We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La rosa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“La rosa”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lovely small hotel. Wifi didn't work in the bedroom so had to keep going to the reception which was fine...
Lovely and peaceful
Wonderful staff
The town was dull. And most places were shut as it was Monday which hotel staff didn't know!
The cook was very attentive as was the ŵaiter...wonderful
Would certainly go back. I used to it for the early airport transfer in the morning? It was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We appreciate the comments about our staff and in particular our Restaurant Staff. We will pass your observations on to them. We apologize for the WIFI blackout in your area of the hotel. We had just weathered a major lightning storm and we had a damaged router that needed to be replaced.
Normally, businesses in Alajuela are open on Monday. There was no holiday. Well, there was no official holiday.... With the Costa Rican football team winning yet again in the World Cup, the local businesses are having somewhat unpredictable Monday mornings... :-) As this winning streak for the National team continues, we predict that this unpredictability may continue!!!
We definitely look forward to seeing you again in Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    199
    51
    15
    4
See reviews for
206
271
59
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed three nights in this lovely garden hotel. We love it very much!
1) Location, just out of the city Alajuela, a quite place!
2) Garden, just living in a beautiful garden, so beautiful!
3) Room: clean and comfortable.
4) WiFi, great, using every where in the garden.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bingoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for such a positive review! We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us and that you so enjoyed our gardens and location. It was our pleasure to host you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
176 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Near the airport and the car rentals in a quiet area with a swimming pool;we enjoyed it very much on our arrival day and stayed a bit longer on our departure to go to the Poas vulcnoe and to the zoo which is worth visiting
Nice restaurants in the area too
The staff is really kind and helpful
Thanks from France

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie claire a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We strongly value our French reviews as we now have many guests from France and French speaking countries at La Rosa.
It is great that you had the chance to change your plans so as to include Poas Volcano and ZooAve. These are two great local attractions.
We will pass your kind comments regarding our staff on. They take great pride in this type of recognition.
We hope to see you in Costa Rica once again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Aside from din of staff voices and a view of the back wall, I liked Room 12's added privacy and security, for a feeling of being away from the rest. A deadbolt away from the hotel's office, I was thrilled as a solo female traveler for this extra measure of snuggliness. It was fun to cut through the restaurant en route to my own private side of the hotel. The owner is a former military man, exceedingly thorough and attentive, and can be heard throughout the grounds giving marching orders to staff . The place gleams and everyone is snap-to attentive. A lobby computer with a smuggled-in full American keyboard was a Godsend, although I believe there is WiFi. The large poolside is nice for meet the hotel's increasingly diverse collection of international travelers but beware, the water is shockingly chilly. The unexpected poolside drink service by white gloved, beloved former Orquideas Inn's waiter Edwin is an unexpected and indulgent perk in an otherwise three star hotel. Poolside coffee is set by the pool for early risers intent on spotting the resident Bluegreen Mot Mot birds. Its a short walk or local bus to tourist-popular La Garrita restaurants, ZooAve and the country's perfect weather "vivero" plant nursery strip. While charming, safe and likeable for first timers to Costa Rica, there are closer, cheaper and more authentic Costa Rican options for the more adventurous.

Room Tip: All rooms in three to a strip configuration facing a courtyard except Room 12 which cojoined the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJanePiazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are particularly happy that you enjoyed your stay in our newly improved Cabin 12. We have put a lot of work into the "personal space" of this cabin and it is satisfying to hear that it met with your approval!
Pool service for us is rather new and is part of our overall improving customer service at La Rosa. We now have specialty coffees as well and they can be purchased at the pool as well.
Our server will be made aware of your comments... again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night as we were in a transition day on out trip. It was hidden, yes, but with the GPS we drove right to it. The gardens are lovely and the rooms are very nice. We ate at the restaurant and it was very good. (There was a power outage in the area at dinner time, but they still cooked us a nice meal...on gas stoves.) We had to get some laundry done and Ruben was very accommodating and helpful. We had to leave our rental car in the parking lot for the company to come and pick up since we were going to be with a tour company for the remainder of our vacation and they were fine with that as well. I would stay here again in a heartbeat! It is also close to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for such a positive recommendation of our hotel and your desire to return once again! We are glad you found us by GPS. Sadly, often both GPS and the rental agencies route you through Alajuela instead of the recommended route listed on our website - with printable instructions. This route is far easier and consists of one major turn from the airport to the hotel! Coming the GPS route involves navigating the maze of Alajuela... however if the GPS is good, then no problem with that!
We are actually upgrading all our emergency lighting and electrical services to better function in the intermittent power failures experienced throughout Costa Rica. We are installing automatic lighting throughout the hotel as well as many back up gas powered utilities for our kitchen and laundry while remaining environmentally friendly.
Again thank you for your review! We hope you enjoyed all of Costa Rica as much as your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here with a high school group. The staff were incredibly accomodating and helpful. The rooms were simple but very comfortable and the grounds beautiful and due to the enclosed nature of the hotel, very secluded. The food at the restaurant was excellent and plentiful. The hotel is centrally located for the airport and most activities in the central part of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catsaver911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
It was a pleasure to host both you and your school group! We hope that you had a great time in Costa Rica. We believe that having volunteer groups willing to help out in this country is very significant to both Costa Rican and Canadian youth.
We hope to see you again next year! Great Spanish by the way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My sister and I just stayed at Hotel La Rosa De America a few days ago, and what a charming place. You could hear the birds chirping outside, while looking around at lush trees and beautiful flowers. The owners of the hotel were absolutely wonderful, and I received a personal tour of the property. I also wasn't feeling well, so the server at the restaurant had a special meal made for me. The rooms were quaint and comfortable. Overall, a very nice place.

Room Tip: Ask for the new Superior rooms that were just renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
It was our pleasure to show you around. We hope that you have fully recovered now from your trip and are back at 100% health! Thank you for recognizing the efforts of our staff to provide flexibility in all situations. They take great pride in being able to provide guest comfort. I will pass on your comments to the kitchen and serving staff.
Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
4.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
836 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
302 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
299 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
3.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Property: Hotel La Rosa de America
Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing