We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”
Review of Pura Vida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pura Vida Hotel
Ranked #1 of 61 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at Pura Vida on our first and last nights in Costa Rica (with a trip 'upcountry' in the middle. Pura Vida was a fantastic experience - wonderful rooms, showers, and dining experience. And a very safe compound feel to the entire hotel. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
There are newer reviews for Pura Vida Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

If you are traveling to Costa Rica you are generally going to arrive and depart from SJO. Experiencing Pura Vida Hotel is the only way to do it...both ways. This wonderful, beautiful B&B with its plantings and orchids surrounding you is just minutes away from the airport. Berni and Nih are not only great hosts, they are world-class chefs (I kid you not, world class!) Berni, with great, dry humor will also provide you with all you need to know about Costa Rica travel (check out his web site) and you should listen to his suggestions..he knows what he's talking about. He will also take care of your car rental arrangements...the only way to do it. Hassle free, which is a real wonder, given the Costa Rican car insurance jungle. Don't just book a room for arrival and departure. Be sure to tell them you want to partake of their unique dinners. All fresh, bought that day, and created and presented in a way that compares with every five-star restaurant we have visited (yes, we've been to them in several different countries...this one easily compares!) Berni, Nih and Pura Vida Hotel should not be missed.

Room Tip: They're all nice, and unique...surrounded by terraces and gardens. Book early! NOT MANY ROOMS!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We loved staying at Pura Vida - the first two nights of our trip and the last night. When we returned, our teen-aged grandson said "it's like coming home". The bungalow was spacious, clean, comfortable, attractive. The breakfasts were works of art with their fancy cut fruits and the special dinner excellent. Best of all was Berni, the innkeeper, who answered my countless questions as I planned the trip. His sense of humor is great fun and his help invaluable. We also appreciated his services in arranging for our car rental and providing transportation from the airport. I'd love to go back there - maybe some day.

Room Tip: Traveling with 2 teen-aged grandchildren, we needed the bungalow with 2 bedrooms and baths. The liv...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LucyLoring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our third visit to the Pura Vida hotel was the best yet. We took our four kids and used Pura Vida as a port of entry/exit to the central part of Costa Rica. As always Bernie and Nih we exceptional hosts and the two cabanas the six of us used were comfortable, clean, and very attractive. Every time we come here we intend to stay longer because the grounds and the hosts at spectacular.

Room Tip: Do not let the wall intimidate you, once inside the grounds you will be AMAZED at how beautiful it i...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LSUTIgerfan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A lovely property, easy to get to from SJO, and full of character. The food (breakfast and the three-course dinner) is spectacular and the lobby is full of useful info on traveling in the country. There is a great pair of dogs to add to the abundance of charm, and lots of plants and trees growing around all of the casitas. We just stayed one night before heading back to SJO to go to a lodge further south, and we had thought of just staying at a chain hotel next to the airport, but it was definitely worth the few extra minutes to get to this hotel and really start our vacation there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gobeatthedrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I can't say enough about this operation. The rooms are spacious and well-furnished. The staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The food is wonderful. It is also located near the airport.

Room Tip: The Volcano Room has a great view!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Driving to the Hotel Pura Vida, the neighborhood looks unlikely, then you get to a walled compound, and when the gate slides open, you enter an oasis of calm and beauty. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and everything has been done in exquisite taste. We stayed in a 2 bedroom casita in the garden that was comfortable and relaxing. But the best part of Hotel Pura Vida is that you get to be taken care of by Berni and Nhi, the owners, with a level of personal care and attention that is rare in a commercial establishment. Berni helped with our car rental on both ends, and made things easy and gracious. His house wine and restaurant recommendation were superb. And Bandit the dog was available for fetch. I can't imagine staying anywhere else near the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
2.1 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
869 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
673 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
689 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
12.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hotel

Address: Tuetal Sur | 4km North of SJO International Airport, Alajuela 20102, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: £65 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pura Vida Hotel is located 4km north of the SJO International airport - we provide a free taxi pickup for international arrivals. Breakfast is included and an excellent dinner is available with reservations (or late meals for late arrivals). Touring services include car rentals delivered here, private vans and as much touring advice as you wish - we are experts on Costa Rica. We have arrangements with Toyota Car Rental for deals on car rentals. Our idea is simply that this is a place we would like to stay at when we travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pura Vida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Alajuela
Hotel Pura Vida
Pura Vida Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing