We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Recommendation After Flight From USA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pura Vida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pura Vida Hotel
Ranked #1 of 59 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful Recommendation After Flight From USA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed here our first night after arriving in Costa Rica on recommendation from Leaves and Lizards Retreat owners (also awesome and reviewed by me). To start with, the owners will pay for your cab fare to their lovely establishment. When you step out into the actual property where the Casitas are you will be amazed. We loved this place. The gardens are gorgeous, the owner hospitable, and the accommodations excellent. This is in a busy section of town but you are near San Jose so it's to be expected. What we didn't expect was the beauty we would encounter! We loved the open air restaurant and it's view of a volcano. We loved that we could sit there like we were on our own patio chatting away. This was a family trip with two adult children and our grandson and everybody enjoyed it. You will receive personal, friendly service here and Berni speaks English! Our Katydid Casita had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen and a living room with a sleeper sofa. The beds were comfortable and the showers are huge. Do bring earplugs for not only city noise but cicadas and birds. I slept very soundly with my ear plugs! The meals we had here were excellent as was the service. We also stayed here on the night before we went back home because we enjoyed it so much. This is a hidden gem!

Room Tip: The Katydid was exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 144lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alajuelanorth, Manager at Pura Vida Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thanks to you and the "kids" for coming and also for the referral from our good friends at Leaves and Lizards - also our favorite place to stay in the Arenal area.

We hope we may welcome you all back soon to the Pura Vida,

Berni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    76
    20
    5
    8
See reviews for
210
322
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We are big fans of Hotel Pura Vida in Alajuela and recommend it to others, but this time we needed a place for a week's stay in or near San Jose. Berni & Nhi's Milano Apartment in nearby Escazu was perfect for us. We live in Dominical, Costa Rica, far from the many conveniences and attractions of the big city. We felt that we were neglecting to learn more about San Jose, Costa Rica's capital, so we were thrilled to have our own home-away-from-home in the city so we could take time get to know it better.

The 2-bedroom, 2-bath apartment is sleek and modern and clean and fresh. It is a corner apartment on the 5th floor and it has fabulous sunset views and great cross breezes. Its all about location, location, location!!! It is right next to Avenida Escazu on highway 27 and convenient to Multiplaza, Plaza Tempo, CIMA hospital and all the shopping, dining and entertainment spots in Escazu. It is also just a quick zip into the city proper. We went to the National Museum, the Mercado Central, the National Theater and many other tourist attractions in the city. The apartment was also our base for a day trip to La Paz Waterfall Gardens and another day trip to Zoo Ave and Norman's Jalapeno in Alajuela.

Berni and Nhi run a tight ship and understand their guests needs. The apartment is well organized and well equipped and their information booklet gives you all the details you need jump into life in Escazu. We loved our stay and are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surfer02025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

An excellent way to start our stay in Costa Rica. The accommodation was attractive and the gardens lovely and restful after a long flight. It was also good to know what to do on arrival. Next time we will stay longer. I could spend my whole trip here with day trips out. Have dinner here if it is available. Lovely dining area and very good food. They packed us our breakfast as we were leaving early to go on a tour which they had arranged for us with a local driver.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Pura Vida in march 2013 and enjoyed it very much. First it is very near the airport and easy to get to by taxi (hotel pays), second it is quiet and relaxing, third the gardens are lovely, lots of birds dropping by, fourth the rooms are good, very clean and comfortable and last, but not least, the owner is very helpful, suggesting things to do and see, and making arrangements for you if needed. As a bonus, if requested in advance they will do dinner for you in their lovely outdoor dining room and the food was terrific.

They have a very small gift shop, we had just arrived in Costa Rica and were not familiar with prices so only bought a couple of pounds of coffee but I later realized they were giving very good value.

I have no hesitation in recommending the Pura Vida , say "Hello" to Berni for me if you go
Linda

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alajuelanorth, Manager at Pura Vida Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Linda, we really do appreciate your stay. Thanks for coming and taking the time to comment. It is a busy world out there (somewhere :-) and all at the Pura Vida thank you,

Berni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amersham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We booked an overnight stay at Pura Vida but our inbound flight was cancelled. The response from Pura Vida was perfect - not your fault so don't worry!
Throughout the booking process, we received first class comprehensive information and quick responses to queries. Shame we were not able to sample their hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agbucks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchcombe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Very convenient location for late night International arrivals. Owners paid for taxi transfer and were there to welcome us. I would not have liked to have tried to find my way there at night! The next morning after breakfast our hire car was delivered, which had been arranged through Bernie.
Excellent pre-arrival advise on planning our holiday. This was also very a very convenient place to stay at the end as it is only a short taxi ride back to the airport, so we could enjoy our last morning in the lovely gardens.
Best breakfast in our entire trip and friendly service.

Room Tip: Beds were brilliant, we stayed in two different rooms attached to the main house, but some traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mackej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burien
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

This was a great place to stay. I wish we'd had more than one short day here. The grounds are lovely and well-cared for. The rooms are nicely decorated, and the fan (there's no air conditioning) not only cooled us nicely but was quiet. The staff is friendly and helpful. We were only here the one night, but Carlos helped us locate a taxi driver for our trip to Puerto Jimenez--before we'd even stayed in the hotel. Also, their support of a local school reflects their commitment to the country.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
2.1 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
2.6 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
10.8 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hotel

Property: Pura Vida Hotel
Address: | Just 4km North of the International Airport, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pura Vida Hotel is located 4km north of the SJO International airport - we provide a free taxi pickup for international arrivals. Breakfast is included and an excellent dinner is available with reservations (or late meals for late arrivals). Touring services include car rentals delivered here, private vans and as much touring advice as you wish - we are experts on Costa Rica. We have arrangements with Toyota Car Rental for deals on car rentals. Our idea is simply that this is a place we would like to stay at when we travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pura Vida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Alajuela
Hotel Pura Vida
Pura Vida Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing