We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Oasis in Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A True Oasis in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

What a wonderful experience this past week with a three day stay at Hotel La Rosa de America in Alajuela, Costa Rica! This hotel is very close to the San Jose airport and is a breath of fresh air for any traveler. This is not your "big box" hotel and a refreshing change of pace.

This hotel has individual casitas' that are spotlessly clean and very inviting. As soon as you enter the impeccable gardens and follow the path to Reception, you know you are somewhere special. The gardens are impressive, well maintained and extremely inviting. From the moment of your first encounter with the staff, you know immediately that they live and breathe hospitality. Everyone I met was extremely warm and friendly – going out of their way to say hello and inquire if I needed anything. Well trained and extremely friendly - what else could you ask.

The hotel is buffered from traffic noise (by the garden and border vegetation) and wraps you up like a warm blanket. Breakfast items (fruit, cereals, cheese, coffee, etc,) are complimentary – and if you are looking for a more traditional fare, this is available as well at an extremely reasonable price. This hotel is an excellent value and is now my first choice in Costa Rica - even at twice the price. A real gem and well worth the visit. I will return very soon……….

Room Tip: There is air conditioning available, but I would suggest opening the windows, turn on the ceiling fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorpExecutive2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
With all the new "big box" hotels being built around the already crowded airport, thank you for recognizing that we are different! We appreciate your comments about our hotel, service, gardens and rooms. We are also happy that you were able to sample our new breakfast a la carte options and found them to be of good value.
Definitely you are welcome to return! I enjoyed talking about Costa Rica, and other various aspects of living here with you.
Just let us know when you are returning and we will make a booking for you!
Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    199
    51
    15
    4
See reviews for
206
271
59
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at the La Rosa de america for two nights prior to my trip across Costa Rica and it was a joy to return for the last night of the trip.
The Manager Grisska was an absolute joy to meet and so very helpful and informative.
The hotel has small cosy individual lodges that are spotless and clean.
The pool though cool is spotless and the gardens very impressive.
I met the owner Robert on my last morning and his advise for the airport was invaluable and a charming guy.
Would go back and stay there tomorrow if not for the fact my work has to pay for the next trip.
Enyoy.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fab !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
As a very service oriented hotel, we appreciate it when guests tell us that we are doing a good job! As Owner, I will personally ensure that my Manager is aware of your comments and that the cleaning staff are aware as well. Our team here maintains a strong interest in guest feedback and they are truly interested in delivering a quality product.
If memory serves, you are a pilot! You just need to convince your work that you need to borrow a plane - there is only a small pond between Costa Rica and England!!!
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We hope to host you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel La Rosa de America for three nights at the end of our trip. It is a very clean and comfortable hotel located just far enough off the main road to escape traffic noises. The included breakfast was "continental" style but provided a tasty start to the day. There is a very good soda (small cafe) just down the street. Overall, a great value!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie_From_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of La Rosa! We are very happy to have been able to meet all your expectations for a great stay! We have made some changes to the hotel since you stayed with us - designed to serve guests more completely. Our breakfast now has additional side and complete meals that can be purchased direct from the kitchen for a reasonable cost. We have also proudly opened Restaurante La Rosa for supper and we now offer supper dishes, specializing in Italian, Tipico (local) and some French options as well!
Again thank you for your review. We hope to see you again at La Rosa soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Arriving late in Costa Rica I had the option of staying at an airport hotel but preferred heading further out and chose La Rosa for it’s peaceful looking, picturesque gardens. I was given a warm welcome, shown to a clean room, and awoke to a blue sky and chorus of bird song. The breakfast of fresh fruit, bread and cereals was basic but set me up for the day nicely. All in all, La Rosa provided a perfect start to my travels (I didn’t use the pool but it looked very inviting!).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itchyfeet09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you itchy feet for you review!! We appreciate the risk guests take in selecting a smaller, more personalized hotel over the big box hotels located at virtually every major airport in the World. We are glad that we were able to meet your expectations and that you were happy in your decision to stay with us!
It was our pleasure to host you this green season!
Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed one night before departing C.R. and picked La Rosa on a recommendation of a friend. Nice pool to relax and quiet area. Local sport bar within walking distance with great local food as well. Nothing about Hotel La Rosa de America to complain about, will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DnSiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We appreciate you staying with us based on a friend's recommendation! This type of word of mouth referral is very important to our business!
We now have our own Restaurante La Rosa open for business so there is no need to have to leave for supper now!
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here simply to be close to the airport for one night. The rooms are small but clean and a for a fair price.
Breakfast is free but we left to the airport before it was served so they made a to-go bag for us which they hand delivered at 4am which was very kind. They arranged for a large taxi to pick us up. I believe it cost $15.00 maybe less to get to the airport.
There is a beautiful garden and a pool. And a few soda's and restaurants walking distance from the hotel. They also have a spa which I was going to go to buy didn't have time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowiebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write a review and for recognizing our fair value as an airport hotel. This is extremely important to us as we want to ensure that we are providing an excellent overall experience for the cost to the traveler.
Normally we have a Restaurant open at the hotel however for the very quiet months of Sept and Oct we have temporarily closed it. It will reopen in November - new and improved! We hope that this did not inconvenience you significantly. As you indicated there is a good "soda" just down the street.
When you return to Costa Rica, you will have to try Spa La Rosa at that time! Our relaxation massages are especially good for un-kinking those travel knots!
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri, Usa
Level Contributor
188 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is comfortable, quiet and reasonably priced. It is close to the airport but on the Pacific side of the airport so you do not have to deal with the traffic that complicates getting to hotels on the San Jose of the airport. There is a a typical Costa Rican bar restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jirecarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your very positive review of La Rosa! You have actually indicated exactly my reasons, many years ago for choosing La Rosa as my entry and exit hotel of choice when I was a business traveler to this beautiful country! The ease of "escaping" to the entire Pacific or North of the country was a large plus as well!
We are glad that you found our pricing to be competitive and very reasonable. Costa Rica is becoming so expensive that it is getting very tough to maintain low prices.
I hope you had a great trip to this country and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
4.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
302 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
298 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
674 reviews
3.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Property: Hotel La Rosa de America
Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing