We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful way to begin and end our trip”
Review of Pura Vida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pura Vida Hotel
Ranked #1 of 62 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2008

Our flight to Costa Rica arrived late so we stayed at the Pura Vida overnight before driving to our final destination the next day. Then we also stayed at the Pura Vida on our last day in Costa Rica before our early morning flight. We originally picked the Pura Vida because of its proximity to the airport. However, we discovered many more reasons why it is a good base for a Costa Rica trip. The setting is beautiful with wonderful gardens and a spectaular view of a volcano. The rooms were very comforable and spacious. Best of all was the food, We ate breakfast on our first day there and dinner on our last. Both meals were a wonderful treat - a feast for both the eyes and the palate. We also went on the tour provided by the owners of the local farmers market. This was tremenodous fun with a chance to sample some delicious tropical fruits that I had never seen before. Last, but not least, the oweners of the Pura Vida were a complete delight. They were very welcoming and gave us a tremendous amount of helpful information. I would definately stay there on my next trip.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank slenington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2008

We only stayed at Pura Vida for one night, but were impressed with the service. Berni accommodated a (near) last minute change in travel plans with no penalties or hassle.

The hotel was clean and the management was extremely helpful in arranging tours, suggesting places to eat, and offering advice on visiting the country.

We only had two disappointments:
First, the timing of our trip coincided with the owner's own travel and dinner was not available. Second, we were beset by a neighbors' rooster at an extremely early hour! Obviously, this is beyond the hotel's control.

All in all, we would recommend Pura Vida as a great place to stay. The grounds are beautiful, the service was very good, the price was reasonable, and the location is extremely convenient to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank st06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

A wonderful garden setting yet close to everything. The minute you arrive you are made to feel right at home. We stayed here twice this trip. Our Rain Forest bungalow is highly recomended for it's space,unique design and beautiful views.

Berni and Nhi are wonderful hosts and the entire staff is DEDICATED. Nhi prepared a wonderful gourmet dinner and the recomended wines were perfect. On the morning of our departure Rebecca arose at 5:30 AM to prepare us a box breakfast....now, that's dedication.

With only a few bungalows and rooms Pura Vida offers wonderful intimacy. Berni is a great source of information and quickly accomadated our needs.

We will definitely stay here again.

Mel & Tina Henderson

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CanadianRoadWarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

We stayed at the Pura Vida on our last night because it was close to the airport. We enjoyed the beautiful garden; the staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms clean, and the dinner excellent. The bathroom is small but adequate. The car park is locked and safe. They help a local school by donating books and invite guests to bring a few books in their luggage, but this is entirely optional. We did so and left them for the staff to deliver. The web site says they will change up to $50 for guests, but they were unable to do that for us; out of cash that day, I guess. We had a very early flight and the staff arranged a taxi and boxed our breakfast. There was a gecko in our room-not surprising since this is the tropics. We found it charming rather than annoying and left it alone. All-in-all we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

We stayed here during our last few nights of our honeymoon before heading home. It's a beautiful compound, you can just sit all day long on the patio, reading and watching the birds. Everything was obviously decorated with love and care of attention. We were upgraded to the newly-renovated Rain Forest Casita, just beautiful. Unfortunately we left just as Burni and Nhi were returning from their travel, but Rebecca took good care of us during our visit. Great breakfast, the hotel arranged a nice tour of the countryside for us by Esterling. We are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krstly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

Staying at the Pura Vida Hotel was a true pleasure with understated luxury as my over all impression. I was very happy with my one night stay, and I could have stayed longer. Should I return to Costa Rica, it will be on my list of places to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TicoMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

The Pura Vida Hotel was the perfect start to my recent 9 days in Costa Rica. After clearing customs and grabbing a cab, in less than 10 minutes I was greeted at the gate of the Pura Vida by Neh, co-founder of the Pura Vida with her husband, Berni. The hotel is very close to the airport, making it a great starting point for a trip to CR, but secluded enough amidst its private grounds to offer seclusion and tranquility. I stayed in the Toucan room, which was graciously appointed and very comfortable. The best things about this lovely inn, however, are 1) the incredible food and 2) the warmth and service of husband and wife team Berni and Neh. Berni even arranged for my rental car to be delivered to the hotel the next morning, and after one of the best breakfasts I've ever had (included with price of stay - lunch and dinner separate costs), I was off to Poas Volcano and my destination northwest in Sarapiqui.

The Pura Vida just has that "certain something" you're looking for in a jumping-off hotel. It's warm, funky, comfortable, and very relaxing. It lives up to its name!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mnbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
2.1 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
871 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
691 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
12.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hotel

Address: Tuetal Sur | 4km North of SJO International Airport, Alajuela 20102, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: £65 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pura Vida Hotel is located 4km north of the SJO International airport - we provide a free taxi pickup for international arrivals. Breakfast is included and an excellent dinner is available with reservations (or late meals for late arrivals). Touring services include car rentals delivered here, private vans and as much touring advice as you wish - we are experts on Costa Rica. We have arrangements with Toyota Car Rental for deals on car rentals. Our idea is simply that this is a place we would like to stay at when we travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pura Vida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Alajuela
Hotel Pura Vida
Pura Vida Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing