We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 years and counting a magnifiscent place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“4 years and counting a magnifiscent place!”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have stayed here for 4 Julys now and I am always amazed and pleased at the quality of this place. The rooms, managment, the views from every room, the pool and that delicious breakfast is just fantastic! I really love this place and cant wait for my trip next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Queenmel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
For us at La Rosa, we consider repeat and referral business to be the best indicator of our success with respect to guest relations. To return four times is gratifying to us! Thank you for your loyalty!
It has been a pleasure to host both you and your group from Florida each year. We look forward to seeing you again each year and the hotel appreciates the good donation and volunteer work that you do in this country!
Again, thank you for your continued business with us and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    200
    52
    15
    5
See reviews for
210
274
60
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

After a full day of traveling, we arrived late from the airport to the hotel ( starving I might add) little to realize that restaurants close at 9pm. To my surprise Alexia went out of her way to cut up some fabulous fresh fruit and gave us her own nut mix and brought it to our room with a beautiful smile. They had some bottles of wine available and so we had fresh fruits and a glass of wine near the pool in the moonlight. I was so grateful and so was my lover who knows I can be super crabby when I'm hungry.

The room was nice and clean and the bed was way more comfortable than it looked. The grounds were quaint and beautiful and much more of an authentic Costa Rican experience than a chain hotel. Our breakfast was lovely and really enjoyed meeting the owner Robert. We so appreciated hearing about the culture of Costa Rica. Great business man and an awesome story of what he is doing!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gayle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
We appreciate the time you took to both write such a positive review of our SJO airport hotel, but also the fact that you recognized the efforts of one of our employees! We have ensured that Alexa has been made aware of your review and she is very happy with the recognition!
It can be a bit hard to find decent (non bar) food in Costa Rica after 10 pm so we do have a few snack options guests can have!
I am glad that you enjoyed our services and gardens! Especially glad you enjoyed listening to the Owner go on about his "stories"!! Thank you!
We hope that the rest of your trip to Costa Rica was as enjoyable as your stay at Hotel La Rosa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed at Hotel la Rosa de America when we flew into Costa Rica at midnight. Robert and Alexandra arranged for us to be picked up at the airport and had someone waiting to show us to our room at 1 AM. When we awoke the next morning to beautiful grounds and a delicious breakfast, we discovered our next destination was not going to be available. Robert quickly called a friend on the central Pacific coast, and helped us secure lodging for the next several nights. They were incredibly friendly and helpful! The room we reserved was also very spacious with comfortable beds and furnishings. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IowaLeigh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to recognize our efforts at being "unofficial" travel agents! For us it is very disturbing to see a guest arrive in this beautiful country and then find their trip plans come apart through no fault of their own!
It was our pleasure to help redesign your trip on short notice. Especially, we are glad you enjoyed our recommendations! We certainly do hope to see you again in Costa Rica and at Hotel La Rosa! We enjoyed hosting you - and helping to reorganize your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We loved Costa Rica. We selected La Rosa de America because it was close to the airport and the place looks cozy and comfortable from the pictures posted. Our flight was delayed and we had problems locating our luggage so I assumed we've missed our free transportation to the hotel. We were very happy to find when we stepped out of the airport the driver that La Rosa de America arranged for us was waiting for us. Also when we arrived to the hotel there was a person waiting for us there too to escort us to our room.

I gave the hotel only 3 stars because we were not comfortable with our room. The beds were uncomfortable, they were 4 inches thick and I could feel the springs. The bottom sheet fell off the bed my son was sleeping on. I was horrified to find my son sleeping directly on the mattress with no bottom sheet, he said it slipped off during the night. I didn't shower at the hotel because my husband said the shower drain was draining very slowly so you were standing in two inches of water during the shower.

Breakfast was good, however, you need to get there on the earlier side because they will run low on food.

Overall, this hotel was okay to stay at for your first or last day before catching a flight out, but will not recommend this hotel for a longer stay,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandyLA_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel! We are glad your introduction to the country went smoothly even if your flight was delayed. We place great emphasis on every aspect of our service delivery including the reliability and quality of our airport transfers. We are glad this worked for you so well.
We have had a problem with water draining in the past from the shower in the room you stayed in and we made substantial reparations to the drain system some time ago. We thought the problem was solved but we will have our maintenance staff look again to correct any potential new problem or to see if there is a blockage in the drain.
Due to your comments regarding the mattress in the room, we have already replaced it with a brand new imported orthopaedic pillowtop mattress. Though all our mattresses are orthopaedic, some of the local ones we purchased a few years ago in order to support the local economy have not proven to wear reliably and oddly have a tendency to very rapidly degenerate from perfectly acceptable to unacceptable in just the space of a few days. Our cleaners keep a very close eye on this and the hotel now only has a couple of these local branded hotel mattresses left. Please accept our apologies for your sleep being uncomfortable due to the mattress. We take the sleep quality of our guests extremely seriously and that is why we generally ask at check out if everything was excellent and specifically if the sleep was comfortable.
Regarding the bed your son slept on, we will ensure the cleaners are maintaining their demanding standard of cleanliness and room presentation including the proper making of beds, 100% use of mattress covers, etc. We have recently replaced virtually all of our hotel sheets with extremely high quality sheets designed for home use, and purchased in Canada.
We are glad you enjoyed breakfast. Please understand that we will never deny a guest a full breakfast as long as they arrive within breakfast hours. We continually replace the food though periodically, if we have a large group of guests eating, it may take a few minutes to cut fresh fruit to replace the leftovers. Our breakfast is unlimited whether it is buffet or served (depending on the number of guests at the hotel) and the quality and quantity of the food is continually monitored. We will talk with the cook to ensure she remains attentive to guest needs however please understand that it is in no way a hotel policy to limit breakfast choices to later arriving guests.
Thank you again for your review. We appreciate having both positive comments and some areas for consideration! It is how we learn to improve our service. Please accept our apologies for the poor condition of your mattress and rest assured that we take these comments very seriously!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

What a surprise! We stayed at this hotel like so many others because it's close to the airport. We didn't expect to be so impressed. It has small but clean and comfortable rooms. Get one with a/c. Don't miss the banana bread, and allow some time to enjoy the garden.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasTravelGirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for your comments! We are glad you enjoyed having the air conditioning. This feature is new for La Rosa and is slowly being installed in all our Superior Rooms. We want to be able to offer guests greater choices for prices and comfort. Normally we find that our ceiling fans are sufficient for our location however, everyone's tastes are different and of course, sometimes it does get rather hot!
We are glad that your surprise was positive!! It is always better than the alternative! We try to be more than a standard airport hotel as we understand that many guests travel a long way and don't have a lot of time for their vacation - so it might as well start with their first night in the country!!
Thank you for your glowing review of La Rosa! We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at Hotel La Rosa de America for 5 nights this May into June, and everything about our visit was wonderful. I made our reservation online, The response was very fast, Mrs. Hick of La Rosa, emailed me personally to confirm the booking, which was much appreciated. When we arrived late on a Thursday night at the hotel the night staff was pleasant, friendly and very helpful. The grounds are very were beautiful and well kept. The staff was wonderful and kind. All the hotel services are great and we very much enjoyed our breakfast each morning in the dinning room. We are planning another trip yet this year to Costa Rica and will be staying at the Hotel La Rosa de America. Thank you and your staff for a relaxing and great experance. See you soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
As a multiple night stay guest, your views are especially important to us as we are trying to encourage guests to stay more than one night at La Rosa... "We didn't stay long enough" is our number one complaint!!! There is so much to do and see here and we feel that La Rosa makes an ideal base for exploring the country.
We appreciate your loyalty in planning to return to us later this year! Our repeat and referral guests are a very important part of our continued success!
Thank you for your review, we are very glad to have been able to help make your trip a success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a perfect place to stay both when we got to Costa Rica and when we sadly had to leave. Beautiful gardens, nice breakfast, very helpful staff, comfy rooms, and quick access to the airport yet far enough away to enjoy flowers, birds, and a pool. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeyore64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for highly recommending our Costa Rica Airport Hotel. We take great pride in our service delivery and we are happy that our hotel met your expectations! We hope that you will be able to return sometime soon to Costa Rica to enjoy more of the country's hospitality! Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
4.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
864 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
306 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
684 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Property: Hotel La Rosa de America
Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing