We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel garden but very disappointing room location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel garden but very disappointing room location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Our room, room 12, was not as shown on the website of the hotel.
We were given a room at the back of the hotel. This entailed us on arrival, after 11pm on our first night, walking in the dark on a very narrow and slippery path. Having had long, International flights delayed due to ice and snow when we transitted through Newark Airport we were really disappointed next morning to see that this was not a normal room of the hotel. It was past the outside toilets, the back of reception and the restaurant. We had no area to sit on and we faced a concrete storage building and a water storage tank that repeatedly kept refilling day and night whilst we were there. On expressing our dismay to the receptionist in the morning we were told that they were full but they might be able to change our room but were unable to say if this was definite and when they would be able to do it. As we did not want to spend the whole day waiting to see if this would happen we had no choice but to keep the room for our second night.
We have since heard from the manager of the hotel, although our concern was not passed up to management at the time, who expressed regrets that the standard of the outside area of the cabin was not up to the standard of the other areas of the hotel.The hotel has obviously tried hard to improve this area but they were not in place whilst we were there.
However, even with the improvements there is little that can be done to hide the fact that it is the only room at the very back of the hotel away from all the other cabins and without a view of the open and really lovely main garden of the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 12. The location is right at the back of the hotel away from the main areas of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2crazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We received your written complaint, and indication to a third party agency that if you did not receive satisfaction, you would write to online agencies indicating your displeasure.
Regardless of this indication, we authorized a 50% refund to you, (your first night free) and two lengthy apologies, both directly and also via the agency from whom you booked. This was followed up immediately with photos showing the dramatic improvement in the cabin 12 area indicating the seriousness with which we have responded to the issues you have raised.
This service and refund was given in the desire to provide satisfaction and extremely fair value for a guest who felt the hotel had not met her expectations, not because of the guest's indication to write negative online reviews if satisfaction was not met. With our lengthy apology and refund was satisfaction not met?
We agree that the state of the garden outside your cabin, combined with the view of the storage shed and water cistern was not up to the standard of our other cabins. The cabin itself however has been modernized and is in many respects better than other cabins inside.
The cabin you indicate is indeed on the reverse side of the property, and we regret that you felt that this was somehow a sleight against you. This was most definitely not the intention nor case. At La Rosa, our primary garden design is to provide small individual gardens to the majority of the rooms, and a large central garden for the enjoyment of all. As indicated in our letter to you, we failed to provide this personal garden to you due to a variety of reasons which is why we felt it appropriate to provide a genuine, detailed apology and compensation as well. Also, as indicated, this failing has been rectified for future guests, and we forwarded photo evidence of this to you, showing the new garden, pathway addition, restaurant patio expansion, cabin 12 private patio, with new deck chairs, beautiful artwork designed to hide the storage area, and the indication of future improvements coming to this cabin and all the remaining standard cabins.
The feeling of being on the opposite side of the hotel is a personal one and we get many guests very appreciative of the privacy and tranquility of being in a room away from any potentially noisy guests. Sadly for us, it is very hard to tell what a guest will likely want prior to booking. Your experience suggests to us that we need to consider a better marketing plan for this room so as to attract people most suited to what the room offers - which is privacy.
Again, we do apologize for the lack of garden and physical improvements in the path and porch areas. We do thank you for recognizing these changes have been made in your comments. Unfortunately, your stay coincided with the beginning of our re-make of the area, and in the midst of the most prolonged drought we have experienced in the La Garita area.
We do appreciate your recognition of the overall garden quality of Hotel La Rosa, and your note indicating your awareness of the improvements to your cabin, however we can not dismiss the feeling that this forum was used manipulatively to guarantee satisfaction and for very personal feelings that are not necessarily representative of the general public.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    196
    50
    14
    4
See reviews for
201
263
58
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

This was a very pleasant place to stay for one night on my way elsewhere in Costa Rica-- the staff were very helpful, the restaurant had a lot of fruit for breakfast. My two gripes were that we were quoted an incorrect price for the taxi pick up and the pillows were as flat as can be--not a very restful night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leah1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

we stopped in at Rosa de America for one night after our flight from the States. this hotel had arranged our taxi service, $15 and a half hour at rush hour, less then 15 minutes the next morning. they had an agent at the airport for us.
having arrived the dark we ate at the hotel restaurant. the food was fresh and well prepared. There are two local places nearby in quick walking distance.
The staff here was friendly and accommodating.
My only gripe was that the night we were there there were a large number of guests who smoked. I opened the windows for some of the lovely garden air and got a room full of smoke from next door. Perhaps there could be a smoking section of the hotel. there is a/ c, so you can close the windows and keep the fumes out, but coming from the frozen north, I really wanted the outside air.
the rooms here are basic, have all you need, nice clean pool and lovely gardens. a great transition from home to CR to start or end your trip close to the airport without being in a big chain hotel.
breakfast was fresh and yummy, typical CR spread of eggs fruit, cheese, gallo pinto, of course good coffee.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank theatermomMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We place great emphasis on the quality of our service and our garden presentation as we feel that this provides for a stress free entry and exit to Costa Rica. We regret that you had people smoking nearby and who were not polite enough to consider the path of their smoke. It is actually quite rare that we have smokers at the hotel and if there is ever a problem like this again, please let us know and we can help resolve the situation. However, under Costa Rican law it is legal to smoke outside of the rooms. For this reason, along with noise dampening, is the primary reason for the installation of air conditioners and new windows. Ironically, except for March and April, the climate is such that air conditioning is not actually necessary for room cooling!
We are glad that you found all the hotel services to be excellent and that you enjoyed our restaurant as well!
I hope your trip to Costa Rica was relaxing and enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband, 11 month old, and I stayed for one night at this hotel after arriving in CR. I appreciated the ease of getting to the hotel as they offered a shuttle service which picked us up from the airport ($20) at 8pm. There is a restaurant on site which had dinner options, though we chose to dine at a little restaurant within walking distance nearby which was a little less expensive and served good, local food. Within walking distance there was also a convenience store and bank, which we found useful, though I would not consider the location to have much else to offer. In the morning they offered breakfast (fruit, eggs, cereal, cheese, coffee) included in cost of stay. The hotel was kind to also offer a playard/crib for my daughter to sleep in without my having to make the request, which was thoughtful. The room itself was fine, nothing fancy if not a bit worn with a large closet, two beds, a ceiling fan and separate bathroom. The premises has a pool, which my husband and daughter enjoyed, as well as a pleasant garden. We didn't have to worry about mosquitos, which was also a plus. Overall, I would consider this an average place to stay at the beginning or end of your trip if you are looking for a budget hotel that offers easy transportation to/from the airport and is family friendly. If you are looking for luxury accommodations this is probably not it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candyaspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your review and the detailed list of what you found correct and enjoyable at our hotel. We are actually somewhat confused however as to the last sentence regarding us not being a luxury hotel. Certainly we hope that this was not the perception when you booked with us. We take great care in our marketing and room pricing so as to ensure guest expectations are in line with what is received. We consider ourselves, and are rated as a mid level 3 star hotel. We do attempt to provide 5 star service and gardens - both of which you comment on in your dialogue if not in the radio bubble rating. We appreciate your comments on our services.
Our rooms are smaller than what a luxury hotel would likely provide which is why our pricing is maintained accordingly for a three star hotel despite our gardens, location and service quality. We are continuing with our room upgrades for our standard rooms now that our expansion is completed for 2014. You rented a standard room and have accurately described it in your comments. We are currently in negotiations to improve our remaining standard rooms, add air conditioning, etc but we also want to try to maintain current price levels for our guests.
We hope that you can come back to Costa Rica soon and come stay with us again! This way you can see the improvements that are coming for the room you stayed in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alajuela, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Rosa de America is the nicest place you can find in Alajuela !
You will be able to sleep, relax, and enjoy Costa Rica !
Rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable !
All members of the staff are willing to help you and make you have the best time possible !
Enjoy their delicious breakfast in the morning... for FREE !


I recommend Rosa de America !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your review of La Rosa and for your very positive comments concerning our breakfast and overall service! Our primary business is to provide great sleeps for guests and we are very happy to see that we succeeded!
Please return soon - Alajuela is close by! When you come back, ask about our newest cabinas. I think you will really like them!
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This small hotel is close to the airport and used to arrivals and departures at odd times. Gate is manned by overnight person, which is most helpful if you notify them ahead of time of your arrival. Nice, clean, friendly staff, and wonderful garden area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for letting us know that our night staff is doing a great job! We will let him know. We also appreciate your recognition of our gardens and our staff's hard work! We enjoy talking to guests and helping people like you get the most of your trip here to Costa Rica!
We hope you had a great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We came a day too early and all their cabins were full. Ruben ( one of the staff) booked us a room at another hotel until our actual reservation date.
Then we had to return our rental car and that did not go well. Ruben made sure the deal went properly. The staff helped us have pleasant memories of Costa Rica.
Nick & Alice

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Regrets on our inability to host you on your first night in Costa Rica. We have been exceptionally busy this year with virtually 100% occupancy this high season..... but we are expanding as you noticed! Thank you for returning to us to complete your reservation - we are very happy that you enjoyed staying with us so much.
It is our pleasure to help with the rental return. Sometimes things do not go 100% as expected with these rental car agencies so we are happy to help if we can.
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
4.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#8 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Property: Hotel La Rosa de America
Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing