We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Charming boutique hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Beautiful and well kept gardens, rooms clean, comfortable and very cute. Lots of chairs to sit in, clean and refreshing pool and Edwin runs the kitchen/ dining area and is a great cook! Ask him for his special drink- the Edwin Special- it's wonderful! Coffee/tea is available by the pool early in the morning before breakfast. You can walk to the small local zoo- Zoo Ave, which has really nice exhibits, is clean and all shaded. Please note that entrance fee is twice that of the locals , which I think is a bit unfair and could cause foreign visitors to stay away. You can also walk down the street to local eateries.
I would advise you to communicate clearly on price for taxis and transportation. I had a group of 7 and made arrangements well in advance for transportation for the group to Sarchi and was told the taxi fare would be $20 round trip - total. When we returned the driver told me the cost was $150!!! I had copies of all email correspondence between me and the hotel that clearly showed me asking if that If the $20 was the total for my group they repeatedly said yes. They shrugged their shoulders and said sorry, that they meant it was $20 per person. It put a real damper on the travel budget and otherwise nice stay. I felt they should have honored their quote and paid the driver themselves, but I didn't want to be one of those ugly American tourists.

Room Tip: Make sure you communicate your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolen6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for the review of our hotel and your kind comments about our grounds, rooms and staff. We will let Edwin know about your comments, as our Restaurant server, he takes is social responsibilities very seriously and obviously enjoys being around people. We are lucky to have him and his depth of experience in our service!
We understand your feelings about double pricing at some institutions. ZooAve uses the higher tourist fee to help subsidize the cost for locals - especially local children coming from schools. So it may be a frustration, but at least the money is going to a good cause - at least in the case of ZooAve.
Please accept our apologies regarding the confusion with a transfer to Sarchi and back. We regret any communication issue that may have existed in this case regarding the $20 per person v/s $20 total charge issue. Hotel La Rosa is not an authorized travel agency and though we try to assist guests as best we can, we do not accept any payment or benefit from any of these service providers and they are not affiliated with the hotel. We simply pass on the information that we have been given free of charge on behalf of the guest and the guest remains responsible for booking conditions and payments with any company they decide to use. That said, we pride ourselves on our ability to assist guests with their travel plans and consider it one of the cornerstones of our success. We make every effort to ensure accuracy and we try to recommend the best service providers that we can given the guest preferences.

Notwithstanding the above situation, we deeply appreciate your desire to also recognize the many positives that you list in your review! If you are return to Costa Rica again soon, we hope to have the opportunity to host you again at the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    200
    52
    15
    5
See reviews for
210
274
60
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I've stayed at this hotel 4 itimes and just love it. It's small, very clean, quiet, and the staff are attentive to your every need. Edwin runs the dining room and makes you feel welcome. He is a sweetheart and I always look forward to seeing him. He takes care of the guests and is interested in each person who stays at La Rosa.
This is a great hotel for families or singles. It is quiet, the grounds are beautiful and it is safe. The pool is clean and in good repair. There is a pot of fresh, delicious coffee out by the pool or the front porch by 6am so you can drink your coffee while watching the butterflies among the flowers. Very serene environment.
I will not stay anywhere else and recommend it highly.

Cindy from Texas

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Repeat guests are always very important to us. Thank you for your loyalty! We are glad that we are able to meet and hopefully exceed your needs each and every time that you stay with us!
Our server is a very important part of our staff, and his experience is valued by us in both providing excellent service in Restaurante La Rosa, but also in helping to lead the younger employees and provide the "glue" between the Restaurant and the Hotel. We will definitely pass on your respects to him.
We have recently increased our coffee service. Now we also can provide various steamed options as well... from Espresso, to Mochas, Lattes etc... These are available any time after 6 am or so.
We look forward to seeing you back at La Rosa many more times. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My family consisting of my wife and two children stayed at the hotel on 06-29-2014 overnight. The stay was wonderful. The staff was great and very attentive. They even had a night watchman patrolling the grounds after hours. I felt very safe and comfortable during our stay. The only noise that I experienced during our stay was from the cheers of fans during and after the Costa Rica victory during the World Cup Soccer match which they won. We had food delivered from Cheris Bar Restaurant located near by. The food was good. No complaints on Cheris Bar Restaurant either. The children, one a teen and the second 9 years old were both completely occupied by the beautiful clean pool on the hotel grounds. I do plan to stay at Hotel La Rosa de America again as soon as possible.

Thanks

Van Clarke

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frederick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We look forward to seeing you again at La Rosa in the near future! It is always pleasing for us to see the children enjoying our pool area especially now that we have all new furniture, chairs, recliners, sun shade etc.
The World Cup for Costa Rica is now over. Exceptional showing however for the country considering its size. This was why you heard so much cheering. The whole country almost came unstuck when their National Team beat three former World champions!!
We are glad you enjoyed the food at the local restaurants. Maybe when you return, you can try some of the fare from our new Restaurante La Rosa to compare! It would be out pleasure to introduce you to our new restaurant offerings.
Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, UK
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

La Rosa de America is a small hotel in the suburbs of Alajuela, ideally situated for Juan Santamaría airport which is some 15 minutes away. The hotel is not very easy to find and may not be in the most salubrious area but this is of no consequence once you pass through the gates and enter this lovely property. The villas are set around the perimeter and are not overlooked. We were lucky to be accommodated in villa 15, which is one of two new villas set away from the main area of the hotel which provided seclusion and tranquillity. The room was spotlessly clean with new bathroom befitting a modern home and with the luxury of a bath. Each villa is decorated with roses around the doors and windows providing delightful individuality. The pool is a good size and is clean and well maintained.
The gardens are the piece de résistance of this property. The gardener tends his plants with expertise and tender loving care. He welcomes your interest and is happy to show you around. At the time of our visit the orange blossom and gardenia were in bloom providing a heavenly perfume in the evening after the daily showers. He even picked some flowers for me to have in the room. The garden centres on the main road are well worth a visit just to see the amazing variety of healthy plants. There are many birds to keep you occupied when sitting under the veranda of your villa.
All members of staff were courteous and helpful. One young man in particular who spoke excellent English took time to chat and exchange experiences from around the world. He also gave us tips on the local area. The breakfast was plentiful but not spectacular.
The local restaurants are okay but if you have your own car then it is worth taking a five minute drive to Aroz con Mango restaurant on the main road to the left. This has a good choice of dishes and the restaurant overlooks a ravine. It is also reasonably priced.
I do not think I would change anything about this hotel. It is extremely good value. Having spent time in the rainforest it was nice to return to a comfortable bed, AC, TV and free Wifi.

Room Tip: 15 or 16 for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yasawasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Detailed reviews such as yours are a great help to travellers around the World and also to business Owners seeking to know what is being done well vs what needs improvement. Thank you for taking the time to write in such detail!
Of course we are glad that you found us! Sadly, most car agencies and taxis direct people through the town of Alajuela which is confusing for everyone as there are no street names instead of down the highway which is a much easier route. For any future guests, please do consult our website location page for printable directions to our hotel.
We are very proud of our gardens and we are glad that you enjoyed them. We will pass on your comments about our staff.
As we speak, they are actually re-paving the main road. Hopefully that will make walking easier on the road sides... and driving too!
Thank you again for your review. We hope your trip to Costa Rica was everything you hoped it would be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lovely small hotel. Wifi didn't work in the bedroom so had to keep going to the reception which was fine...
Lovely and peaceful
Wonderful staff
The town was dull. And most places were shut as it was Monday which hotel staff didn't know!
The cook was very attentive as was the ŵaiter...wonderful
Would certainly go back. I used to it for the early airport transfer in the morning? It was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We appreciate the comments about our staff and in particular our Restaurant Staff. We will pass your observations on to them. We apologize for the WIFI blackout in your area of the hotel. We had just weathered a major lightning storm and we had a damaged router that needed to be replaced.
Normally, businesses in Alajuela are open on Monday. There was no holiday. Well, there was no official holiday.... With the Costa Rican football team winning yet again in the World Cup, the local businesses are having somewhat unpredictable Monday mornings... :-) As this winning streak for the National team continues, we predict that this unpredictability may continue!!!
We definitely look forward to seeing you again in Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed three nights in this lovely garden hotel. We love it very much!
1) Location, just out of the city Alajuela, a quite place!
2) Garden, just living in a beautiful garden, so beautiful!
3) Room: clean and comfortable.
4) WiFi, great, using every where in the garden.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bingoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for such a positive review! We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us and that you so enjoyed our gardens and location. It was our pleasure to host you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Near the airport and the car rentals in a quiet area with a swimming pool;we enjoyed it very much on our arrival day and stayed a bit longer on our departure to go to the Poas vulcnoe and to the zoo which is worth visiting
Nice restaurants in the area too
The staff is really kind and helpful
Thanks from France

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie claire a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We strongly value our French reviews as we now have many guests from France and French speaking countries at La Rosa.
It is great that you had the chance to change your plans so as to include Poas Volcano and ZooAve. These are two great local attractions.
We will pass your kind comments regarding our staff on. They take great pride in this type of recognition.
We hope to see you in Costa Rica once again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
4.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
864 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
306 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
684 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Property: Hotel La Rosa de America
Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing