We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were treated like family...”
Review of Pura Vida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pura Vida Hotel
Ranked #1 of 62 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Our last night in Costa Rica was happily spent at the Pura Vida Hotel. Our hosts went out of their way to treat us like family. Of unexpected pleasure, we were invited to dine with Ne and Bernie, at a local restaurant. Spending the evening in their fascinating company was so appreciated! Our casita was immaculately clean and comfortable. Sadly, our departure was so early that we were unable to enjoy the breakfast at the inn. However, a take away breakfast was provided. We would absolutely return to the Pura Vida Hotel -- and hope to do so soon!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbkatz1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2011

We really enjoyed the beautiful garden, delicious food, and the causal atmosphere. A very convenient place to spend your first night in Costa Rica after a long flight, or your last night before flying out.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dewitt44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at Pura Vida for several nights at the start of our Costa Rica vacation -- and it was among the highlights of the 10-day trip. Only a brief taxi ride from the international airport, innkeepers Berni and Nhi have created a tiny paradise: lush garden, exquisite butterflies and birdsong, orchids everywhere. Our room (Mariposa cottage, at the foot of the garden) was larger than we needed and utterly private. Not knowing what to do on our first day, we took Berni's advice and signed up for the market tour followed by dinner using fresh market produce -- and it was a home run. Even if you do not cook, you do not want to miss the huge market, where each piece of fruit on the tidily arranged piles is glorious perfection, and the vendors cheerfully offer samples. Nhi's cooking is amazing as well, and breakfast -- on the delightful patio adjoining the main house -- is ample and delicious. We cannot say enough good things about this place -- did I mention the free wifi? When we needed a taxi for the two-hour trip to the port of Caldera, Berni arranged it -- and a charming, English-speaking driver named Sterling gave us a first-rate guided tour of the local towns along the way. Okay, the water pressure wasn't great...but all in all, Pura Vida represents everything that a small inn should be.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NancyBmillvalley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Let me just preface this review with the statement that San Jose is nuts! Less than 15 minutes from the airport is a slice of Paradise that is the real Costa Rica. Forget San Jose! At Pura Vida you come expecting a nice place based on Trip Advisor but you get so much more! Berni and Nhi have created a slice of Costa Rica that only the lucky and smart travelers will find. It starts with the very helpful instructions on getting there along with the free cab and welcome drink that is part and parcel with their national motto-" Pura Vida" which means Pure Life. The grounds are beautiful with a tropical and exotic ambience that includes the homey casitas. You also get some world class chefs in your hosts. Nhi made us dinner both nights that were super fresh and delicious.You can believe all the reviews-You'll only be disappointed if you miss out! ( you have to book dinner ahead of time)
Out of his very busy schedule Berni took us on a tour of the local school they've adopted where we were treated like rock stars. All it takes are a few books (in your suitcases) to help the kids out!
On our first morning we had booked a white water rafting trip that meant we had to be up at 5:00! Berni met us with breakfast to go which were eagerly shared with our fellow rafters.
Unfortunately I didn't have the foresight to book a couple of nights at the end of our journey with Pura Vida!

Room Tip: We loved the Rainforest Casita and the Mariposa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flwaterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We began our Central American adventure at The Pura Vida and could not have been happier. My teenage daughter did not want to leave and took photos of everything before I could pry her away- lovely (and clean and unique) room, tropical garden, charming restaurant/breakfast terrace, private hammock, etc. Since we arrived on a Friday, we went on the optional Market Tour with to buy supplies and to sample fresh coconut milk ( in the coconut), tropical fruits, fresh sugar cane juice, etc. Innkeepers Bernie and Ne (sp?) just loaded us into the car and whisked us off with them - we were instantly part of the action. They explained everything with intelligence and humor. A few hours later, we enjoyed the optional and absolutely fresh dinner made with the ingredients from the market dining and overlooking the hotel garden. Talented chef. Delicious and great fun.

The breakfasts of fresh tropical fruits, fresh sweet breads, yogurt, juices, and the famous Costa Rican coffee began our days. No hotel buffets of corn flakes here - just friendly service with answers to any questions you might have before starting your day. They arranged just about everything we needed from a custom tour of the nearby highlands to evening restaurant reservations (hard to beat the hotel itself but they don't serve every night) to a free pick up at the nearby (5-10 minutes) San Jose Airport.

We can't imagine staying at any other place at the beginning or end of any trip to Costa Rica. There is simply no reason to sacrifice precious vacation time in a soulless airport hotel coming or going when you can get this. Read their excellent and thorough website for all kinds of terrific, accurate and entertaining advice before you go. They'll put you in the right mood to begin or savor the end of your Pura Vida experience in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert58350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

This is our 3rd time staying at the Pura Vida Hotel and as the first two, this one was superb, right down to the gi-normous breakfast before we left for the airport We finished the breakfast nonetheless.

We stayed in the Volcano Room (our favorite) and had a wonderful evening with an excellent bottle of Berni's wine. We were sadly at the end of a two week stay in Costa Rica and very much in need of a relaxing evening. The Pura Vida Hotel is the perfect place to do this, or begin the trip as we did our first time in Costa Rica.

We'll be sure and stay a few days next time because there are some excellent day trips to be had from the Pura Vida Hotel. We missed the Doka Coffee Tour this trip, but will plan to make that one next time. In short - we love this place!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ds6235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stay at Pura Vida in the Volcano Room during our last night in Costa Rica! The rooms are decorated in a modern style -beautiful, clean, and comfortable. As soon as we arrived, we were longing for one more night in Costa Rica. This was definitely the nicest placed we stayed during our week long vacation.

Make sure to reserve a spot for dinner. The reviews are all true, the food is fantastic! Nhi is a fabulous cook and prepared a beautiful 3-course meal consisting of a cool melon soup, fish entree, and cream puff dessert. What a great way to end our vacation! We would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rxpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
2.1 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
871 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
691 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
12.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hotel

Address: Tuetal Sur | 4km North of SJO International Airport, Alajuela 20102, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: £65 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pura Vida Hotel is located 4km north of the SJO International airport - we provide a free taxi pickup for international arrivals. Breakfast is included and an excellent dinner is available with reservations (or late meals for late arrivals). Touring services include car rentals delivered here, private vans and as much touring advice as you wish - we are experts on Costa Rica. We have arrangements with Toyota Car Rental for deals on car rentals. Our idea is simply that this is a place we would like to stay at when we travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pura Vida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Alajuela
Hotel Pura Vida
Pura Vida Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing