictures in the advertisements look like they were take 50 years ago and even the hotel sign was missing a letter in the name. During the day the grounds were well-maintained and the free breakfast was fine. I had reservations for two nights there but canceled the second. Even if the airport transportation is free, I will stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucky1inVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here over night upon arrival to Costa Rica , lovely little family run hotel with restaurant on site and small pool area to relax. The food was delicious and the service overall was very friendly and accommodating . The hotel rooms were also very clean and comfortable . I would definitely recommend for anyone transiting through San Jose .

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shardozois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.5 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
3.7 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#17 of 29 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica

Property: Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Address: West From Sjo International Airport 4km | On the Interamerican Highway, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Aeropuerto San Jose Airport Costa Rica)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring free transportation from and to SJO International airport, this comfortable hotel is an ideal base for your trip (3 stars). Those traveling long distances will particularly appreciate the proximity of the hotel to the motorway. The hotel is located in direct proximity to the airport (4.0 km). The reception desk, which is manned 24 hours, also has a hotel safe. The hotel provides free WI-FI in your room or via a wireless connection in public areas. Feel free to enjoy room service or the wake-up facility when staying at the hotel. The hotel operates a suite of business facilities. The friendly team at reception will provide you with more information on the hotel's own car rental offer. Don't worry about finding a parking space, the hotel offers free parking for guests. The rooms benefit from cable television and telephones. All bathrooms are naturally equipped with a hairdryer. Do you want to book a non-smoking room? Are you traveling with your family and do you need a cot? We will gladly cater for your wishes - please indicate them when booking your room. Your room also has a safe. Air-conditioning ensures that the room temperature is always comfortable. Whether you just want to play around or you take your training seriously, the hotel swimming pool is there for you! Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy a relaxing massage. Treat yourself to a meal in the restaurant, with outdoor seating, where diabetics and vegetarians can find tasty dishes too. In the evening we will welcome you to the hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aeropuerto Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing