We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Rosa de America
Nearby Hotels
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveller rating
430
225
58
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
225
58
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanana breadcosta ricaclose to the airportsan josefamily suitezoo avesuperior roomnice poolrental carbeautiful groundslast nightbunk bedsnext morningceiling fanrooms are smallwould definitely stay here againfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 734 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We couldn't have been more pleased with the help with received from the owner/staff with booking a tour, getting info on the area and calling taxis. Prior to staying, e-mails were returned promptly. Walking through the door of the room, however, was disappointing. The bedding and curtains were very outdated and mismatched from the upholstery. Even though the room was clean, it had a low class feel. We only received one washcloth for the four of us during our two night stay and the hot water in the shower was frustratingly inconsistent. The first night, we were awakened by a very loud child next door revealing incredibly thin walls. The second night, an extremely loud drumming noise awakened us at 1:30 a.m. (along with the two neighboring units' guests as discovered during morning conversations). It had come from the adjacent property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsaver12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Hello and thank you for your review! For us, being helpful and knowledgeable are cornerstones of a tourism related business. We are glad we could help you with your trip plans!
I would like to apologize for the lack of facecloths in your room. Apparently there was a misunderstanding among some of the hotel staff as to the purpose of facecloths (they are not common in many local households) and therefore they decided to "change" the rules regarding how many are supposed to be in each room. Please be assured that this has been corrected!
It is regrettable that we were not aware of you having inconsistent water temperature in your room at the time you stayed with us. We have not been able to replicate the problem in the room you stayed in so we are not certain what caused it. We have asked our cleaners to ensure each day to monitor the system.
We regret the experience you had with a noisy child in the room next door and with some noise being generated from the empty lot next to La Rosa. Both situations are uncommon here as most of our guests are considerate after hours. The walls, both interior and exterior wall, are all six inch thick concrete construction filled with reinforcing steel so as to withstand up to a Level 8 earthquake without damage... not that we are hoping to test this...!! However, at night sound travels very easily in our area as there is virtually no other ambient noise (no road noise, music, rude neighbours, engine braking, airplanes etc) and all of our windows are generally left in the open position by our cleaning staff. We find that most noise propagates via these open windows. To address your concern, we have reminded our night staff to ensure that guests respect our quiet hours after 10 pm.
We thank you for your identification of certain issues that you felt were not up to our other standards at the hotel. We are working to continually improve hotel services including the look and feel of our rooms and your comments will help us do that!
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed one night after arriving late from Canada. The hotel staff had arranged a taxi for us and told us the price of the fare in advance. The pick up was smooth, the hotel was clean, breakfast was good. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenSnapdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

It is always good for us to learn that everything went smoothly with a guest's travel arrangements that we assisted with! Thank you for letting us know. We appreciate your time in writing your comments to us.
We noted that though overall you were very happy with your stay, we did not 100% achieve your expectation for the quality/value of our rooms. We have been diligently working to upgrade every aspect of the hotel and now we have completed major upgrades on 85% of our cabins. We are also offering Superior Rooms for only a small amount more, complete with brand new mattresses, beds, very high quality bedding, air conditioning, quality paintings done by local artists etc...
If you are going to return to Costa Rica, please let us know and we would be happy to offer you one of these Superior cabins as an upgrade!
Again, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We had a great stay the first night of our trip. If you want to experience Costa Rica, don't book the American hotel chains! The grounds are beautiful and the service excellent. And you can't beat the free breakfast with amazing banana bread, eggs, and fresh fruit. Not all the rooms have air conditioning so make sure you ask if that is what you are looking for. The temperatures are pretty mild so we were ok without.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

We are happy you enjoyed our grounds, property, breakfast and service! It was a pleasure to host you!
With respect to air-conditioning, we are installing it in all our Superior Cabins but as you indicate, due to our favourable climate, it is really not needed at night . Therefore we are not planning to install it in our Standard Cabins so as to give those guests who do not wish a/c to still have that option at a slightly reduced rate.
Again, thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed two nights at the beginning of our trip and one at the end. This is a great hotel, close to the airport but far enough away to be quiet and restful. Breakfast was good, the rooms were clean, the gardens were lovely. The front desk staff were wonderful - very helpful, sweet and friendly.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank jm5SanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay so much. The staff here at La Rosa take a very active interest in our online reviews as to a large degree their pride in our hotel defines our success.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we are grateful for your repeat business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

From the minute we arrived, we were greeted like family - Grisska and Alexa were so helpful with suggestions of where to visit and where to eat. We were even supplied with umbrellas!
The gardens at La Rosa are truly beautiful, as was the breakfast (included)
The only disappointment we had was that we had only 2 nights there!
Thank you to all concerned. We'd love to visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

We appreciate your compliments of our hotel. Our largest "complaint" from guests truthfully is that they did not book extra nights with us so they could see many of the incredible things in our "backyard" and unwind at the same time.
I am happy you liked our highly visible and rather pink signature umbrellas!! Certainly functional, they also stand out!
Both employees you mentioned in your review have now read it and say hi! We do not get a lot of guests from Australia so we are glad to have hosted you.

Best Regards from Costa Rica and we hope you can find a reason to come half way around the World to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews