We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Diamond in the Rough"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Diamond in the Rough"”
Reviewed 14 April 2008

I visited Costa Rica recently with my 5 year-old son and stayed at the La Rosa De America for 1 week. What a wonderful little secret only 7km from the San Jose Airport. After many hours travelling from Canada, it was so nice to take a taxi ride for only minutes to our hotel...and then to be greeted by the knowledgeable and friendly new owners Robert and Alexandra.

The rooms were simple but extremely clean and had everything a person needed. A few steps from our room was a beautifully kept pool area where we enjoyed peace and quiet as it was not full of tourists sitting by the pool all day. And, only a car ride away were some of the most famous attractions such as Poas Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls, and Arenal Volcano with the Baldi Hot Springs.

The owners were full of ideas and suggestions that made our vacation the best we have ever had. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Carlos's Tropical Breakfasts
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissyWimmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    199
    51
    15
    4
See reviews for
206
271
59
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2008

This was a great place to come after being on a plane for hours! It's close to the airport and the Canadian owners were very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful breakfast that was included in the price - we didn't go hungry! The grounds were gorgeous and private, and there was a big swimming pool, too. Our room was spotlessly clean as well, a big plus in my book. We'd come back here again in an instant.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2008

Our family of 5 (kids ages 10, 8, 5) stayed at Hotel La Rosa for our first and last nights of a 2 week trip to Costa Rica. The property was really easy to get to from the airport and it was really quite pretty and quaint. Within walking distance there was a great little tico restaurant that our whole family loved. The breakfast included with the room rate was excellent. There was a pool but we didn't have a chance to use it. Our room was simple, but perfectly clean and comfortable.

One of the best parts of Hotel La Rosa was the wonderful owners, Robert and Alexandra Hick. They were more helpful than any hotel owners I've ever come across! We booked our room by email with the hotel and from that point on I had various email exchanges with Rob and Alexandra about things like car rentals (which they offered to arrange for us), local attractions, driving directions, driving time to various farther out trips, etc etc. In person Robert and Alexandra were even more friendly and were clearly happy to go out of their way to help their guests in any way they could. My son actually left his very special journal behind on our last day there. As soon as we arrived home we had an email from Alexandra to tell us that she had found the book and that she would be happy to send it to us by mail! I think most places would've just thrown it out.

Great customer service is hard to find these days. I would definitely recommend Hotel La Rosa, not only because it's a wonderful little spot, but even more so because of the great owners.

  • Liked — Helpful owners
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Iguana5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2008

The new owners (since fall 2007) are doing a lot of improvements and additions. We stayed one night and really enjoyed the hotel and the young Canadian host family. They were friendly, helpful, and made it feel like you were visiting their home.

Our room was small and simple, but it was fine. The TV got a lot of channels (including English-speaking). The owner can refer you to some good nearby places to eat - try the "tipico" place just a little ways down the main road.

Overall, this was a very good value and convenient to places like Zoo Ave (animal rehab zoo), Poas Volcano, and La Paz Waterfall Gardens. It is also a close taxi ride to the airport. If you have a car, they have secure parking behind a locked gate. Free Internet access in the office, too!

  • Liked — Good value; friendly, helpful host family; convenient location
  • Disliked — Rooms set up more like a motel
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_Dave_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

We visited Costa Rica in December 2007 and stayed at Hotel La Rosa de America for a total of four nights. This "gem" of a hotel is Located only 7kms from the San Jose airport. Not only is it a great place to stay the day of arrival and the night prior to departure, but you can use it as a "base" during your adventures in the Central Valley. The grounds are beautifully keep, with a very inviting swimming pool. Every morning we were treated to a very large tropical breakfast, which gave you the energy needed for your daily travels. The owner Robert was always very eager to assist in your travel plans and organize tours or a rental car. Of all the hotels that we stayed at while in Costa Rica, we felt the most comfortable at Hotel la Rosa de America. Great value!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank canadian9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2007

This is a great, affordable hotel, near the airport, in a nice neighborhood. There are many places to eat nearby, and we felt we were in the "real" Costa Rica, not a touristy area.

Our six-year old loved the nice swimming pool and the fresh fruit breakfasts. Hosts Jim and Roslyn are extremely helpful and nice people. Jim will create a map for you for anywhere you want to go in the Central Valley, which we really appreciated. Jim gave us maps to Poas Volcano, La Paz waterfall gardens, and Cafe Britt in Heredia -- we really enjoyed all three attractions.

Two thumbs up for Hotel La Rosa de America.

  • Liked — location, affordability, great hosts
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ddnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
4.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
302 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
298 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
674 reviews
3.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Property: Hotel La Rosa de America
Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing