We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful. Make sure to stay for Dinner!”
Review of Pura Vida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pura Vida Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rocky Hill, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful. Make sure to stay for Dinner!”
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stay at Pura Vida in the Volcano Room during our last night in Costa Rica! The rooms are decorated in a modern style -beautiful, clean, and comfortable. As soon as we arrived, we were longing for one more night in Costa Rica. This was definitely the nicest placed we stayed during our week long vacation.

Make sure to reserve a spot for dinner. The reviews are all true, the food is fantastic! Nhi is a fabulous cook and prepared a beautiful 3-course meal consisting of a cool melon soup, fish entree, and cream puff dessert. What a great way to end our vacation! We would definitely come again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rxpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    78
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
219
335
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

The Pura Vida Hotel is minutes from the San Jose Airport, which makes it an ideal stopoff on the way into or out of Costa Rica. The owner, Berni, brims with useful information about all things travel- and Costa Rica-related, and gave us wonderful ideas for local day trips, excursions farther afield, and the logistics of managing anything. He arranged a car rental for us that was seamless, and was good humored and accommodating throughout. On our way out, he arose at the crack of dawn to see us off and to equip us with breakfast-to-go.

We stayed in a large, well-furnished and comfortable casita, nestled in the lovely walled garden. There was street noise at night, but also birdsong in the morning. The breakfasts were multi-course affairs, beginning with fresh juices, followed by an artfully arranged fruit platter, tasty baked things and an outstanding omelette. All washed down with excellent coffee.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfromboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

My husband and I stayed at Pura Vida in the Volcano Suite (lovely view overlooking the grounds and wonderfully indulgent for two people) for four nights at the beginning of our Costa Rican vacation this January 2011...family emergency upon arrival back home delayed this review............. We chose the hotel based on a Moon Guide review and the hotel’s entertaining, easy to navigate website.
Berni and Nhi’s place is a perfect oasis and a lovely introduction to Costa Rica. The grounds are beautiful, the staff are friendly and helpful, breakfast (included) is tasty and the atmosphere relaxing, Nhi skills in the kitchen are amazing and, as stated in others reviews, Bernie goes out of his way to assist with travel or tour plans. We connected, through Bernie, with two different tour guides who more than exceeded expectations. We also “signed up” for the Friday afternoon farmers market adventure and subsequent Friday evening supper.........a fun day and an exquisite meal.
If you do book at Pura Vida..................stay for longer than overnight, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy4Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We read about this hotel in a Costa Rica book before we set out on our adventure. It completely exceeded our expectations!! The accommodations are beautiful. We didn't have a set plan when we arrived. The staff was so helpful with our trip plans. We were taken to the local farmers market which ended up being one of the highlights of our trip. The food for dinner and breakfast was delicious! We would recommend this as a starting point and an ending to anyone's trip. A cab was waiting at 4:30 am and breakfast was handed to us on our way back to the states. We will definitely be staying at Pura Vida again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psnivy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We ended up staying at Pure Vida by accident but were glad we had a chance to experience this lovely B&B / Inn. Our original destination in Costa Rica was Dominical but our flight was delayed (hard to believe I know) and we were very late getting into San Jose which made the drive to Dominical after our arrival impossible. We contacted the owners of Shelter From the Storm (our original destination in Dominical - See review on vrbo.com) to explain the situation and to ask for a recommendation for where to stay in San Jose. The owners suggested Pure Vida and contacted Pure Vida and made the arrangements for us. We didn't arrive at Pure Vida until almost midnight but the manager was there and gave us a warm welcome and showed us to our room (Volcano). The room was lovely, clean and had a nice balcony with a sitting area that offered beautiful views of the mountains in the distance and the gardens below. The next day we were served breakfast in a small outdoor dining area that was surrounded by the lovely gardens. The breakfast served was included in the room charge and was very good. We were the only ones at breakfast and we asked the manager if there were other guests at the Inn. She replied that the Owners were on vacation and that the Inn was actually closed for two weeks. My wife and I got the feeling that she had accommodated us because she was empathetic to our travel problems. Whatever the reason was for accomodating us the way that she did turned what was looking like a miserable situation into a very pleasant experience. I recommend Pure Vida to anyone who is looking for a great place to stay while in San Jose, Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob12375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Everything about our stay here was lovely. Our flight was delayed and we arrived very late yet were warmly welcomed and our host even stayed up for while to make sure we did not want for anything. The casita itself was clean and spacious, and, most importantly, the bed was extremely comfortable. In the morning we toured the beautiful gardens and then enjoyed a wonderful and extremely well presented breakfast with gracious service. Alltogether a great way to begin our Costa Rican adventure.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abraxus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I took nine students to Drake Bay in May. We stayed with Bernie and Nhi at the beginnning and end of our trip and I cannot say enough about the good care they took of us all. As one example of how caring Bernie and Nhi are, they followed my students' blog and after one of the students started pining for Oreo cookies, they made sure to have some on hand when we arrived back in Alajuela at the end of our trip. Little details like that made the students' and my stay exceptional. Everyone at the hotel is nice and the drivers they found for us were excellent as were the tours that Bernie and Nhi recommended of the coffee plantations.

I will definately be going back there!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaCreaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
2.1 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
2.6 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
674 reviews
12.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hotel

Property: Pura Vida Hotel
Address: Tuetal Sur | 4km North of SJO International Airport, Alajuela 20102, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pura Vida Hotel is located 4km north of the SJO International airport - we provide a free taxi pickup for international arrivals. Breakfast is included and an excellent dinner is available with reservations (or late meals for late arrivals). Touring services include car rentals delivered here, private vans and as much touring advice as you wish - we are experts on Costa Rica. We have arrangements with Toyota Car Rental for deals on car rentals. Our idea is simply that this is a place we would like to stay at when we travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pura Vida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Alajuela
Hotel Pura Vida
Pura Vida Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing