We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveller rating
434
233
61
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
233
61
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanana breadcosta ricaclose to the airportsan josefamily suitelast nightsuperior roomzoo avebeautiful groundsrental carnice poolbunk bedsceiling fannext morningwould definitely stay here againrooms are smallfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 749 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My third trip to Costa Rica- and I've learned (after 66 years -and much travel), it's important to have a good night's rest before and after a long air flight for you and your entourage. La Rosa is the perfect place to stay after arrival, and before trekking about the countryside. A $15 van (arranged by the hotel) gets you to La Rosa de America from the airport with all your bags and companions- they'll even have arrange a driver who has your name on a placard meet you after clearing customs. If you rent a car, don't try to find your way around without a GPS. Street signs don't exist- and traffic rules are questionable.
Nice pool, no traffic noise and fumes, clean rooms, great staff, computer for your use, occasional exotic birds, beverages and meals available, fantastic gardens and breakfast included= its a no brainer. GARDENIAS! You can't stay at any Holiday Inn for what La Rosa charges. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Splurge- get a bigger room for the few extra 10 or 20 bucks, you're on vacation! For a few extra bucks, get a bigger room instead of buying another T-shirt you'll only wear once.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganBob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

We agree completely regarding the need for a good night sleep after plane travel or again before getting on a plane! We are glad to have meet your expectations in this regard!
We like Gardenias too - we call them perfume on a stick!
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate the feedback and the fact that you found everything to your satisfaction!
Hope to see you again in Costa Rica soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The hotel came highly recommended to me...and it didn't disappoint. The rooms were modest and clean. The pool area and gardens are wonderful. The food is also wonderful. Like every hotel in Costa Rica, the WiFi doesn't seem to be available beyond the reception and the closest rooms to it. However, this is a very small quibble.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndsci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Recommended guests are so important to our business! Fully 20% of our guests are recommendations from past guests! We are very happy to have fulfilled both your expectations and that of the guest who recommended you!
We have been working at length with our Technical Support Contractor to create a more comprehensive WIFI at La Rosa. Normally most cabinas have good signal on their covered porches and about 70% have good signal inside the rooms. Because Hotel La Rosa is built to withstand the potential of a heavy earthquake - 8 or more, it is made of steel reinforced concrete - the perfect construction to break WIFI signals. We are currently pursuing a system that will simply beam the signal through the windows of the rooms. We hope to have this system on line soon.
We are very happy that you enjoyed our new Restaurant so much. It has only been open a short time and is primarily being run by La Rosa employees as a reward for their hard work in the past. Many of the staff have interest in, but absolutely no business experience so we felt that with La Rosa providing the opportunity and oversight this would allow the staff the chance to test their capabilities. It also allowed for two extra full time jobs for families in the La Garita area. It is gratifying to see our guests enjoying the experience!
Thank you for your review and the time you took to provide feedback to future travelers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed 2 nights, flying in from Europe. As arranged for by the hotel, the driver was waiting for us @the airport (so no hassle with taxi drivers, and yes, maybe we paid a couple of bucks more, but that was well worth it).
The hotel itself has got nice and clean rooms, a decent pool and is conveniently close to everything. The staff is really nice, the restaurant ok, but there are many places around where you can eat. We would recommend it to anyone who doesn't need or want to go into SJ.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famoffourparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! We appreciate your comments.
We offer the private shuttle service in significant part due to the predations of may of the taxis at the airport. Our private meet and greet service costs $15.00 whereas an official taxi will cost between $14 and $16 normally and a non-official taxi will cost whatever random amount they feel like if it is not firmly per-negotiated. We are glad that you benefited from this service that Hotel La Rosa provides on an 100% at cost pricing.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at La Rosa, and that you enjoyed eating at Restaurante La Rosa as well. You are absolutely correct that there are a number of other local cuisine options - many perfect for lunch as most close quite early.
We were happy to host you! I hope you had a good flight back to France!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

If you're thinking of going to Costa Rica and you are landing in San Jose, La Rosa should be your first stop in the country. He staff is incredibly helpful and will help you navigate the whole country and plan your trip, especially if you are short on time there. The weather is perfect in the area, neither too cold or too hot so it's also a good place to stay for a week or so and lounge by the pool which is very often deserted during the day.

The rooms are very clean and you will not find ants and other bugs inside, which we were definitely happy about. The grounds are very well-kept and the flowers and trees are beautiful. The rooms are very cute and cozy.

The restaurant: I am a vegetarian, so I did not necessarily expected to be catered to... but I was! The food was great and very well-priced! You will find many overpriced restaurant in Costa Rica, this is not one of them.

Basically, we found this hotel was a gem and a wonderful place to stay a few days!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawandreann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

It was our pleasure hosting you at La Rosa for the majority of your stay in Costa Rica! I hope that our recommendations for things to do and see allowed you to really enjoy the countryside while using us as a home base!
I am glad that our new restaurant was able to easily meet your desires for vegetarian choices and that you found the prices and quality correct!
I hope that your car started in the minus 30 temp you were going home to! Yikes.
I am glad to have met you in Costa Rica and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Service provided here was excellent! They arranged transport to and from the airport as well as our rental vehicle. We only stayed for breakfast our first day. It was just what we needed. Our flight home was too early for breakfast so they sent us with delicious breakfast to go. The staff was very accommodating. This lovely hotel makes a great stopping point near the airport for travelers continuing their Costa Rican journey.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kfish414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thank you for your great review of our hotel! It was our pleasure to send you off to the airport with a breakfast to go! We hope you liked the banana bread! I am glad the rental car, organized through the hotel was a success! Best Regards and hope to see you again soon in Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews