We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Visit Awsome as First”
Review of Pura Vida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pura Vida Hotel
Ranked #1 of 61 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Pura Vida is a Botanical Oasis on the edge of coffee plantations. Once a coffee plantation, the fertile soil and property are now a nearby retreat with access to POAS Volcano area, coffee plantations and importantly only 15 minutes from the International Airport. Berni and his staff care for a beautiful tropical garden surrounding four bungalows and the main house including an open air restaurant with an exquisite collection of orchids. Awsome breakfast and always accommodating. Should be a 5 Star if not for the noisy streets on week-ends, but never seen due to dense vegetation and fencing. Can't wait for Fourth Visit. Cajun Dreamer

Room Tip: Mariposa Bungalow great for two couples with seperate bedrooms and 2 baths. Toucan has one bedroom w...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CajunDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
There are newer reviews for Pura Vida Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have been home from our Costa Rica trip for less than 24 hours and have already told friends and family that when they go to CR they HAVE to stay at the Pura Vida. It is beautiful, relaxing, and ever so convenient. Yes, it is convenient to the airport but also to many sights nearby. The owners and staff were extremely accommodating. I got a bottle of wine for my birthday, our room was upgraded, AND Bernie was there at 4:00 AM to see us off!! We couldn't have asked for more. I may return to CR for a few days with my mother. If I do, I plan to use Pura Vida as our base and take day trips from there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at the Pura Vida our first night in Costa Rica. We couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay, or, more attentive host! Our plane arrived at 8:30 p.m. and we followed Berni’s instructions to catch a cab (which he paid for) to take us to his wonderful B&B, just 10 minutes from the airport. It made our nighttime arrival into Costa Rica safe, convenient and easy. Once at the hotel, we enjoyed a bottle of wine on the open air terrace with Berni. He showed us to our lovely Casita which was clean, spacious and comfortable set amongst the beautiful garden grounds. The Pura Vida is truly an oasis in the midst of Alajuela. The breakfast was outstanding – we regret we didn’t have the opportunity to enjoy a dinner there. In fact, my one major regret is not spending one more night at the Pura Vida. I thought it was going to be just an overnight close to the airport but with Berni’s knowledge and love of the country and Alajuela, we experienced a more “authentic” CR and we could have enjoyed much more given another night.

After I booked the room, Berni sent a confirmation email in which he mentioned if we were interested to bring books for the local elementary school. We brought books and were so fortunate to have Berni transport us and 2 other couples to the school to deliver the books and tour the school. It was truly one the highlights of our trip to CR. It is amazing the way that Berni has virtually built the library at this school with the help of his guests. If you opt to bring books, I would suggest bringing Spanish language books because although the children are taught English, Spanish is their language and it seemed to me most of the books people bring are English and they need more Spanish for the kids to read and enjoy.

Prior to arriving in CR, I had not planned out all our arrangements, specifically, how we were going to get from Alajuela to our next destination; The Arenal Volcano Observatory Lodge. In that we had read a lot about lousy roads and poor signage in CR, we weren’t sure if we wanted to rent a car or take public transport. Berni and trusted staff assistant (I wish I could remember his name because he was extremely hospitable and helpful) arranged a private transport for us which I know was difficult because it was the last minute and everything including car rentals were booked.

Be sure to check out the Pura Vida website – it is filled with clever quips, helpful information about the hotel, Costa Rica and travel ideas to make your trip more informed and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theresaC_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at the Pura Vida on our first and last nights in Costa Rica. We had a great experience. The grounds are lush and beautiful, the food is wonderful, and the owners and staff are super friendly and helpful. We stayed in 2 different private villas, each with a spacious bedroom, bathroom and sitting room, as well as a small private patio with lovely views of the gardens. The owners, Berni and Nhi, speak perfect English and are a great source of advise on where to go and what to see in Costa Rica. Nhi is an exceptionally gifted, creative chef, so we recommend making advance arrangements to have dinner at the hotel. I wish I had arranged to rent a car through Berni--Berni can have rental cars delivered to the hotel-- which would have been much better than dealing with Hertz at the airport, which was a nightmare.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaJane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the Pura Vida Hotel on the last night of our 2.5-week trip to Costa Rica. Our group of five stayed in the Katydid Casita, and the layout was just perfect for our group. The grounds are beautiful, with many plants and birds. It is very relaxing and peaceful inside the compound.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was our first visit to Costa Rica and we could not have found a better entry and departure accommodation. The cassitas were clean, roomy, and decorated with art and crafts of the region that the owner's collected. The property grounds were nicely landscaped,and secure. Best of all was the wealth of knowledge Bernie imparted about travel around the country and places to visit both on his web site and in person. A bit of British wit in both cases. If you need to rent a car the whole experience was fantastic through Bernie rather than the airport. You can have your vehicle delivered at breakfast and leave it at the property when you are ready to depart the country. Peace of mind and Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have stayed at Pura Vida for the past two years on our entry and departure from
our Costa Rican holidays, and have received great travel information from Bernie who
has given us excellent ideas as to where to stay and visit throughout Costa Rica.as well as
arranging car rentals etc, the Meals here were superb, rooms were great, everything extremely
well appointed and well thought out. Cant thank them enough... hope to return soon. If you plan to travel to costa Rica, don't miss this experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
2.1 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
869 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
673 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
689 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
12.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hotel

Address: Tuetal Sur | 4km North of SJO International Airport, Alajuela 20102, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: £65 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pura Vida Hotel is located 4km north of the SJO International airport - we provide a free taxi pickup for international arrivals. Breakfast is included and an excellent dinner is available with reservations (or late meals for late arrivals). Touring services include car rentals delivered here, private vans and as much touring advice as you wish - we are experts on Costa Rica. We have arrangements with Toyota Car Rental for deals on car rentals. Our idea is simply that this is a place we would like to stay at when we travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pura Vida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Alajuela
Hotel Pura Vida
Pura Vida Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing